We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

768 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 757: English reviews
Start your review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
 Click to rate
Honesdale PA
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Average accommodation, mediocre and fairly overpriced food, staff did not really seem to want to engage with guests. Nothing to write home about. Conveniently located downtown. Seems older; there were no signs for the pool and health club in the elevator and no indication of where one might eat.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rmdibble
St Louis Missouri
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Recently visited this hotel as part of a wedding party. The hotel was very accommodating. We arrived at 11 and was able to get into the room early even though check was 3p.m. Given hot cookies also. We found the staff pleasant. The hotel well kept. Rooms were nicely decorated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BJStravels
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Taylor D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us, as well as for your wonderful compliments! I hope you were able to relax a little before the big event. Thanks again; we hope to welcome you back in the future!

Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Had a business meeting over the weekend downtown St. Paul. Stayed at the Doubletree and had a very nice experience. We had a upgraded room with expansive view and spacious bathroom. As a diamond member I was offered free breakfast at the hotel restaurant. really appreciate that we were allowed to eat off the entire buffet which offered full hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara_RochMN
Olympia, Washington
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel ten times in the last four months. I could have tried other hotels, but I really loved the staff and looked forward to seeing them. I always knew that I would be well cared for and if I had any issue they would go to the Nth degree to ensure it was corrected beyond my...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank H3idiHo
Barnum, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

The experience from the moment I arrived at the curb throughout my stay was warm, gracious and highly professional. My bar and dining experience were timely and comfortable. The wait staff was helpful and friendly. My breakfast was delivered to my room, on time and is was well prepared. During my check out the staff worked to assist with the...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindarM6769IC
Taylor D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Wow, what fantastic feedback! It's wonderful to hear that you had such an exceptional stay. We certainly strive to provide all of our guests with the highest quality of customer service. If your travels bring you back to this area, we hope to welcome you back to our property. Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments, and for...

Ellendale, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Always stay here when attending the Wild game. Friendly staff, good service and like the shuttle. A bit disappointed on last stay, room could use some updating and the beds were full size, too small for 2 adults.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tsetravel
Taylor D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and some feedback. We are starting the process of some renovations, so you can look forward to some updated fabrics and linens in your upcoming visits. Thanks for your customer loyalty - we're very grateful for your business.

Willmar, Minnesota
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good place to stay, near MN Wild, good price. Still have to pay $15 for parking, they should validate parking!!! Clean rooms. Restaurant was terrible, poor service! No free breakfast. Overall, would return!

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank heatherhN3442VW
Taylor D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, Heather, and for choosing to stay with us. We are definitely striving to hire additional staff in our restaurant so that we can accommodate are busy game nights. Unfortunately, we cannot validate parking, as we do not own the ramp. Thanks again for your comments, and we hope to welcome you...

Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My preference when I'm staying in St. Paul is Intercontinental due to food, location and usually price. However, when not available, I've found DoubleTree to be a solid second choice. I think it's overpriced usually, but the rooms are big and pretty nice. I love having a fridge and microwave in the room. The hotel shows its age in spots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abby S
Taylor D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Abby, Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time to leave a comprehensive review. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we will definitely take your comments to heart. We will be updating our rooms this spring with new fabrics and linens, so that will be something to watch out for. I...

Hayward, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed in several hotels in St Paul. This place rates right up there. The rooms are great and the staff are wonderful. The hotel is located in the downtown area convenient to everything including the light rail.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dayle Q
Taylor D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words, Dayle! Our staff always strive to make every guest happy. As you said, we are located downtown near many restaurants, transit, and connections to the skyway. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Marshfield, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good value for the money. Access to the skywalk is positive. Restaurant had decent food and service when we ate lunch there. Rooms were clean and spacious, bathroom was clean. Nothing broke or in disrepair. Parking in the ramp next door with unlimited in/out privileges was helpful.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
Taylor D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to give us your compliments! I'm so happy to hear that you had a great stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.5 km away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.3 km away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#3 of 16 in Saint Paul
362 reviews
0.4 km away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#2 of 16 in Saint Paul
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#9 of 16 in Saint Paul
297 reviews
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.4 km away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Paul Downtown offers guests comfortable accommodations in a convenient location in the heart of St. Paul’s entertainment and business district and skyway connected to many state, federal and corporate offices as well as great shopping and dining outlets. Each guest room in our St. Paul hotel includes a microwave and refrigerator for you convenience plus complimentary wireless for you to stay connected while away. Relax in the indoor heated pool or keep up with your exercise routine in the modern fitness center. Check out nearby attractions like the top-rated Minnesota Children’s Museum or Minnesota Science Museum. Visit us and enjoy The DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown and a memorable trip to the Twin Cities! ... more   less 

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Address: 411 Minnesota Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Price Range: $167 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Hotel Saint Paul
Hilton Garden Inn Saint Paul
Hilton Saint Paul
Saint Paul Hilton
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Paul
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Paul
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Orlando, Florida
over a year ago
Des Moines, Iowa

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on the 16th floor”
 of 5 bubbles BJStravels, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Turn off the thermostat and open the windows if room is too hot during the winter”
 of 5 bubbles Travels4work86, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go to Candyland! It's a classic handmade candy shop you just don't see anymore.”
 of 5 bubbles sansovino2, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms facing the atrium as it can be noisy sometimes in the atrium”
 of 5 bubbles JanaR807, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our room on top floor didn't really have a good view”
 of 5 bubbles angelacK9954FY, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5