We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Voyageur Lakewalk Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Voyageur Lakewalk Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Voyageur Lakewalk Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 147: English reviews
Bemidji, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Well, first we were put into a "smoking" room which we were unable to change as they were full - we did not have the option for when booking online, The room was damp - even with the AC on. My socks actually got wet when walking. The Bathroom had water damage on the ceiling and MOLD was growing there....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
Minneapolis
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Honestly, I read the reviews here after I booked and was concerned enough to bring a few things mentioned in some reviews. But, as the new manager responded "give them time to fix the problems" and they certainly have. No smoke smells, clean and comfy rooms, soaps and other small needs in the clean bathroom. We took advantage of the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank matrixgord
Hominy, Oklahoma
Reviewed 6 July 2016

It's an older motel, across the street from Lake Superior, right on Superior St. The room was no frill/no thrills, but clean. It has great views from the patios on top of the building with tablet b lets & chairs. It's next to an antique shop, by a Lake Superior magazine shop (lots of great souvenirs available!) We also enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Denise P
VoyageurManager, General Manager at Voyageur Lakewalk Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Denise. We are happy to hear you had a pleasant stay and such a great time in Duluth. We hope you come back to visit us soon. Audra Erkelenz-General Manager

Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed our visit here! It's located within walking distance to Lakewalk Park and the casino! Easy access to highways and there is an excellent view of Lake Superior from the top deck. The staff are very very friendly and accommodating. Brenna helped us throughout our stay and even when we had an issue at arrival the hotel manager came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenda K
VoyageurManager, General Manager at Voyageur Lakewalk Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Brenda! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly hope you will visit us and Duluth again soon. Audra Erkelenz. - General Manager

Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

This is Duluth's hidden gem if you can look past the older exterior and interior. The aged rooms are part of the charm, I think. Staff was extremely helpful, supplied us with lots of blankets and towels. The parking is tight, but if you ask for a room on the third floor, there is a parking garage right next to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pragmatica27
VoyageurManager, General Manager at Voyageur Lakewalk Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Pragmatica27! We appreciate your review. As part of the new management, I can say that you will see positive changes with the Voyageur in the future. We hope to see you again very soon!

Reviewed 20 June 2016

I loved staying at this place! The amenities were VERY basic, but you get what you pay for, right?!? I loved the convenient location, the "ocean" views, rooftop patios, and convenient parking. The only complaint I have is that my non-smoking room smelled very strongly of cigarette smoke.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
VoyageurManager, General Manager at Voyageur Lakewalk Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Jennifer B! We appreciate your review. I'm happy to hear you had a great stay! Being able to look out at the "ocean" is definitely a must, when staying in Duluth. We hope you visit us again soon. Audra E. General Manager

Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewed 18 June 2016

Upon checkin we were given a parking permit for our vehicke to be place on dash board. After being away all day returning 7PM the there were no parking places. Near our room number there were three vehicles with no parking permits. We requested hotel management hono the policy and make a parking place for us. The front desk said...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mouette19
Houghton, Michigan
Reviewed 15 June 2016

This motel is a terrible place to stay, Bring your own stuff for shower, bed, and other purposes. It is the most expensive motel without any continental breakfast. You can drink only black coffee free of cost. Rooms are old and bathrooms are terrible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keshab9
Eagan, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 June 2016

We stayed here for two nights. We booked it because it was cheap & close to the wedding that we were attending. I knew that I booked that room that it was older property and was dated. I read the reviews and thought that is sounded okay for the price. I don't know if we just got a bad room...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank picassogirl33
VoyageurManager, General Manager at Voyageur Lakewalk Inn, responded to this review

Dear Picassogirl333, I am sorry to hear that you had a bad experience. I would like to express that we have undergone a very recent change in management and we are absolutely on the path to make this property one that can offer a clean and fabulous stay. If in the future, if you do find yourself in Duluth again,...

Minnesota
Reviewed 29 May 2016

If you are looking for elegance or many stars, this is not the place. But if you are looking for a reasonably priced and clean room, with free parking and fast wifi, hot water and a super comfortable bed, then the Voyageur Lakewalk Inn is just the ticket! The front desk staff was helpful and made checking in and leaving...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank belindac

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.8 km away
The Downtown Duluth Motel
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.1 km away
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
#19 of 33 in Duluth
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
5.2 km away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
0.8 km away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located near the shores of Lake Superior in Duluth's historic Old Downtown. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants, theaters and entertainment, Canal Park, Fitger's Brewery Complex, Fon du Luth Casino, as well as major hospitals and clinics. Full Cable and Showtime, bring your laptop - we have wireless internet access! Standard rooms, some with lake view, whirlpool lodge rooms with fireplaces, rough log furniture, pine walls and wonderful views of Lake Superior. Free continental breakfast and a friendly staff. Enjoy your stay at Voyageur Duluth Lakewalk Inn! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Voyageur Lakewalk Inn

Address: 333 E Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802-2119
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Price Range: $102 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Voyageur Lakewalk Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Voyageur Lakewalk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyageur Lakewalk Hotel Duluth
Voyageur Lakewalk Motel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Voyageur Lakewalk Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
5 months ago
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Voyageur Lakewalk Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Third floor rooms have best access to the patio with a great view of the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles samanthabN7717LF, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the lake”
 of 5 bubbles Q2457SBkarena, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you must stay here - DO NOT let them give you rooms 101 - 110”
 of 5 bubbles jojomn, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“You would have to ask for rooms with a view. The suites looked amazing (the views would be best)”
 of 5 bubbles KrisJ294, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay out of the first floor room that is under the stairs. Ask for top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles ajayhawkfan, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay