We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Island View Cottages

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Island View Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 26: English reviews
Rogers City, Michigan
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Could be, should be a wonderful property, good location, waterfront, and cute retro cabins. BUT very dirty, rundown. Please put some effort into to cleaning and updates can't imagine it passes health codes to be honest.

Thank abasel2001
Lexington, Michigan
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Good Location and nice beach(Thats It !) Hard to find, Rundown, Dated, Unkept, Dirty, Over grown tree's and landscaping, Great view of the back of the empty motel next door and row of trash cans, Overpriced !! I could not believe we were in downtown Traverse city.

Thank michae148054
Bill R, Owner at Island View Cottages, responded to this review

We do not have any control over the motel that borders Island View Cottages. We don't have trash cans we have totes that are provided by American Waste. if you had any issues with anything, anything at all, you should have let us know when you were here. We would have made sure any issues you had were properly addressed...

Reviewed 26 September 2016

Celebrated my friend's 50th birthday party. We rented the Beach House which was right on the bay. The owner Bill was very informative, friendly and gave us wonderful recommendations on what to see and where to eat. Our place was very clean and had everything we needed for a 4 night stay. There was even a nice little fire pit...

Thank Lisa D
Bill R, Owner at Island View Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review. We hope to see you again on your next birthday. Bill

Saginaw, Michigan
Reviewed 13 August 2016

We had out annual family trip to Traverse City. We have been staying here for years now. The cabins are small and cute. We get the use of the sandy beach and walking distance to downtown. We will be back next year!

Thank ahoulihan
McKinney, Texas
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

My family recently stayed in Cabin 8 for 3 nights. While it does sleep 4 comfortably, this is a smaller cabin that is probably better suited for 2-3 guests. The living room "couch" was a trundle bed that made into two twin beds. When both beds were in place there was very little walking room. The room also had a...

2Thank RNinTx
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 6 nights and loved it!! Nothing fancy but clean and quaint. Bill was so helpful and accommodating. We had to switch cottages halfway through and happened to be taking a trip to Sleeping Bear Dunes that day. Marcy switched all our luggage and food to the new cottage while we were gone, so nice!! It was so...

Thank Emrose63
Colorado Springs
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

You will not find this place on hotels.com or Priceline.com. This place is "old school cottage" fabulous. Cabins remain vintage looking inside and out but are very clean, fully equipped with good appliances and great showers. Very wooded and a short path to the lake where you can walk the beach for a while in both directions. Great getaway for...

Thank Bridgette2562
Bill R, Owner at Island View Cottages, responded to this review

Bridgette, Thank you very much for your nice review. We appreciate having you visit the Traverse City area and Island View Cottages. Best regards, Bill

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

Centrally located on Front Street. Rustic cottages with cleanliness a priority. The owners were able to accommodate us on short notice & the queen bed in #6 was super comfy! Towel & bedding provided was a plus for the price. Private beach area with fire pit for making new friends, kids play structures, & plenty of beach chairs for relaxing

Thank Carrie C
Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

My family and I just spent 3 nights here and had a wonderful time. We stayed in a 1 bedroom cottage that had an incredibly comfortable bed. There were picnic tables and grills outside our cabin so we cooked quite a bit which was really convenient. The beachfront is small but really beautiful and had some play stuff for the...

Thank Texconsin
Bill R, Owner at Island View Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and nice comments. See you next time. Best regards, Bill

Reviewed 21 July 2015

I would say that there are major pros and definite cons to this establishment. Pros: 1. While not cheap, it is certainly less expensive than most in the TC area. Be prepared to spend at least 180.00/night at Island View, which is much cheaper than most. 2. LOCATION. The location is fabulous. Close to downtown, and has a private beach...

5Thank Philip D
Bill R, Owner at Island View Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As soon as I saw this review I personally inspected the unit she stayed in. The carpet was vacuumed and the contents of the vacuum were examined by two individuals. No bugs of any kind were found. The bed was inspected and what she saw was lint on the mattress pad. There were absolutely no...

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (9)
Room/Suite (1)
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (7)
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Room/Suite (3)
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.6 km away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.3 km away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
1.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
117 reviews
1.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
217 reviews
1.2 km away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#32 of 40 in Traverse City
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Island View Cottages is a family owned and operated resort on West Grand Traverse Bay. We are located less than 1 mile from downtown Traverse City, a short 10-15 minute walk. IVC has 132 feet of private sandy beach frontage with boat, jet ski, SUP boards available to rent just down the beach. We have 12 rentals available which include 9 cottages and 3 large houses that sleep up to 10 people. Summer rentals run from May through the end of October. This rustic hideaway is one of the few left in Traverse City! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Island View Cottages

Address: 853 E Front St, Traverse City, MI 49686-2775
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Number of rooms: 12
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Island View Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any cottage for a small group and any of three houses for a larger group”
 of 5 bubbles M4210KJannem, 24 Feb 2015 | Read review
“The Beach House is awesome!”
 of 5 bubbles TedDRondeau, 16 Dec 2014 | Read review
“The property is located on a very busy street, but most units appear to be positioned far enough that noise shouldn't be a problem. Our unit was very quiet. I would recommend being as close to the water as possible.”
 of 5 bubbles DavePortland, 6 Nov 2011 | Read review
3 of 3