We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Inn at Union Pier

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Inn at Union Pier
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

221 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Inn at Union Pier
See the most recent reviews
Showing 220: English reviews
Southfield, Michigan
Reviewed 17 March 2016

Very nice room, loved the ceramic wood burning fireplace, the breakfasts were excellent. We were able to visit a casino nearby. Many excellent restaurants close by. We are looking to go again in the summertime.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry D
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review

Hi Larry D., Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I hope you won some money at the casino. If you would like to come on a weekend don't wait too long because we have several weekends full or almost full. During the week Sunday through Thursday it is pretty wide open. We do have...

Reviewed 9 March 2016

My husband and i were there this past weekend. We stayed in the Captain's Quarters room. It was large and super comfortable. We did not use the Jacuzzi tub in our room but it was very large - see picture. We did, however brave the cold and use the Hot tub outside before a couples massage in our room by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krash9973
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review

Hi Kristen, WOW! It sounds like you really had a wonderful stay with us. I'm surprised the phone isn't ringing off the hook with your fabulous review about the Captain's Quarters and Harbor Country wineries, breweries, distilleries, and restaurants. St. Julian wines are the best in the area especially the Sweet Nancie and Sweet Sparkling Peach. The actual winery is...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 2 March 2016

This was our second time here and we were not disappointed. Comfortable and romantic rooms, with working fireplaces. Wonderful breakfasts and close to so many attractions - hiking, beaches, restaurants, a great distillery tour, music. Or you can just never leave your room and be happy, too! Thanks for the get-away. We will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank conbauer
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review

Hi ConBauer, It was great seeing you again at the Inn. Sometimes we never see our guests except at breakfast or wine and popcorn hour. Hopefully you can come stay with us during the summer. There are still some openings on weekends and the Ship and Shore Festival is back this year in New Buffalo and we have open rooms...

Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile

We have never been to a B&B so this was our first time! This place is such a treasure! My husband and I spent the weekend there with 2 other couples and we had the most wonderful experience and time! The themed rooms were very clean and cozy! Loved the wood burning fire place. And loved the fact that there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review

Hi Jennifer, We miss you all too. You were such a great bunch of people and fun to serve at breakfast and at the wine and popcorn. I wish more people like you didn't want a TV in the room. We do have one in the Dining room and we have free wifi. Most people are so exhausted after visiting...

Urbana, Illinois
Reviewed 24 February 2016

My husband and I just spent a weekend there and it was absolutely everything I hoped for. The breakfasts were excellent, the rooms were perfect (amazing bed + adorable fireplace), the staff was incredible, the always-available cookies were delightful, the hot tub, I could go on for quite a while and we were only there 48 hours! It was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Betsy1703
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review

Hi Betsy, Sounds like you really enjoyed your stay and will be back. I'm so glad that you were able to relax and enjoy everything Harbor Country has to offer even in the off season. More and more people are finding out that they don't have to go north to Wisconsin for 3 hour trip or spend a lot of...

michigan
Reviewed 23 February 2016

I bought my boyfriend a surprise getaway for his birthday.. I had never been to the area and was very pleasantly surprised at how wonderful everything was. We had the best time ever! The first night we went to Timothy's for dinner, then hit the distillery followed by some time in the outdoor hot tub. I loved the hot tub...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brownzoo
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review

Hi Brownzoo, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Inn at Union Pier. Sounds like you had a great time and found the popular places to relax and enjoy the little hideaway we have here in Harbor Country. Come and see us again in the Summer or Fall when you can take advantage riding bikes...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 15 February 2016

My wife and I have stayed in this B & B 4 times now. What strikes us as the best features of this B & B are the rooms located in the main lodge. We stayed in the Dandelion Room upstairs from the Great Room in the Inn. Each room has a Swedish Fireplace or Kakelugn. When you know how...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NickelPlate
InnatUnionPier, General Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review

Hi Dennis and Carla, We're so glad you came back to see us again after a few years going by. It's always a pleasure talking to you too and you never seem to age. I'm happy you were able to get the fireplace working. The secret is letting it burn for about 15-20 minutes and then opening it up and...

Lombard, Illinois
Reviewed 10 February 2016

This is my second review of Inn at Union Pier (see "Just Relax" November 6, 2014) but by no means our second visit. Can't recall how many times we've enjoyed The Inn. As the title suggests, the hospitality, the charm, the comfort, the food, the ambience at The Inn consistently remains at the highest level. You might choose to hunker...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 214Stever
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review

Hi Steve and Nancy, It's such a pleasure having both of you stay at our Inn year after year. You are just like family coming home to visit. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your stay at the Inn at Union Pier. Many people love reading the reviews and my replies and...

Reviewed 7 February 2016

If you are looking for a place to stay for a fun filled yet relaxing weekend, the Inn at Union Pier is the place to stay. The staff is always willing to help you with anything that you should need. The Swedish fireplace in the room had to have been one of my favorite parts. The Inn offers homemade chocolate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christina B
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review

Hi Christina B., Sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us and found a lot to do in the Harbor Country area even in the dead of winter. It's a lot different in the summertime and much busier but you can watch the most beautiful sunsets on the beach and stroll along the shoreline from here to New Buffalo or...

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 10 January 2016

my sister an i stayed here for my birthday weekend, she has never stayed at a bed an breakfast, i wanted her to see how fun an relaxing it is. well i was right as older sisters always are, the inn is very beautiful an romantic (next time i'm bringing my husband) but also family friendly, the staff are wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank morgan h
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this review

Hi Morgan and Nicole, I'm so glad you were able to celebrate your birthday with us and several other guests too. You two were so friendly and funny too and it was just like we had known you for a long time. I couldn't believe how brave you were to walk to the beach in such cold and rainy weather....

171 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (106)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union Pier
7.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
35.8 km away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
164 reviews
7.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.7 km away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
234 reviews
21.2 km away
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
#3 of 16 in Michigan City
568 reviews
7.4 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 7 in New Buffalo
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
1920's era Bed and Breakfast Inn with 16 guest rooms, private baths, real wood burning fireplaces and 250 foot steps to a beautiful Lake Michigan beach. Stay includes full breakfast, snacks & beverages during the day and wine & popcorn in the evening. Located in a quite residential setting within minutes of restaurants, shopping, antique shops, art galleries and wine tasting. Enjoy our hospitality in the casually elegant surroundings of a true country Inn. Open year round. Also available for family gatherings or corporate retreats. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Inn at Union Pier

Address: 9708 Berrien St, Union Pier, MI 49129-9458
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Union Pier
Price Range: $233 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inn at Union Pier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Union Pier Hotel Union Pier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Inn at Union Pier staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Inn at Union Pier staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms do not have televisions, just the main eating area.”
 of 5 bubbles johnsJ8336RF, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We liked our room, the Sandpiper. NIce garden view.”
 of 5 bubbles deefree49, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I am unable to. We had so looked forward to our choice room, but did not get to stay in it.”
 of 5 bubbles 96jackr, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose first floor room in building adjacent to main to avoid stairs, if that is a concern.”
 of 5 bubbles ga2rguy, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We loved the Spring room. We were only in the room to sleep and shower so was all we needed. Very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles hadfun20142014, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay