We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hlumu Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hlumu Lodge
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

10 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 8: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Was told there were no single chalets but when I got there found one but I was still charged for a two bed chalet.i could not get early breakfast even though they said breakfast starts at 6h30.we were charged for breakfast we did not have

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 961bafanan
Hlumu, Owner at Hlumu Lodge, responded to this review

Mr Bafana Nkosi. I am completely in shock with you feedback and by realizing that you did not know how to make a booking according to your needs on Booking.com. Mr Nkosi, you did not make a direct booking with Hlumu Lodge and therefore cannot understand why you are saying that you got the wrong information about availability from the... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2016

terrible treatment from the owner, he basically evicted us from the venue. check out time was 10: am I assumed its 11am. he said we should hurry up...... the standard tea, sugar coffee services were not available, they explained it was due to self catering, but very disappointing overall

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 33zinhlem
Hlumu, Owner at Hlumu Lodge, responded to this review

Mr Ramaditse, Thank you for your feedback. Herewith our feedback regarding your group: Check in time is between 14h00 to 20h00 - your group arrived after 24h00 and made no special arrangements to be late. We had to wait for you at reception until after midnight and it was a very loud arrival on your side with disturbance to all... More 

Mbabane, Swaziland
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2016

We had to find a place to stay in Badplaas at short notice. We ended up selecting Hlumu Lodge and were happy with having done so. It's on a dirt road quite a long way off the main road - we were thankful for having a GPS that knew where the lodge was. We had a good meal at the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Z9717JTrogerb
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2015

I spent a very pleasant 3 weeks at Hlumu. The cabin was clean and comfortable and adequately equipped for self catering. The views are memorable. I was made extremely welcome by Ali; thank you. However it was disappointing to find a number of maintenance issues; electric plug dangling from wall and best left untouched, chairs giving way dangerously whilst sitting... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PhilipHarbord
eMalahleni, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2015

It was a dirty place (rats in the rooms), bad service, poor management, bad facilities with the monkeys, inexperienced managment and the people working there were really rude with us. I would never reccomend it, the next time I will choose another lodge in the area.

Helpful?
2 Thank L_rothmann
Alberton, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2015

We spent our 2yr anniversary at Hlumu lodge.. It was amazing. The log cabin was gorg, the staff were super friendly, the food was better than all the 5 star lodges we have been to, the monkey sanctuary is super interesting and the pool and entertainment area is everything you need and more. I would recommend this to any couple... More 

Helpful?
Thank michelleharding2015
Putten NL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

As previous reviewers, we stayed in Badplaas to break on the Golden Gate to Kruger drive. The owners of Hlumu Lodge run the property to finance a vervet monkey rehab and a shelter for other monkeys. That in itself is a good reason to spend some of your travelfunds here but you also do yourself a favor! It is a... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank ligt55
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This Lodge with its sweet wooden cabins in the garden yard offers a calm hideaway. The owners have also an animal rescue project running and give shelter to monkey babies. On your way from Krüger Nationalpark to the Southcost it is a perfect overnight stay to avoid making the 750 km trip to e.g. St. Lucia in 1 day. You... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Worldcitizen_12

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badplaas
0.0 km away
Sun City Hotel
Sun City Hotel
#3 of 6 in Sun City
403 reviews
0.0 km away
Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven
0.0 km away
Nkomazi Game Reserve
Nkomazi Game Reserve
#1 of 3 in Badplaas
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#1 of 19 in Nelspruit
228 reviews
0.0 km away
Bushwhacked
Bushwhacked
#1 of 11 in Barberton
43 reviews
0.0 km away
Cabanas, Sun City
Cabanas, Sun City
#5 of 6 in Sun City
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Based at the foot of the stunning Hlumuhlumu Mountains, Hlumu Lodge is the ideal destination for a naturally beautiful and relaxing getaway. We offer affordable accommodation paired with a friendly and warm ambiance. Perfectly situated with panoramic views over the Badplaas valley, we offer 12 en-suite chalets, each with its own private deck overlooking the spectacular mountains. There is an on site restaurant where there is always a selection of delicious meals on offer cooked by our resident chef. We also have a fully stocked and competitively priced bar with a large screen TV showing all the major sporting fixtures and a pool table and dart board for entertainment. For those chilly winter evenings, we have a large open fireplace with couches to curl up on. Hlumu Lodge is also home to DIY Wild, a wildlife rescue and rehabilitation centre. DIY Wild is a charity and profits from Hlumu Lodge go directly towards the funding of the wildlife centre. By staying with us you are directly contributing to wildlife conservation. Tours of the rehabilitation centre can be arranged at reception. We are home to a large variety of free roaming wildlife and birdlife including Duiker, Kudu, Reedbuck, Jackal, Servals and Vervet Monkeys. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hlumu Lodge

Address: Portion 14 and 17 Farm Avontuur | Badplaas, Badplaas 1190, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Badplaas
Price Range: $74 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hlumu Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hlumu Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hlumu Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hlumu Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I heartily recommend the type with a kitchen (at a relative small surcharge).which is very quaint, outside but shelltered and covered.”
 of 5 bubbles ligt55, 23 Dec 2013 | Read review
“There are 2 room and single cabins. If you are travelling alone or only as a couple, try to get a single cabin, because the walls are paperlike and you have in a double cabin you have 1 shared terrace part.”
  • The game reserve border
 of 5 bubbles Worldcitizen_12, 19 Apr 2012 | Read review
2 of 2
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay