We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Booking.comUS$118*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$160*
US$118*
US$160*
US$118*
US$160*
US$118*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

302 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 299: English reviews
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Reviewed 27 May 2015

This hotel does not have a huge list of amenities, but it was clean, the pillows were great! and labeled as 'soft' or 'firm'. This hotel is within walking distance of many historic homes, water's edge of the rive (not sure which) and some great food places, a couple of antique shops and a few bohemian shops plus across the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happinessgolucky
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi happinessgolucky, Thank you for reviewing our property! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed a clean and comfortable stay in your guestroom and were able to take advantage of our excellent location near the Xcel Energy Center! We are sorry if there was an issue in the pool however. As posted, we do not have a lifeguard monitoring it,...

Bainbridge Island WA
Reviewed 21 May 2015 via mobile

It is located in the heart of St. Paul near the XL Center. There are a bunch of bars and restaurants within very easy walking distance, including the Liffey which is their hotel bar and restaurant. The rooms were very modern and very clean. The lighting temperature and beds are all perfect. The only knocks that I have on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kat&John
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Kat&John, Thank you for your review! We're thrilled to be "highly recommended" and are delighted to hear that there was so much to love about your stay! We hope you were able to enjoy our central location in downtown St. Paul and to be able to have a relaxing time in the hotel itself! Please let us know if...

Mineola, New York
Reviewed 18 May 2015

An okay place to stay, but far from a quality city hotel. Clean and spacious rooms, but not high quality at all. Entrances to the lobby are a bit clunky. The one facing the main street requires you to take your luggage up a couple of steps. No ramp. To get to the "taxi-car entrance," you have to be able...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank steve t
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi steve t, Thanks for taking the time to review our property. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your clean and spacious room and overall seem to have had a satisfactory stay. We are sorry if entrances into the hotel were a little confusing however. As you note, we do have a front entrance (right off the street) and...

Menomonie, Wisconsin
Reviewed 16 May 2015 via mobile

I attended a conference here for the entire week. The parking arrangement was ok most of the time but one night there was an event at the Xcel Center which made parking impossible the next day. Parking most days was $4 but the day after the event the parking was $15. The front desk staff were not very helpful with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank benrud3
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi benrud3, Thank you for your review of our conference room. We are glad that you were able to make use of the parking ramp next to the hotel each day, although we apologize that the charge was larger on one day due to the event. The ramp is not owned by the hotel, so unfortunately there is little that...

Midwest
Reviewed 7 May 2015

I've stayed here a couple of times while in town on business. The location is extremely convenient - close to downtown locations, right across the street from Xcel Energy Center/River Centre, and near a number of restaurants. It's an easy 15-minute drive from the St. Paul Downtown Airport. The hotel itself is pretty average - not bad, not great, just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dwg51357
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi dwg51357, Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We're happy to hear that about the many positives of your stay, including the convenience of our excellent central location, our clean and comfortable rooms, and quiet atmosphere of the hotel (even in the midst of busy hockey night). Overall, we're happy to hear that you had a...

Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Reviewed 5 May 2015

I stayed here for a business trip. The accommodations were very comfortable, and the room was nice and clean. Hotel check-in staff was courteous and friendly, and helpful too. I needed to connect to a local bus line, and was provided with easy to follow directions on how to find the bus stop, what to expect for a fare, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chad H
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Chad H, Thank you for your review! We're delighted to hear that you had a great stay and that you'd definitely be back again! We really appreciate your kind comments regarding our clean and comfortable accommodations, friendly and helpful staff, and our attached restaurant, The Liffey! We'll look forward to seeing you the next time you're in town!

Maple Grove, Minnesota
Reviewed 28 April 2015

One of the worst hotel experiences I've had. First this area of St. Paul is not where you want to try and sleep. You're surrounded by bars and this hotel had people coming in and out all hours of the night, many were not even guests. The walls might as well have been made of paper with all the noise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simo0381
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi simo0381, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We're sorry to hear that your stay fell below your and our expectations. Our hotel is conveniently located across from the Xcel Energy Center and within easy walking distance of numerous pubs and grilles as well as other area attractions. This can lead to the area being busy...

Grants Pass, Oregon
Reviewed 28 April 2015

This a great place if you are going to the Excel center. It is a typical Holiday Inn with a fridge and microwave in the room. The room was l clean and well appointed but nothing special. You have to pay extra for parking and there is no breakfast but there is coffee in the lobby.We wouldn't stay here for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flosser201
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi flosser201, Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We're happy to hear that you appreciated our excellent location across from the Xcel Energy Center and near various other local attractions, including the Rivercentre, Science Museum, and Children's Museum, not to mention the eight different restaurants within two blocks of the hotel. We also are glad to...

winnipeg
Reviewed 19 April 2015

The hotel was perfectly located across the street from Xcel Energy Center. We were there for Jets vs. Wild game. The room was spacious and clean. Staff was friendly. The Liffey Pub was great fun and full of both team's fans and served up a very good burger. Was a bit overpriced but the convenience factor was the deciding factor....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ilovevacationsalot
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi ilovevacationsalot, Thank you for your review! We hope that you had a great time at the game, and we're glad to hear that you had a great time here! We'll hope to see you down here again for a playoff game soon, and we know The Liffey will look forward to having you back too! Thank you again for...

Ogema, MN
Reviewed 13 April 2015

We wanted something close to the Xcel center, and this was perfect for that. However, we also wanted something with a pool that our 4 & 7 year old sons could enjoy. This pool area is VERY small. There is only room for one full size table along the perimeter. There were about 15 kids and 4 adults in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne-MaryeH
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Anne-Marye, Thank you for your review! We're really happy to hear that your overall stay was good and that you appreciated our great location near the Xcel Energy Center. We are sorry that the pool was so busy though, and we hope that your boys were able to enjoy some time in there anyway. It can be a very...

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
1.3 km away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#2 of 16 in Saint Paul
699 reviews
0.8 km away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
0.8 km away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#4 of 16 in Saint Paul
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover all that downtown St. Paul has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). You are in the heart of everything, business, entertainment, dining, and the arts. If you are attending a hockey game, concert or convention, you are across the street from Xcel Energy Center and The RiverCentre Convention Center. If you are visiting St. Paul on business, then you will appreciate staying within 4 blocks of Travelers, Lawson Software, Ecolab, Qwest and many more companies. Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport, 3M's World Headquarters and the Mall of America are only minutes away. . If you are planning a family vacation, then you should stay just steps from the Science Museum of Minnesota and a short walk to the Minnesota History Center, Minnesota Children s Museum and the Ordway Center for the Performing Arts.If you want friendly, responsive service from people who care about you and appreciate your business, then you need to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). And while you re here be sure to visit St. Paul s only authentic Irish Pub, The Liffey located in our hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Address: 175 W 7th St, Saint Paul, MN 55102
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Price Range: $198 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown Hotel Saint Paul
Holiday Inn Saint Paul
Saint Paul Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper floors, 5+ have better views if room on the north”
815maryi, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“the upper floors are quieter”
davel216, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Had a room that had a view of the parking lot. Not the best but not horrible.”
TracyOlsonB, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Close to the Xcel Energy Centre in St. Paul.”
kathleenhoverter, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't get a room close to the elevators. We found this noisy.”
TamaraB307, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$118* /night
View Deal
HolidayInn.comUS$118
Hotwire.comUS$118
TripAdvisorUS$118
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates