We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Harold's Resort at Spider Lake

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse City
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 27: English reviews
Start your review of Harold's Resort at Spider Lake
 Click to rate
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have grown up coming here with my parents and 3 siblings every year. This is truly my happy place. I have since returned with my wife and 2 kids, and have just an amazing time every time. I can't believe I haven't written a review for Harold's Resort before today. Life has gotten busy, so we haven't been there...

Thank dittohelp
Jackson, Wyoming
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Absolutely loved this cozy little place! If you need to get away this is absolutely the place to do it! The cabin is adorable and cozy with a great hot tub! Don't forget to leave a note in the binder about your stay :)

Thank gusgus10
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 8 February 2017

My boyfriend and I spent a long weekend in Cabin 5 in Harold's Resort and had a lovely time. We felt secluded and enjoyed the privacy but still were within driving distance to Traverse City. We went to Sleeping Bear Dunes and downtown Traverse City during our stay. The hot tub and fireplace were very relaxing. Kathy made us feel...

Thank Debbieg777
haroldsresort, Owner at Harold's Resort at Spider Lake, responded to this review

Thanks for being so brave to come in the winter ! It's a magical time... especially when you have the whole place to yourselves... which does not happen often. Lucky you to not have to share ! You are the reason I keep the cabins open in the winter. It's a special time. Thanks again! Kathy

Plainwell, Michigan
Reviewed 30 December 2016

My husband and I decided at the last minute to get away on Christmas day. We researched rentals in the Traverse City area and decided on Harold's Resort. It was more than we imagined! We stayed 2 nights and wished we had reserved more. The cabin was warmed by a fireplace and the hot tub on the screened in porch...

1Thank Kathy K
haroldsresort, Owner at Harold's Resort at Spider Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our place to stay. We were happy to have you "at the last minute" for Christmas. And Thank You for your kind words. You are the reason I have been here for 26 years doing this and why I continue to be here for you after my husband, best friend, sole mate and business partner passed...

Golden, Colorado
Reviewed 17 June 2016

My daughter needed to be in Interlochen for a week. My teaching year had just ended. Harold's Resort was near enough to travel to Michigan with her and still have a quiet space to myself to reflect and relax before summer. Cabin #3 was just right for a few nights for the two of us and then for most of...

1Thank goldendavis
haroldsresort, Owner at Harold's Resort at Spider Lake, responded to this review

She asked for a place for her and her daughter and some peace and quiet ( and wifi ! ) and I knew exactly what she needed. Just tell me what you need and I will make a recommendation. Kathy

Waterville, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 14 May 2016

Driving into the resort, we were concerned, because everything needs painted and freshened; however, inside our cabin, it was clean and comfortable. The boats are not docked, so you need to pull them into the water. Both fishing boats we tried leaked to the point of wet feet, but not dangerous. Lovely views.

Thank Jennifer S
haroldsresort, Owner at Harold's Resort at Spider Lake, responded to this review

Thanks for coming so early in the Season.. When you do that, you pretty much get the place to yourselves. The weather here is much more favorable to working on the insides of Cabins, than painting the outsides. The Sunday moring after these people left - we had over an inch of snow coating everything. So don't judge a book...

Norton Shores, Michigan
Reviewed 22 February 2016

My husband and I stayed 3 nights in cozy cabin #4....and had the greatest weekend ever!! Perfect getaway for a couple in the winter, especially with the hot tub and beautiful fireplace visible from the bed. We plan on returning for a summer visit. The winter view was absolutely beautiful!! Cabin was immaculate with everything you could possibly need. Close...

Thank Sue C
haroldsresort, Owner at Harold's Resort at Spider Lake, responded to this review

These two braved the Cold and Snow for L O V E ! And look what it got them - The Most Romantic Weekend EVER ! Most "city slickers" would have run home with the cold temps we had that weekend. So thanks for sticking around and figuring out how to keep each other warm ! Fireplace, Hot Tub, Snuggle...

Greenville, Michigan
Reviewed 12 February 2016

Our favorite place to go is Harolds. Many memories in our cabin. Relaxed in the hot tub and grilled steaks. So close to Traverse City. Kathy is wonderful. Already planning to go back, bringing friends next time.

Thank Jamie M
haroldsresort, Owner at Harold's Resort at Spider Lake, responded to this review

These two know how to do it.. A weekend together doing the simple things.. Relaxing in the hot tub, grilling dinner, just spending quality time together is what it is all about. It's why we are here. Kathy

Plymouth, Michigan
Reviewed 25 January 2016

My husband and I stayed here for winter weekend getaway after finding listing online and we were not disappointed! We stayed in cozy cabin #4 so we could enjoy the hot tub which we did both nights! This is definately rustic and casual but so peaceful and relaxing and perfect for what we were looking for. The cabin had all...

Thank froglady397
haroldsresort, Owner at Harold's Resort at Spider Lake, responded to this review

You are the reason we keep the a few Cabins open in the Winter.. To give the bold and daring a chance to brave the winter conditions to come to a place that feels far, far away.. in the woods, at the end of the road and off the highway.. but with easy access to town.. if you want !...

Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

We were one of many people who stayed at resort for a family weekend. Description of cabin some what misleading. Essentially a one room cabin with 3/4 wall partition between the two beds. Remaining "wall" was a curtain drawn across the foot of the bed. The third bed was in the remaining space that served as living room, dining room,...

2Thank Marc A. K
haroldsresort, Owner at Harold's Resort at Spider Lake, responded to this review

Yes, We are a "Rustic" Log Cabin Resort - and in Michigan - that means a Log Cabin, in the Woods, on the Lake - just like Grammas ! Rustic does not mean that it's not Comfy and Clean and in a perfect.. Quiet and Private Secluded location. Comfy Beds and linens, an equipped kitchen.. even Hot and Cold running...

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (19)
View from Room (1)
Room/Suite (5)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Dining (1)
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (17)
Room/Suite (11)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
8.9 km away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
2,898 reviews
9.2 km away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
462 reviews
12.5 km away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 km away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
9.0 km away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
12.0 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Looking for some quality time with your family or sweetie. Come to Harold's Resort - a simpler time, out of the fast lane and into the quiet, private and secluded forest of Northern Michigan. When you are here, you will feel like you are in the middle of nowhere, but there is easy access to "town", Traverse City that is. Traverse City has been recently been named # 1 of 10 US cities labeled: FOODIE FINDS:10 Surprising Food Cities with Fabulous Restaurants, Farmers Markets, Local Products, Farm Markets etc.. AND Downtown Shopping, Wineries, Casinos, Watersports, Outdoor Activities for all seasons. Or for some serious R&R - do nothing ! It's OK, it's encouraged! Put your feet up, get comfy and work on some 'down time'! Tell us what you want to do and we'll "hook you up" ! Cottages & Cabins from a small studio for 2, to a Log Cabin w/private hot tub, to a large vacation home for 10-15, fishing boats & pontoon boats too. Kathy & Rolf - Harold's Resort on Spider Lake, Traverse City, Michigan. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Harold's Resort at Spider Lake

Address: 1054 Resort Dr, Traverse City, MI 49696-9437
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Price Range: $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Harold's Resort at Spider Lake staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Harold's Resort at Spider Lake staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring your own linens and keep your cabin clean. Enjoy some peace and quiet and cabin living and get away from everything.”
dittohelp, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Cabin #4 was cozy and centered on the property.”
206KathyK, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Cabin 3 is at the end of the road, closest to the beach.”
goldendavis, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
“cabin #4 and #5 have hot tubs”
jamiemD1339HC, 12 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Look at the room as a camping adventure not a 'resort'.”
maryCincinnati, 21 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5