We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bigfoot Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leon
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Bigfoot Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

621 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 547: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great location. Bar is loud. It is a party hostel. Activities are pricey (same as everywhere in Leon). Food is good. They offer varieties of shuttle to everywhere! (Belize antigua Salvador Honduras Mexico etc). The pool is not really a pool...1 foot of water.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kev D
Bigfoot H, Gerente geral at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Kev, thanks for taking some time to review Bigfoot Hostel Leon, it means a lot for us when we receive appreciation from our customers. And thanks for the tips about our services, it will help our readers to make their mind up and come visit us. Best regards, Ricardo Sena Bigfoot GM

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was not a guest in Bigfoot Hostel but during my period in Leon where I did a homestay for two months, this place was a regular hang-out spot for me. Awesome vibes, nice to grab a beer with friends or go alone and meet new people at the bar. Staff makes you feel very welcome and the parties here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taam M
Bigfoot H, Gerente geral at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Taam, thank you so very much for sharing your impressions about Bigfoot Hostel Leon with us and readers. And love the fact you had great time with us and we hope you to keep coming to visit us. Best regards, Ricardo Sena Bigfoot GM

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

well what can i say, awesome place to meet fellow backpackers and have a few drinks or some beer pong if fancy it! All the drinks i thought were really fair priced and some great food there as well which didn't take long to wait for at all. All the staff were awesome, fun and efficient service even when it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Connor D
Bigfoot H, Gerente geral at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Connor, what an amazing review, thank you so very much for that. When a customer shows his appreciation it is one more reason for us to work harder to keep up to customers expetactions. We hope to see you again and serve you even better. Best wishes, Ricardo Sena Bigfoot GM

Richmond Hill, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Such a great hostel experience! The hostel itself is very spacious, clean and has lots to keep you busy. The bar and restaurant serve good food and are very prompt. The staff are also amazingly friendly and helpful. Girls get hooked up here with shuttles and deals on rooms which is a bonus and always keeps the place busy and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank turkeyy92
Bigfoot H, Gerente geral at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Turkey, On behalf of Bigfoot Hostel Leon management and staff I want to say thank you very much for you review. Your review makes us believe we are on the right way on our pursuit of offering great hostel services and facilities. Thanks for the compliments about volcano boarding and we will convey your review to our staff and...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We just went here for the Volcano boarding. And it was good! I didn't like the city Leon at all, was to big. But the big foot hostel was great. The room was nice and clean with hot shower and a fan. I liked the restaurant a lot and there were a nice vibe in the bar. Nice place. But...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella T
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great Hostel in great location near other hostels, cafés, supermarket, shops etc.. If you want to have a social time and party while in Leon then head to Bigfoot! Private rooms are tucked away around the corner if you want to escape the party. The staff are awesome and very helpful with suggestions and recommendations!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nickkk125
Leon, Nicaragua
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I loved my stay at Bigfoot!! The hostel is SO clean and spacious lockers to keep your stuff in. the food in the restuarant was really nice and the kitchen ladies are lovely. I did the volcano boarding with the hostel, you get loads of free stuff with the tour and the group and guides were really fun. All the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank justinakpg
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had the best time at Bigfoot! I did the volcano boarding and went to the Bigfoot on the beach to see the beautiful sunset!! Volcano boarding was so fun, I was really nervous and the guides really helped me and made me feel safe. I met some great people and had one of the best mojitos of my life...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
Bigfoot H, Gerente geral at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Helen, firstly thank you very much for savng time to review Bigfoot Hostel Leon, we appreciate that. And secondly and the foremost you review was amazing, the description about the tour, about our mojito and I am sure your compliments to our front desk staff will motivate them to go even further always thinking of offering the best services...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was clean and well organized, cleaning adies are doing a great job as there are many people walking back and forth. Bigfoot Hostel is located next ATM`s, Supermarket and museums. They offer different tours, the most importat "volcano boarding" wich is amazing, specially for monter Mercedez Benz, wow you feel like a soldier. They run a bar and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ramiro G
Bigfoot H, Gerente geral at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Ramiro, thank you for your punctual and direct review, it is full of details and it will be easier to our readers to learn something from Bigfoot Hostel Leon. We appreciate the time you saved to evaluate us, your feed back is really important to us it helps us a lot to keep the team motivated and stronger. Thank...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I strongly advise you do not stay here. The staff are SO rude and arrogant. They are unhelpful and treat the guests like annoying children. We booked a private room for four people with air con (for an extra cost) only to find out they only put this on for a few hours a night. The room was disgusting, dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
Bigfoot H, Gerente geral at Bigfoot Hostel, responded to this review

Mr. Matt H, No matter if good or bad, we always appreciate when our customers take time to review Bigfoot Hostel Leon, and because of that we are thankfull indeed. You had so many options and you chose us, we really appreciate. We read your review with all attention our customers deserve and more, we went after the facts. It...

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.3 km away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.4 km away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#7 of 15 in Leon
264 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 15 in Leon
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#3 of 15 in Leon
298 reviews
0.4 km away
Latina Hostal
Latina Hostal
#4 of 58 in Leon
152 reviews
0.6 km away
Hostal Casa Ivana
Hostal Casa Ivana
#2 of 58 in Leon
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
More than a hostel,a complete backpacking experience. Local and traveling volunteers. Staff are thoroughly trained and dedicated to making this your home away from home while visiting beautiful colonial leon! Guest kitchen is fully equipped. Billiard table,, variety of games and multiple routers for wi-fi access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bigfoot Hostel

Address: Del Banco Procredit 1/2 Cuadra Sur, Leon 21000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Price Range: $9 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bigfoot Hostel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Bigfoot Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Margarita Pizza is the best in town!”
 of 5 bubbles , 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Further from the bar will be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles F3244FBjamief, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The dorm with air conditioning was amazing in Leon's heat”
 of 5 bubbles adrianad18, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“get a room with AC!”
 of 5 bubbles 45marat, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Private room was nice, separate from the common areas with a kitchen off of it and nice to have your own bathroom/shower.”
 of 5 bubbles 919RyanC, 14 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5