We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cedar Hill Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Cedar Hill Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 199: English reviews
Westfield, Wisconsin
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at Cedar Hill Lodge. The young men at the front desk were so accommodating and informative when we had questions. They gave us a great history lesson even. We would definitely stay here on our next trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
Luke P, Owner at Cedar Hill Lodge, responded to this review

It's great to hear your compliments to our staff, and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your positive review! We'll look forward to seeing you next time.

Traverse City, MI
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We just love it when we get a good nights sleep at a hotel! We enjoyed the large bed, large room, refrigerator, micro wave and parking at our door step. It is more like being in a park setting. Chairs outside to sit and enjoy the evening air. The furniture in the room was old, but in good shape. Super...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MInone4
Luke P, Owner at Cedar Hill Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your compliments, and we are happy to know you enjoyed the service and had a comfortable, good night's sleep. We're glad you had a relaxing stay, and hope you will return next time you visit St. Ignace!

Pinckney, Michigan
Reviewed 11 October 2016

It was a busy Saturday night at the end of July, I called ahead and booked one of the last two rooms available in St. Ignace. On arrival all was well. The desk staff was friendly and helpful, the lobby was comfortable, the large breakfast room was visible around the corner...and most importantly, we had a place to stay after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean W
Luke P, Owner at Cedar Hill Lodge, responded to this review

It is disappointing to learn that unfortunately, you did not share in the positive experience enjoyed by many other guests, and that housekeeping efforts in that particular room did not measure up to expectations. Please let our front desk know of any room concerns during your stay, as we will want to make it right. We are working very hard...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 October 2016

I had a very good experience at the Cedar Hill Lodge. For the price, the room was nice and roomy and very nice and clean, There were higher quality linens on the bed. Very soft, fresh smelling and a lot of fluffy pillows. The staff was very helpful with suggestions for places to eat and shop. My only complaint would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pghtrvlr1
Luke P, Owner at Cedar Hill Lodge, responded to this review

We're pleased to know you had a good experience, and you mention "nice and clean, high quality linens, fluffy pillows"--we're so glad you were comfortable! We appreciate hearing your breakfast suggestions, too, and we are planning to add more variety to our breakfast offerings, so next time you come back we will hope to earn that extra star! Thanks for...

Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Our family stayed for 4 nights. We were able to look at our room first it was to small and for no extra charge we got a larger room with a balcony. Very friendly and courteous employees the breakfast was great. Only downside was the wifi didn't work well. The swimming pool was amazing very clean and heated. We will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank astokes4
Luke P, Owner at Cedar Hill Lodge, responded to this review

You say "great breakfast, friendly employees, amazing pool"--we say thank you! We're so glad you could spend your vacation with us and that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing your review, and we will look forward to seeing you again soon at Cedar Hill Lodge.

Windsor, Canada
Reviewed 18 September 2016

When booking a night near Mackinaw City, there was very little vacancy. With few options, we identified the Cedar Hill Lodge. Immediately my wife was frustrated that we were billed $40 for additional guest occupancy. A room that advertises sleeping 4 only to bill us extra for our FIVE year old daughter? Wild. That being said, there were few options....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kyle K
Luke P, Owner at Cedar Hill Lodge, responded to this review

You point out that you were "frustrated immediately" upon arrival (or perhaps even before, with the lack of availability at your preferred destination in a neighboring city?) and disliked every aspect of the place from the first moment. Even the St. Ignace restaurant recommendations were “appalling”? We weren’t given any opportunity to work with you on these concerns while you...

Reviewed 17 September 2016

Checked in went to our room only to realize the wifi was not working. Turns out the clerk failed to mention this do at 9pm after traveling all day we had to change rooms. Next am went to the lobby for the "terrific hot breakfast" that was included with the room. All of the food was either Luke warm or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John B
Luke P, Owner at Cedar Hill Lodge, responded to this review

Our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with wifi, and we are also sorry to hear that the breakfast offerings were not to your liking. We strive to provide a comfortable and enjoyable stay for all of our guests, and we appreciate guest suggestions. Thank you for letting us know.

Black Earth
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We are all about the room and linens being clean and the pillows are in good shape. This property delivered. Sure, it needed some maintenance so if you are bothered by a little loose wallpaper or Knicks on the casework or a broken latch, this may not be your place. We, however, had a nice, restful great nights sleep on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinTWS
Luke P, Owner at Cedar Hill Lodge, responded to this review

Yes, we want to offer a special and memorable experience for our guests with bonfires, a nicely heated pool, and other family style amenities, and we're so glad you enjoyed it. Yes, the comfy pillows are a favorite with many of our guests! Please know that any "loose wallpaper" you may have noticed is not the result of carelessness, rather...

Okemos, Michigan
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here on our way to the Les Cheneaux Antique and Classic Boat Show. We found this on Tripadvisor. The price was not what was showed on the site,but my husband negotiated it down. It was still significantly less than a hotel in Mackinac City. This is a large complex. We were pulling a boat and they had plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stategt
Luke P, Owner at Cedar Hill Lodge, responded to this review

A growing number of travelers are realizing the great travel experiences and excellent lodging values to be found in St. Ignace, and we're pleased to know you found that experience here at Cedar Hill Lodge! "Spacious, immaculate, helpful, and comfortable" are words we love to hear -- sounds like you had a great stay. Thank you for your positive recommendation!

Lovettsville, Virginia
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Nice large room at a reasonable price. Breakfast included. We enjoyed the hot tub and pool. I saw some families using the grill and play areas. We used it as a jumping off spot to take the ferry to Mackinac.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CVoyage1
Luke P, Owner at Cedar Hill Lodge, responded to this review

It's great to hear you were pleased by the accommodations and found a good value here! Thank you for sharing your review. We hope to see you again next time.

122 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
2.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
2.5 km away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#12 of 30 in Saint Ignace
337 reviews
3.6 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#14 of 30 in Saint Ignace
182 reviews
3.2 km away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 30 in Saint Ignace
364 reviews
2.0 km away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 30 in Saint Ignace
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cedar Hill Lodge is on US-2 at the top of the hill leading into beautiful downtown Saint Ignace. Walking distance to restaurants, ferry lines to Mackinac Island, shops, and downtown attractions. Offering more than just a place to spend the night -- come relax with us and enjoy our amenities, including: Heated Indoor Pool and Hot Tub, Free Hot Breakfast, Wifi, Courtyard Garden with Views of Mackinac Island, Bonfires, Grills and Picnic Tables, Volleyball, Tetherball, Shuffleboard, Large Lawn with Lawn Games, Rooms with Private Balcony, Family Suites and Adjoining Rooms available. We are pet friendly, with designated pet-free rooms too. Conference room. Free parking. Parking space for trucks and trailers. Free shuttle to ferry lines and casino. Come relax with us at Cedar Hill Lodge! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cedar Hill Lodge

Address: 680 US Highway 2 W, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1743
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Price Range: $134 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cedar Hill Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Cedar Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cedar Hill Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Cedar Hill Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best tip: Choose to stay somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles 968kylek, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask plenty of questions”
 of 5 bubbles Q3345SLjohnb, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We always chose top floors to elimate noise above. Plus we walk up steps for exercise”
 of 5 bubbles WisconsinTWS, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are on a campus and walking maybe an issue for elderly or other circumstances. Go out for Breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles 404JamesJ404, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“second story rooms in the Spruce building have a great view of the water. But the first floor have walk out sliding doors to the yard.”
 of 5 bubbles Colesmom, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay