We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Danesfield House Hotel And Spa

Expedia.comUS$277*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$285*
US$277*
Great Deal
US$285*
US$285*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Professional photos
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,188: English reviews
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 May 2016

After receiving recommendations for this hotel we decided to treat ourselves for our birthdays to a night away - not something we can afford to do very often for a hotel of the Danesfield's prices. Firstly I booked a Phillippe stark room but was allocated a stables room. There was no information on check in that we had been allocated...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank W857WEjessicaf
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 May 2016

This is without doubt a stunning building & grounds, in a lovely location. The management need to do better, however, with most aspects of the experience, to make it a luxury destination. Basic maintenance issues were apparent in every aspect of the room (peeling paint on the window frames (inside), cushion cover missing from the desk chair (leaving just exposed...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank icklevic
Charlotte O, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review

Dear Icklevic, Thank you for your comments relating to your stay, I have passed on all your comments to our maintenance and housekeeping teams who are working tirelessly to rectify these issues. We do have a refurbishment plan in place and I do hope you will pay us another visit so that we can improve on your previous visit. Best...

Addlestone
Reviewed 4 May 2016

The hotel would be very good to excellent if they either stopped the weddings or properly organised extra staff and the management of the event and the usual running of the hotel. All the facilities ( including spa ) are excellent. The grounds are lovely with views over the Thames. The food is very good along with the service. The...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlestO2587KW
Charlotte O, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review

Dear charlest02587KW, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay for the most part. Should you wish to visit us again please contact me directly and I will ensure you have a truly relaxing stay. Best Wishes, Charlotte O’Connell Operations Manager

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Staff and Food was excellent through the the wedding we atteneded. Let down by standard of rooms. Decor is dated and our room looked very tired and in need of a refurb. Breakfast for wedding party was only waited on by one person, and most of the food was cold. Great venue for a wedding, just disappointing rooms.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lonesparks
Charlotte O, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review

Dear Lonesparks, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you found our staff attentive and enjoyed the wedding. We are in the process of refurbishing all of our rooms and I do hope that you will visit us again in the future. Best Wishes, Charlotte O’Connell Operations Manager

Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

This is a very impressive hotel. However a romantic weekend was completely ruined by very loud music at the wedding being hosted in the hotel. For £300 per night this was unacceptable. It was unbearable to be in our room while the wedding band was playing. The music started early evening which meant that we had to 'escape' from our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anjli D
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

Such a shame. The grounds, rooms and setting are beautiful. But, arrived at 12.15 (they say rooms free from midday). Reception were blasé & uninterested from the start - said our rooms weren't ready but we could leave the bags and have lunch. Restaurant fully booked. We asked to have lunch on the terrace (after a battle with staff -...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank HKL1979
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here in April for a family gathering to celebrate an anniversary. The hotel is a beautiful old stately home with lovely gardens and a modern spa that is open to guests. The staff were really helpful and catered for our every need. We had pre-booked a large, secluded table in the restaurant for the celebration...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy6Lynn7
Tring, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2016

I visited the hotel for the first time last week for a 3- course dinner and musical evening with Kerry Ellis, a fantastic West-end performer. I was blown away by the amazing food, excellent service and the phenomenal talent of such a well-known performer. When I first saw the outside of the building once we emerged from the tree-lined driveway,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatieEyton
Reviewed 13 April 2016

What a fantastically amazing place, beautiful setting and grounds along with great staff. We had a wonderful wedding reception held here using the Great Hall, The Chiltern Room and The Versailles Suite followed by a silent disco in The Cellars, can't recommend enough. Staff were prompt and efficient where nothing was too much trouble, food was 5* and all our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mik5151
Wickwar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2016 via mobile

Was taken here as part of a birthday treat. Lovely building & great Spa. Unfortunately lunch was a let down with incomplete dishes being served. This resulted in the food being deducted from the bill but still a let down. On getting to our room a birthday cake had been provided which was a very nice touch. Room very good....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simon C

441 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (391)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (119)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (159)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medmenham
3.9 km away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
5.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
9.4 km away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
758 reviews
28.2 km away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
656 reviews
15.5 km away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Danesfield House Hotel and Spa is an award-winning, luxury 4-star country house hotel located between the fashionable boutique shopping towns of Marlow and Henley-on-Thames in beautiful, rural Buckinghamshire. Privately owned, we represent a quintessentially British establishment overlooking acres of manicured gardens and the River Thames. Located near the M25, M4 and M40 motorways, just 45 minutes from the centre of London and 35 minutes from fashionable West London we are the ultimate Buckinghamshire Hotel to escape to. Each of the 86 rooms offers unique charm and character with the most enchanting traditional British interiors exquisitely combined with classical design. Our awards include: One Michelin Star awarded in Michelin Guide Great Britain and Ireland 2011AA, 4 Red Rosettes for Culinary Excellence, 12th Top UK Restaurant 2012 awarded by Good Food Guide 2012, Most Relaxing Spa UK 2011 awarded by Natural Health Magazine Spa Awards. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Danesfield House Hotel And Spa

Address: Henley Road, Medmenham, Marlow SL7 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Marlow > Medmenham
Price Range: $413 - $738 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Danesfield House Hotel And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Danesfield House Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danesfield House Hotel And Marlow
Danesfield Hotel Marlow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Danesfield House Hotel And Spa staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Danesfield House Hotel And Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“unable to as didn't stay”
ecalpem0s, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Avoid Room 222”
PEJUk, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“make sure room is far away from noise in event of wedding celebration”
APELSNUT, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Amazing Wedding Venue”
seand277, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in stable room are delight”
easterrosbuscato, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$277* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$285
HOTEL.INFOUS$285
TripAdvisorUS$277
View all 15 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates