We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Inn at Union Pier

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Inn at Union Pier
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Inn at Union Pier
See the most recent reviews
Showing 224: English reviews
Cleveland, OH
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We were fortunate to snag a room here without a reservation. The decor of the Winter room is so cute--done in a Christmas theme complete with a lighted tree. The lack of a tv was a plus. We enjoyed meeting other guests during the wine hour. We read or played chess in the main room after dinner before taking a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust44122
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review

Hi Wanderlust, Yes, You were lucky to snag a room on the weekend. I love the Winter room even though it is dark. Then you can sleep in later. It's only a minute to the hot tub. Most people don't miss not having a TV and say they sleep better. Now that we have the fireplaces up and running you...

Tarkio, Missouri
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

From the time we reserved our room to the end of breakfast the day we checked out, we felt nothing was left to chance; everything had been thought of for our enjoyment. The setting for the Inn is wooded and quiet:the rooms are comfortable and spacious; the common great room is beautifully designed, with a grand piano, an eye popping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tarkiodirt
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review

Hi Tarkiodirt, Thank you so much for the lovely review of your stay at the Inn. We try to think of everything to make our guests feel at home. There isn't much we can do about the rain though. This past weekend the weather was perfect and it has been cool enough to light the Swedish fireplaces at night. The...

Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Inn this past weekend for a family weekend and it was great! Friendly attentive hosts, plenty of room to lounge in, beautiful gardens, and Elvis, a very laid back cat! Looking forward to the next visit!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Libby B
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review

Hi Libby, So glad you enjoyed your stay at the Inn and were able to spend time with your family. This is a great place for family reunions. We have had several this past year and its great seeing families playing games and talking to each other. Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your stay at...

Fishers, Indiana
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

The staff was amazing, the room was beautiful and cozy! Breakfast each morning was cooked to perfection and the wine and popcorn before dinner each night was a great touch. We loved our stay and will be returning soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skaspar
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review

Hi skaspar, Thank you so much for such kind words! Here at the Inn we strive to give our guests 100% and make them feel at home. Hope you will be able to come in the fall to see the beauttiful colors and use the Swedish fireplaces. It's great here in the winter too even with the snow. That's the...

columbus
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Very welcoming from the first moment we arrived till when we said goodbye. The room was immaculate, comfortable, clean and quiet. The inn has the biggest collection of rare antique stoves but we didn't get to try ours since this vacation was in August. Our breakfast was nice, healthy and we were very well attended to during our meal. (really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deefree49
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review

Dear Deefree49, Wow!! Fantastico Review! I think you must be a writer by trade or should be. Thank you for all your information about amenities at the Inn and that we truly want guests to feel at home. Sometimes they don't want to leave to go back to reality. Where else can you get a beautiful beach sunset every evening...

Reviewed 23 August 2016

Our room was flooded a couple days before our arrival. I asked to cancel, as we had booked a 'particular' room, with 'special' reason. I was told I could not cancel, but was offered another room as a free uprade. We also had been overcharged earlier, so was told we would get a refund of $24 (not much, but it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack R
InnatUnionPier, Owner at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review

Hi Jack, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. All of our staff work very hard to provide our guests an enjoyable stay at the Inn and I am very disappointed if we don’t achieve that goal every time. The greater majority of our guests do have a pleasant and relaxing stay while enjoying the great hospitality...

Brazil, United States
Reviewed 23 August 2016

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Inn. The people were friendly, but not intrusive. The breakfast was good, with a different menu every day. We went there to get away and relax, and found just what we were looking for. The Inn is old, but well kept. There is no TV to distract, but there are bicycles...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marion S
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review

Dear Marion, I'm so glad that you and your wife were able to relax and rejuvenate from every day hustle and bustle. It's so important to find time to relax and enjoy a beautiful sunset at our Union Pier Beach. Most of our guests love that there isn't a TV and some even leave their electronic devices off during the...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Two couples visited for four lovely days. Main home has large breakfast area where you can eat 9-11. Great flexibility. Breakfasts are home-cooked and good. Main lounge is spacious for relaxing, reading or having complimentary wine with popcorn 5-7. (Cheese and crackers would be nicer). Beautiful gardens separate main house from nearby home where both had our lodging. Rooms wee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ga2rguy
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review

Hi Ga2rguy, Thank you for the fantastic review about the Inn and gracious words. I'm sure people will be coming to the Inn on your recommendations. I love meeting new people and want them to feel right at home and to return again and again. Every time someone new comes to the Inn I have made new friends. I am...

Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We have stayed at the Inn at Union Pier twice and will be going back again this fall again! The place is gorgeous and immaculate and the food is gourmet quality. Maryann and Lori who run the place are so nice and even helped us get a reservation for dinner when we showed up and didn't have one! Love the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happytraveler444
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review

Hi HappyTraveler 444, Thank you so much for the awesome review and kind words about the Inn. Can't wait for you to come back and see the changing colors in the fall. The cookies will still be hear,but we switch over to Apple Cider, Ice tea, and Hot Chocolate in the fall. You can see availability on Booking.com but only...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Came here with a group of 6 couples. The lobby is very spacious with gaming tables scattered in the corners. The grounds are charming with flowers everywhere. There is a hot tub off the garden and bikes you can check out. They also provide beach chairs and beach towels if you want to go to the beach which is about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KelloggTraveler
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review

Hi KelloggTraveler, Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Inn. All of you were great at breakfast and at the wine and popcorn happy hour. It was fun to see people actually communicating and playing games in the Great Room. The men were playing poker and the ladies played mahjong which has become very popular at the Inn this...

175 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union Pier
7.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
35.8 km away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
179 reviews
7.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.7 km away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
244 reviews
31.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
1.7 km away
Goldberry Woods Bed & Breakfast Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
1920's era Bed and Breakfast Inn with 16 guest rooms, private baths, real wood burning fireplaces and 250 foot steps to a beautiful Lake Michigan beach. Stay includes full breakfast, snacks & beverages during the day and wine & popcorn in the evening. Located in a quite residential setting within minutes of restaurants, shopping, antique shops, art galleries and wine tasting. Enjoy our hospitality in the casually elegant surroundings of a true country Inn. Open year round. Also available for family gatherings or corporate retreats. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Inn at Union Pier

Address: 9708 Berrien St, Union Pier, MI 49129-9458
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Union Pier
Price Range: $236 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inn at Union Pier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Union Pier Hotel Union Pier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Inn at Union Pier staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Inn at Union Pier staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in the Larkspur Room (in the Great House) to avoid walking outside to get to breakfast and wine tastings.”
ellemariegee, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms do not have televisions, just the main eating area.”
johnsJ8336RF, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We liked our room, the Sandpiper. NIce garden view.”
deefree49, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I am unable to. We had so looked forward to our choice room, but did not get to stay in it.”
96jackr, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose first floor room in building adjacent to main to avoid stairs, if that is a concern.”
ga2rguy, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5