We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Country Hearth Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Country Hearth Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

19 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 19: English reviews
Napoleon, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2016

when i came the front desk i got help right away and got in the my room when a great price.. every thing worked i slept great breakfast was great.me and my husband loved staying there we would do it again.it had cable. the WIFI worked very good. loved the hot water. bath room was cleaned room was clean and... More 

Helpful?
Thank vallierdanielle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2016 via mobile

The window did not shut! Interior was falling apart and the heater on full blast was barely blowing heat! Management gave me a space heater to get through the night! If you are stuck and absolutely need to stay somewhere I would suggest anywhere else but here!

Helpful?
Thank William R
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2015

Ever see the movie "Vacancy"? Except for the snuff film part this hotel room might have been the setting. It was dirty and dark. There was mold on the tub and sink. When I turned down my sheet there were hairs on the pillow. We found a pair of dirty socks on a shelf. The shower head had some power... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pam R
tej219, Manager at Country Hearth Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We are trying very hard to improve the standards at our hotel for the safety and satisfaction of all guests. We will continue to diligently work towards that goal. We hope you will give us another chance in the near future to... More 

Travellers are raving about these Sturgis hotels

Colfax, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2015

We found the hotel online. Checked in at about midnight after a long day of driving. We really should have kept driving. Very run-down; crumbling foundation; broken locks on the door. We really should have kept driving. Room was dank, dark and damp. My wife wouldn't take her shoes off in the room, fearful of actually touching the carpet. We... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jugglery
tej219, Manager at Country Hearth Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We are trying very hard to improve the standards at our hotel for the safety and satisfaction of all guests. We will continue to diligently work towards that goal. We hope you will give us another chance in the near future to... More 

Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2015

Do not use this hotel until they clean up their act and their rooms. Website does not reflect issues there. Based on a Saturday night stay under unusual conditions we had people staying there. Area hotel availability was at a premium but we found rooms here. Bugs in the sink and more than 5 condemned rooms (signs on doors.) Cannot... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
tej219, Manager at Country Hearth Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We are trying very hard to improve the standards at our hotel for the safety and satisfaction of all guests. We will continue to diligently work towards that goal. The signs are there in place only temporary for precaution only and there... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Checked in after a long days drive. Went to eat and gas up and when we entered the room we were immediately hit with a stale, moldy smell. There were flies in the room, but house flies and nats. We opened a drawer and found multiple roaches. The rancid looking carpeted floor was wet in spots, but not near the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert N
tej219, Manager at Country Hearth Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We are trying very hard to improve the standards at our hotel for the safety and satisfaction of all guests. We will continue to diligently work towards that goal. We hope you will give us another chance in the near future to... More 

Owosso
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Well we got there and immediately could tell it was a joke. It just looked run down. After a long days work we got our rooms and went into our rooms to shower. Only to find mold in the shower and nails/screws sticking out of the tac strip in the carpet. Even trying to charge your phone was hectic. There... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Birchmet
tej219, Manager at Country Hearth Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of your stay at our property. Since your stay at the hotel, we have updated the hotel policies so this does not happen again. Furthermore we have took the necessary steps to eliminate any pests or bugs in the guest rooms. We are sorry for the bad experience at our hotel and we hope you... More 

Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

This was one of the dirtiest motels I've stayed in. It smelled musty and smoky. The window to the courtyard was broken and didn't lock. We asked for a different room when the first one reeked of smoke despite the clerks protest that it was non smoking. The room she sent us to had a bad lock on the door.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Liz D
tej219, Manager at Country Hearth Inn, responded to this review

I want to thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel and I am disappointed to find that you did not have a pleasant stay at our hotel. We have since your last stay here, fixed all the issues you mentioned and have renovated the guest rooms with new furniture and bedding and linens to ensure that it does... More 

Wayland, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We booked our reservation here through Booking.com because it was a pet friendly hotel with a pool, free breakfast and spacious rooms. My BF was taking a class in the area and this would be a nice place, we thought, for me to spend the time while he was in class. When we got to the hotel, we noticed that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
tej219, Manager at Country Hearth Inn, responded to this review

Our sincerest apology for the mistake on our part. We have changed our listing with booking.com to not advertise a pool and have updated pet policy. We have also better trained all staff members so this does not happen again. I apologize for the bad experience at our hotel and we hope you will give us another chance in the... More 

Upper Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This hotel was probably pretty nice in the 60's. I don't think anything had been changed or updated since it was originally built. On checking in, I filled out a slip (again much like was done in the 50's and 60's) which served as my receipt. The motel consists of 2 separate buildings separated by a covered walkway. The one... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank St_Nick61
tej219, Manager at Country Hearth Inn, responded to this review

I want to thank you for your review and since your visit at our motel have done several renovations to upgrade the property atmosphere. We are constantly doing small and big upgrades at the property and try to make the stay safe and enjoyable for all guests. We have taken the necessary steps to make sure that this type of... More 

5 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgis
0.6 km away
Travelodge Sturgis
Travelodge Sturgis
#2 of 6 in Sturgis
119 reviews
2.3 km away
Hampton Inn Sturgis-Lagrange Area
2.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Howe Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 km away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Three Rivers
17.6 km away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
550 reviews
16.2 km away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Country Hearth Inn hotel of Sturgis wants to help you feel at home as much as possible when you're on the road. Experience a warm, inviting, and family-oriented lodging choice at a reasonable price at the Sturgis Country Hearth Inn hotel with your complimentary "InnCredible" continental breakfast, free local calls, and the opportunity to take advantage of membership in the Country Club frequent guest loyalty program.At the Country Hearth Inn hotel of Sturgis - Expect More. Get More ... more   less 

Additional Information about Country Hearth Inn

Address: 1730 S Centerville Rd, Sturgis, MI 49091-8738 (Formerly Sturgis Express Inn)
Region: United States > Michigan > St. Joseph County > Sturgis
Price Range: $76 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Hearth Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Country Hearth Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Country Hearth Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“up stairs is quieter”
 of 5 bubbles vallierdanielle, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Pick one at another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles PamR361, 10 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Find another hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles jugglery, 23 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Pick one that isn't condemned?”
 of 5 bubbles 332MaryB, 20 Jul 2015 | Read review
“take the jacuzzi suite...loved it:)”
 of 5 bubbles 434AprilS, 18 Apr 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay