We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Grand Ely Lodge

Show Prices
#1 of 8 Hotels in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Grand Ely Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

338 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Grand Ely Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 337: English reviews
Fairmont, Minnesota
Reviewed 28 September 2016

I hope to stay here again next time I do the Ely half marathon. I hope to make use of the kayaks that were included in my room fee, such a nice bonus!! The front desk staff were very pleasant and always had a smile on their face!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 525ajaw
Charlie K, Guest Services Manager at Grand Ely Lodge, responded to this review

Dear 525ajaw, Thank you very much for your kind review of Grand Ely Lodge. We are glad that you chose to stay with us during marathon weekend and that you found our front desk staff to be pleasant and with smiles on their faces. We certainly hope to see you again next year and yes, please be sure to take...

Buffalo Center, Iowa
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Great area !! Fantastic view. We loved staying here. We were in town for a family Wedding so we didn't spend a lot of time in our rooms. We did eat breakfast here every morning and the food was very good. Well done GEL :)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A3992JObeckyb
Charlie K, Guest Services Manager at Grand Ely Lodge, responded to this review

Dear A3992JObeckyb, Thank you for taking time to provide us with your feedback. We are pleased that you loved staying here while in the area for your family wedding. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the view and that the food was very good during your stay. We appreciate your compliments and hope to welcome you again should...

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 28 September 2016

A great place to stay.. A very convenient location close to the attractions we wanted to visit and the views of the lake were beautiful, especially the Eagle we watched. I hope we can make the trip again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank larryy518
Charlie K, Guest Services Manager at Grand Ely Lodge, responded to this review

Dear larryy518, Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful views of the lake and that there was an eagle to view as well. We are glad that you found us to be a great place to stay and that our location allowed you to be close to the...

Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Comfortable, clean rooms. Wonderful views. Friendly and helpful staff. Great dining. Enjoyable and relaxing visit. Plenty of easy, available parking. Good walking and hiking areas. Make your reservation early as they are often very busy because Grand Ely Lodge is the Besy!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 216debd
Charlie K, Guest Services Manager at Grand Ely Lodge, responded to this review

Dear 216debd, Thank you kindly for giving us your feedback on your recent stay with us. It is nice to hear that you found the rooms clean and comfortable, and wonderful views to boot! We are also happy that our staff was friendly and helpful. It is what we strive for. We welcome the opportunity to serve you again on...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 25 September 2016

: The hotel is large, especially for Ely, MN, with three levels. It sits on a small hill above a lake with good but partly obstructed views. The lower level rooms face the lake and have a small patio with a couple of chairs. Our room was large with a small refrigerator and large screen TV. The bath was pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jes22
Charlie K, Guest Services Manager at Grand Ely Lodge, responded to this review

Dear jes22, Thank you for submitting you review of Grand Ely Lodge. Your comments are very much appreciated. We are glad that you had a quiet and relaxing stay with us and generally found the hotel clean and well maintained. It is also good to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful and that you had a great paddle...

Mt. Pleasant MI
Reviewed 22 September 2016

GEL is a great spot - beautiful country, nice room. Breakfast was terrific, dinner could have been better. We ordered the recommended bluegill but it was so heavily breaded we could hardly find the fish!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmclaus
Charlie K, Guest Services Manager at Grand Ely Lodge, responded to this review

Dear jmclaus, Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your feedback. It is greatly appreciated. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful country and the nice room. It is also nice to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast. I will pass your comments on to our Food and Beverage Manager regarding the bluegill. We...

Minnetonka, Minnesota
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Loved staying at the Grand Ely Lodge. The room was well maintained and quiet,and we enjoyed the meals in the dining room. The pool area was beautifuland the marina had whatever we wanted to get on the lake. Great place to kick back and relax.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sndmarr
Charlie K, Guest Services Manager at Grand Ely Lodge, responded to this review

Dear sndmarr, Thank you so much for taking time to submit your review. It is always good to hear about our guests experiences at the hotel and it sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that you found the room well maintained and quite, and that you had a chance to check out the pool and...

Mason City, Iowa
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Showers are a pain in the butt to use. Bed sheets had obviously not been changed, the bed was only made up from the previous guest. Sinks and whirlpool bath were dirty and the carpet looked like it hadn't seen a vacuum in a month! Overall, definitely not worth over $200 per night and the 7-day cancellation policy is just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peterbQ1300WU
Charlie K, Guest Services Manager at Grand Ely Lodge, responded to this review

Dear peterbQ1300WU, Thank you for your feedback. Your comments are important to us. We obviously have failed to meet your expectations and I am sincerely sorry for that. I will pass your comments on to our General Manager and our housekeeping department for corrective action. Have a great day!

Allison, Iowa
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Beautiful location. Loved the lake view from our room. Staff very accomidating. The only negative was that we left the reception before the dance was over but were unable to sleep until the music ended. Our room was right above the reception hall and it was very loud in our room. The bass almost vibrated our beds.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 939darwinf
Charlie K, Guest Services Manager at Grand Ely Lodge, responded to this review

Dear 939darwinf, Thank you for submitting a review of our hotel. Your comments are greatly appreciated. It is nice to hear that you loved the lake view from your room and that our staff was very accommodating. I am sorry that the music kept you up as your room was located above the wedding event you were attending. We hope...

Metamora, Illinois
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We had a wonderful time in Ely. We enjoyed our accommodations and our sons declared the Grand Ely Lodge as the best hotel they have ever seen. The staff was wonderful. We wish we had time to check out the marina area. Maybe next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ddeeb
Charlie K, Guest Services Manager at Grand Ely Lodge, responded to this review

Dear ddeeb, Thank you very much for submitting your comments on your recent stay with us. We are glad that you had a wonderful time in Ely and that our staff was wonderful as well. It is also nice to hear that we made such a good impression on your sons. We look forward to welcoming you back on your...

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
1:55
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ely hotels
1.4 km away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 8 in Ely
173 reviews
9.5 km away
Moose Track Adventures
15.8 km away
Northern Lights Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Super 8 Ely Minnesota
16.1 km away
Timber Wolf Lodge
Timber Wolf Lodge
#1 of 34 in Ely
175 reviews
1.4 km away
Motel Ely Budget Host
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Grand Ely Lodge

Address: 400 N Pioneer Rd, Ely, MN 55731-1057
Region: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Price Range: $223 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Ely Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Ely Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Ely Hotel Ely
Grand Ely Resort
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Grand Ely Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The 2nd floor was easily accessed from the parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles ppickering, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“avoid rooms that are above the dining patio, you will here people eat when your window is open”
 of 5 bubbles dmz789, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a lakeview room!”
 of 5 bubbles E8VLmichaelh, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Top floor so you don't have anyone above you. Lake view”
 of 5 bubbles 251judib, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“You enter the hotel on the second floor, so the third floor has the best lake views. No need to use the elevators at all.”
 of 5 bubbles Greginthecold, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay