We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mitchell Creek Inn

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Mitchell Creek Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Mitchell Creek Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 44: English reviews
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 25 July 2015

A little overpriced, but clean and cool. The road it is on provides easy access, but as others have noted it is very, very busy and the entire area is a bit alienating to human beings - though, obviously, this is not the fault of the owners of the Mitchell Creek Inn! The welcome was friendly, the air conditioning plentiful,...

Thank CutiePie007
Macomb, Michigan
Reviewed 22 June 2015

I spent 1 night here in June and was very pleased with my stay. I stayed in a 1 bedroom unit with 1 bed. The rooms are small but they are very well kept, clean and the comfort of the bed was perfect. I was a little nervous when I walked into the room thinking that I would get no...

1Thank Nick B
Reviewed 20 June 2015 via mobile

I had a reservation for father's day weekend for my hard working husband and they did not have any rooms, said they were all booked! Not even an apology :-( they do not honor reservations. Very rude lady at the check in also.

5Thank sherbetty
Amanda H, Owner at Mitchell Creek Inn, responded to this review

I apologize for the confusion upon your arrival. Unfortunately, there is no way to book the room though UPNorth Live online, where you recieved your special pricing. I'm sorry we got our wires crossed. However, I did provide a full refund of the purchase price you paid through UPNorth Live. I wish your weekend had gone as planned, and I...

Reviewed 23 May 2015

Basic hotel for people who are looking for a place to sleep and take a shower. Very clean and conveniently located to everything in Traverse City. Will defiantly go back. Close to the road but I wasn't bothered by the noise even with road construction going on. Nice place. The only complaint I had was I couldn't connect to their...

1Thank James S
Amanda H, Owner at Mitchell Creek Inn, responded to this review

Hi James, Thank you for staying with us! I apologize for the problems that you experienced with the wifi. When you join us next, please reach out if you experience any issues. We want to resolve those as quickly as possible, because we understand the need to stay connected. We're looking forward to seeing you the next time you're in...

Ballwin, Missouri
Reviewed 7 January 2015

This is a delightful, small, family-owned motel located right on U.S. 31 (this road is also MI 72 and MI 37) that looks out at the East Bay. When I say small, it is--it only has 15 units. It is located 3 miles east of downtown and is across the highway from State Beach Park which is a very nice...

4Thank John E
Crown Point, Indiana, United States
Reviewed 12 November 2014

No, it's not fancy. And yes, it's a motel so you can hear more road noise than if you were in a hotel. However, it was clean, comfortable and just right for our getaway. We didn't have a single complaint.

1Thank Barb F
Reviewed 19 October 2014 via mobile

This reminded me of going to a bed and breakfast. It was a pretty view with Mitchell Creek running through the property. There was a grill out back that we used to cook dinner one night. Granted the rooms were not over the top or fancy, but I never felt like I needed more than what they gave me. The...

Reviewed 13 October 2014

We found Mitchell Creek by chance one weekend and we are back for our 4th weekend this year! The owners, Dave and Amanda....are so kind! They keep the place neat and family friendly! This places biggest draw is it's value! Located within a few miles of downtown, you are close to everything at a fraction of the cost! Meet the...

1Thank MattNapo
Reviewed 27 September 2014

I guess I would stay here again if other motels were not available. The rooms were clean and the owner was nice but being on the main highway was just too noisy for me. The traffic stopped about 12m-1am and resumed like clockwork at 6am.

1Thank bellarosa1
Saint Clair, Michigan
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed in one of the rooms that had 2 double beds. It included a small kitchen which was nice, at tall dresser and the bathroom was small, not a lot of counter space, but was clean. One thing we noticed was that the toilet seat was broken, not that big of a deal. In the rear of the property...

1Thank AGR104

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (7)
View from Room (1)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (5)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Room/Suite (1)
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
2.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.8 km away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
277 reviews
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#10 of 40 in Traverse City
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
280 reviews
1.0 km away
Beach Haus Resort
Beach Haus Resort
#21 of 40 in Traverse City
90 reviews
2.3 km away
Traverse Bay Inn
Traverse Bay Inn
#22 of 40 in Traverse City
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mitchell Creek Inn is a quaint, 14 room inn on East Grand Traverse Bay, across the street from the State Park Beach. Locally owned and operated by US Army Veterans, the Inn features unique rooms, friendly staff, and an outdoor area where guests can fish from the banks of the creek, enjoy grilling or a campfire, and paddle one of the complimentary kiaks down the creek to the Bay. If family-friendly and easy-going is your style, this is the place for you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mitchell Creek Inn

Address: 894 Munson Ave, Traverse City, MI 49686-3602
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Price Range: $105 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mitchell Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotel.de so you can book your Mitchell Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mitchell Creek Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Mitchell Creek Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Back from the road if possible.”
CutiePie007, 25 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Request a cabin furthest away from the road if possible. If not, its really not a big deal- the noise isn't bad at all”
nickb468, 22 Jun 2015 | Read review
“If you need the wifi I would ask about it at check in.”
jamessA1568JX, 22 May 2015 | Read review
“You can choose a room based on how much space you need.”
JohnE399, 7 Jan 2015 | Read review
“There are not many rooms to choose from, but further from the road may be quieter.”
melodyb614, 18 Sep 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
View all 5 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates