We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Northwood Inn and Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Northwood Inn and Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 132: English reviews
South Dakota
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We chose this hotel primarily because it was close to the airport and we could leave our car at no extra charge and take the shuttle. At $130/night, we did not expect a luxury hotel, but also did not expect a dump, but a dump is what we found. To get to our room, we walked on carpet so dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cjcSouthDakota
Elon, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

I debated on giving this terrible place two stars - only because the staff was friendly and the location was convenient to the airport. However I couldn't do it. I can't believed we were taken for $90 thanks to the Ryder Cup. Had I paid $39 maybe I wouldn't be surprised. The room was large and had a good TV...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SherrieARC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Rooms had the basic amenities. No coffee pot however. Beds were comfortable and a nice flat screen tv. Cleaning was horrible and the carpets were DIRTY. The tile in the bathroom was very dirty and needed a good scrubbing and also the wall around the toilet needed cleaning. I found a remote to some old tv in one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mexicohopper1
northwoodinnandsuit, Webmaster at Northwood Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry that several issues combined to make your stay less than desirable. We take real pride in offering the best possible guest experience, and I understand that we let you down. You can be sure we’ll do better for you next time. Nothing means more to us than providing a pleasant guest experience....

Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

We were suppose to stay 3 night but only stayed 1 because we couldn't handle how disgusting dirt it was !! The pull out bed was broken ! Towels were dirt and used !! It was unbelievable that people stay there !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wibankrr
northwoodinnandsuit, Webmaster at Northwood Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the review. I’m terribly sorry we failed to meet your expectations. We take pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and in the overall experience we provide to guests. I sincerely apologize that we let you down and assure you that action is already being taken to make things better for the future. Your experience...

Alexandria, Minnesota
Reviewed 14 July 2016

The motel appears to be a hotel in the picture so this is deceiving. I was nervous when I dropped my car off for a park and fly stay due to the age of the motel. I found that the lobby smelled like smoke which made me even more nervous. Upon my return from my trip I had to take...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank GypsyWannabe90
northwoodinnandsuit, Webmaster at Northwood Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I appreciate your comments. I’m very sorry our hotel wasn't a good match for your needs. We take great pride in being a pleasant, friendly and accommodating place to stay, and we obviously let you down in some ways. For that, I apologize. I hope when you visit the area again you will give us another chance to...

Milwaukee
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

I was satisfied with the stay. This was my second time stay in last 2 years and I will stay again if I am in Minnesota. Close to everything I visited, respects culture, authentic, staff very much friendlier, nice breakfast especially the coffee, large safe room.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sam K
northwoodinnandsuit, Webmaster at Northwood Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I appreciate your feedback. I’m glad that our hotel impressed you enough that you would stay with us again. Our goal is to provide an experience worth repeating for every guest, every time. I hope you will tell others about our hotel and make us your first choice in the area for the future. We’ll be here for...

Colorado
Reviewed 12 May 2016

I booked this hotel through Expedia and then happened to look at the reviews. I was preparing for a bad experience, but actually it wasn't so bad. I was worried about having my room door face the outdoors, as I've had a bad experience in other hotels where it was too noisy to sleep, but there is a separate building...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KCrowder
northwoodinnandsuite, Webmaster at Northwood Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us. I’m very glad that our hotel impressed you in so many ways. We focus on offering a guest experience that will satisfy a wide range of travelers. When you’re in the area again, I hope you will make us your first choice. We’ll be here when you need us with another great stay...

Wisconsin
Reviewed 8 April 2016

That's what I got, an inexpensive room that was average at best. Phone didn't work and no one explained or gave me a wifi password. The cops were there when I arrived so that was like wow! There was a lot of garbage around the hotel and in the hallways. Blaaa and ewww were the words of the day! They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth J L
northwoodinnandsuite, Webmaster at Northwood Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your opinions. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your needs and did not live up to your expectations. We take pride in our hotel and in providing a great place to stay for so many guests, and I deeply regret that we let you down. Perhaps you will give us another try in the...

Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

I'm actually staying in this hotel right now with my 3 daughters and husband. This place is a dump from the first impression of the outside, the crazy limited and tight parking, worn carpeting, chemical mixed with smoke smell, shower that doesn't seem to work(just tried to use the shower and it wouldn't work), dripping water all night, continental breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lem3
northwoodinnandsuite, Webmaster at Northwood Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I appreciate your comments about our hotel here in Bloomington. I’m very sorry we couldn’t meet your needs or expectations. We take great pride in being a pleasant, friendly and accommodating place to stay, and we obviously let you down in some ways. For that, I apologize. I hope when you visit the area again you will give...

Minong, Wisconsin
Reviewed 14 March 2016

We booked our stay here without checking Trip Advisor, which is a little unlike us. When we did read the reviews, were a bit nervous. However, when we arrived, the staff was friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean. We were leaving for the airport early (5:30am) and they already had coffee on for us. There was one other...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris S

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomington
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#37 of 43 in Bloomington
455 reviews
0.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Airport Mall of America
0.3 km away
Residence Inn Bloomington by Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Courtyard Bloomington by Mall of America
0.2 km away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington East - Airport
1.6 km away
La Quinta Inn Minneapolis Airport Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Northwood Inn and suites Bloomington! The Mall of America is 1 mile from the Northwood Inn & suites for numerous shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Northwood Inn and suites is four miles from Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport and offers comfortable accommodations while having a central location near the region's main attractions. Guest services include 24-hour attendant, free parking, indoor heated pool, business services and a complimentary continental breakfast. Rooms feature complimentary wireless Internet access, microwave and refrigerator. Dining options near the motel include Denny's, Split Rock Grille, Shells Café and Outback Steakhouse. The Water Park of America is three blocks from the motel featuring the largest indoor water park in America. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Northwood Inn and Suites

Address: 1225 E 78th St, I-494, Exit 3, Bloomington, MN 55425-1064
Region: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Price Range: $95 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Northwood Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Northwood Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northwood Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Travel Lodge
Bloomington Travelodge
Travelodge Bloomington
Travel Lodge Bloomington
Northwood Inn And Suites Bloomington/Minneapolis, North America
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Northwood Inn and Suites staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Northwood Inn and Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have any allergies or breathing difficulties DO NOT stay here!”
 of 5 bubbles GypsyWannabe90, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with the doors facing in.”
 of 5 bubbles KCrowder, 12 May 2016 | Read review
“We staid in a one bed king room. It wasn't large, but it was fine for one night.”
 of 5 bubbles tonybN8905XW, 28 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Stay at the quality inn down the road!! Avoid Northwood inn”
 of 5 bubbles kirsty2436, 6 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Do not stay on a cold day...or night or figure on using the "free"wifi.”
 of 5 bubbles MartinD16GT, 19 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay