We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

St. James Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
St. James Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

283 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for St. James Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 277: English reviews
Wisconsin, United States
Reviewed 1 November 2016

My husband and I stayed one night at the St. James Hotel in Red Wing. It is definitely a one of a kind hotel. The main level has beautiful rooms to sit in and relax with a cup of coffee or tea in the morning. We had a great breakfast at The Veranda restaurant in the hotel. Our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie E
Marilyne B, Director of Sales at St. James Hotel, responded to this review

Bonnie, It was nice to read your kind words and appreciation for all the historical aspects we try to preserve. We are one of kind and extremely unique. If and when you decide to come back and would like or need a microwave or refrigerator please just let the Front Desk Representative know and we can see to it that...

minnesota
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Spent two nights at the St. James Historic Hotel in Red Wing. We wanted to drive along the Miss River during the day, explore Red Wing and enjoy great meals that we did not have to cook.We picked the perfect place to stay at this historic Hotel. The weather was rainy and cold, so only did a drive along the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Azulann
Marilyne B, Director of Sales at St. James Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, It sounds like you were able to experience all the great and interesting features about the hotel. Lori is truly one of a kind in The Port. Wish the weather was a little better for you guys as the drive on the Great Minnesota and Wisconsin River roads is something to see and experience all in it self. Sounds...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 10 October 2016

My husband and I just returned today from an incredible weekend trip at the St James. This was our first stay here but it will not be our last. We loved the charm and unquieness of each room. Our room was very spacious with two large windows providing expansive views. The bedding was incredible, the robes comfy and the towels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CaboGirl13
Marilyne B, Director of Sales at St. James Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, Loved reading your comments, and will make sure to pass along the special kudos to Lori. Hope you were able to make it to the confectionery to bring some chocolates home with you or able to stop in any of the cute shops in town. We are excited to see you back in the future! Take care, Jackie

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2016

On our way back from the Ryder Cup we stayed one night at the St. James Hotel which is located close to the Mississippi River in Red Wing Minnesota. This is a very nice old hotel in a good location with pleasant rooms and good overall service. Unfortunately for us it was a Sunday and the main restaurant was closed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gundogjh
Marilyne B, Director of Sales at St. James Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for your comments. If and when you do make it back up to Red Wing The Port Restaurant is a fine dining establishment that you will want to try. Not to mention our bartender, Lori Myers makes a wonderful cocktail. Come see us again and take care, Jackie

Ashburn, Virginia
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We stayed at the St. James as part of a family wedding. We arrived a bit early and the hotel graciously accommodated our early arrival so we could relax after our flight. Our room, in the older part of the hotel, was beautiful and well kept. I typically prefer B&Bs for their character, charm and individuality, so I appreciated that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dkapling
Marilyne B, Director of Sales at St. James Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, I enjoyed reading your comments and it sounds like you had a wonderful time. Wedding season is a busy time for us, but glad we were always able to accommodate the large group with ease. I do hope you are able to make it back to the St. James Hotel. We have a plethora of fun and exciting events...

Rockford, IL
Reviewed 10 September 2016

The St. James is a hotel from the 1875's and has the most fascinating history. Walking into the lobby to check-in is just the beginning of a wonderful visual experience. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the beds, linens and pillows very comfy..We ate at the Pub and at the Veranda and loved our food and drinks!!! All staff we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carlsonrn
Marilyne B, Director of Sales at St. James Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, Loved reading your comments and excitement about the hotel. Please come see us again when you can. A lot of fun events and activities are planned for the upcoming holiday season at the hotel and in Red Wing. Not to mention, we have some great holiday specials for our seasonal packages too! Thanks, Jackie

Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

The staff treated us wonderfully. It was a really nice get away from our busy lives. We also appreciated that there was a business center because of course someone needed us. We loved the history and the decor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Portia V
Marilyne B, Director of Sales at St. James Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Portia, Glad to hear you made the trip to Red Wing, MN and the St. James Hotel. We take great pride in restoring the historical features of the hotel and maintaining our uniqueness. Hope to see you back a lot of fun events are scheduled for the fall. Take Care and Thanks for your comments :) Jackie

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 23 August 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 33rd anniversary at the St. James Hotel where we spent our honeymoon! It was just as charming as it was in 1983. The staff was very welcoming and even allowed our little dog. The room was outfitted with antiques and a beautiful view of the Mississippi River. We had a delicious light meal from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
Marilyne B, Director of Sales at St. James Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Jean, Thanks for sharing your experience with us we love hearing stories like yours. It sounds like you were able to get around and enjoy all the festivities from River City Days. Please come back and see us again when you can. We have some fun events coming up in the fall. Thanks, Jackie

Reviewed 22 August 2016

This hotel is so beautiful. This was our 2nd visit. Each time was fabulous, clean rooms and luxurious. Can't wait to go back. I highly recommend taking a trip to the Villa Bellezza Vineyard in Pepin..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathy K
Marilyne B, Director of Sales at St. James Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Cathy, Very cool you got a chance to head over to the Pepin area. So beautiful over there, and Villa Bellezza has such a wonderful vineyard and winery. (We were also excited to hear about their new additional items to their menu from the new re-model they started.) If I can entice you to come see us again we...

Savage, United States
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

My wife and I needed a weekend get away so we went to red wing. The St. James was a great place for us to stay. Relaxing and has a later check out time. Close to everything. Bars and restaurants right in the hotel. Only complaint would be its a little pricey.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lane W
Marilyne B, Director of Sales at St. James Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Lane, Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. Glad to hear you chose us to stay with on your weekend getaway. We are running a awesome promotion right now thru the end of September called the "Guest Appreciation Package." Check it out when you have a second. Love to see you back :) Thanks, Jackie

175 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (13)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Wing
6.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
2.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Rivertown Inn & Suites
1.5 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#5 of 9 in Red Wing
90 reviews
2.2 km away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
289 reviews
23.5 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Port
The Port
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
There are few places as gratifying as the St. James Hotel in Red Wing. From eagle watching to skiing, there’s plenty to do outside. Or if you prefer, there’s really no need to leave the building once you arrive. Fabulous restaurants, an intimate lounge, luxurious rooms and a pampering spa all await you. Book today and let us create a memorable experience for you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about St. James Hotel

Address: 406 Main Street, Red Wing, MN 55066-2325
Region: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Price Range: $147 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. James Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your St. James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from St. James Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from St. James Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“aparently the 3rd floor is where all of the ghost activity occurs”
 of 5 bubbles Z952QCryand, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay on a Monday”
 of 5 bubbles savytraverlor43323, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The St. James has two sections: the 1875 historic section and the newer building. Ask for a room with a view of the Mississippi River.”
 of 5 bubbles Ikebanasuki, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Be sure to be aware of the types of beds, I've not seen a full size bed in years.”
 of 5 bubbles carries484, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Be sure to confirm the room type before you go. may also want to find out when the last remodel was completed.”
 of 5 bubbles MJ9856, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay