We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast

    244 E 8th St, Traverse City, MI 49684-5740
    (231) 613-4739
    Hotel website
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    -- / -- / --Check In -- / -- / --Check Out
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse CitySee available hotels in Traverse City
    Traveller (7)
    Dining (5)
    Room & Suite (4)
    Overview
    • Excellent71%
    • Very good19%
    • Average9%
    • Poor1%
    • Terrible0%
    Travellers talk about
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Beachfront
    Air Conditioning
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Airport Transportation
    All hotel details
    Deals
    29 Oct30 Oct
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    We're sorry, there are no rooms available on TripAdvisor. Please change your dates, or view all Traverse City hotels with availability
    Write a Review
    Reviews (52)
    There are newer reviews for Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    11 - 15 of 51 reviews

    Reviewed 15 July 2015

    Oviatt House was the perfect bed and breakfast experience for first-timers. The host Franny is AMAZING, so friendly and makes you feel so comfortable. The breakfast is amazing and big, with many options. Be sure to tell any food preferences/avoidances on your check-in. The house...More

    1  Thank Stephmk777
    Response from FrannyBluhm, Manager at Oviatt House Bed and BreakfastResponded 19 July 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Oviatt House. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have central air, and you are right, the Lewis Room is poorly ventilated. To fix that problem, we have a...More

    Reviewed 29 May 2015

    From reading the other reviews, we were a bit unsure how this was going to turn out. In the end it was much better than expected! Franny was so awesome, that by the end of the stay we considered her our, "vacation Mom"! She was...More

    Thank Michael G K
    Response from TheGardener44, Manager at Oviatt House Bed and BreakfastResponded 15 June 2015

    Thank you for the kind review! You were a fun couple to get to know. We look forward to seeing you again.

    Reviewed 4 September 2014

    Franny O that runs/owns the place is a gem. She is as nice as it gets. Just wonderful. But the place itself is really pretty bad. Like no A/C. Which meant open windows or suffocate. Busy street with lots of car/motorcycle noise. And every room,...More

    4  Thank Eugene L
    Response from TheGardener44, Guest Relations Manager at Oviatt House Bed and BreakfastResponded 8 September 2014

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our home. We always appreciate guest input to help improve our business. To address your concerns, we do have central air conditioning, however, at this time of year we often turn the AC on...More

    Reviewed 2 September 2014

    We were warmly greeted by Fran and she gave us a lot of handy information about the area. There is always coffee available and wine in the fridge. Fran warned me that the Hammond Room on the main floor was small but I was still...More

    Thank nanbik
    Response from TheGardener44, Owner at Oviatt House Bed and BreakfastResponded 4 September 2014

    Thank you so make for taking the time to review your stay with us. We have remedied the overhead light and placed out wrapped soap for our next guest. Although unused, I can completely understand your trepidation. We look forward to seeing you again!

    Reviewed 13 July 2014

    We have B&B'd before, but have rarely had such a gracious stay. Every detail of our preferences and comforts was accounted for. We stayed the weekend of Cherry Festival (unbeknownst to us)--but were really there to pick our daughter up from Interlochen Summer Camp. We...More

    2  Thank Altamom2014
    Response from TheGardener44, Owner at Oviatt House Bed and BreakfastResponded 15 July 2014

    Thank you so very much for your kind words. We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to another visit from you next summer!

    Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
    683 reviews
    #1 of 40 hotels in Traverse City
     
    Sleep Inn & Suites Acme - Traverse City
    246 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Acme
     
    Kingsley Motel
    45 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Kingsley
     
    Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
    3,348 reviews
    #2 of 40 hotels in Traverse City
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Beachfront
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$110 - US$175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Number of rooms
    • 6
    • Location
    • United States >
    • Michigan >
    • Grand Traverse County >
    • Traverse City
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (7)
    Dining (5)
    Room & Suite (4)
    Hotel & Grounds (23)
    Nearby
    Sleep Inn & Suites Acme - Traverse City
    246 reviews
    9.08 km away
     
    Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
    3,348 reviews
    7.25 km away
     
    Kingsley Motel
    45 reviews
    17.66 km away
     
    Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
    683 reviews
    2.66 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Patisserie Amie
    432 reviews
    .06 km away
    The Towne Plaza
    258 reviews
    .43 km away
    Sorellina
    216 reviews
    .47 km away
    Milk and Honey Cafe and Ice Creamery
    69 reviews
    .51 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Front Street
    753 reviews
    .55 km away
    Traverse Area Recreation and Transportation Trails
    158 reviews
    .45 km away
    Michigan Artists Gallery
    35 reviews
    .57 km away
    City Opera House
    56 reviews
    .63 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "Rooms are small but comfortable. We reserved the Grose room because it had a private bath and entry."
    Read review
    "Some have their own bathroom"
    Read review
    "Private bathroom, room with good ventilation (Lewis room was bit too warm at night)"
    Read review
    "Get a room on the upper floor."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing