We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Spicer Castle Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Spicer Castle Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Spicer Castle Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 106: English reviews
Minneapolis
Reviewed 1 July 2016

My boyfriend and I have been here twice already in less than 6 months. We have stayed in 2 of the cabins because we like our privacy, have not and probably will not stay in the main inn. The cozy little space without TV is perfect if you are looking for some one on one time Get up early and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bms1310
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our Inn. We are looking forward to your return visit in the fall when the air is crisp and the colors are beautiful.

eden prairie
Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile

We went to Spicer for our anniversary. We also were drawn to the idea of the murder mystery dinner. We stayed in one of side by side "duplex style " rooms. I forget what the name of the room was. It was nice but cozy. I could not use the bathroom and close the door, there was just no room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ceslaton77
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our historic property. We are looking forward to your return visit in one of our private cabins to celebrate your anniversary.

Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

My husband and I visited in January for a little winter getaway. We stayed in Raymond's Cabin and it was during the middle of the week so we were the only ones staying on the property at the time. It was January so that didn't surprise us especially since we came during the week not weekend. We choose to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndreaBradH
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our Inn. We apologize for the condition of the shower in Raymond's Cabin, it is scheduled to be replaced. We appreciate your comments regarding the restaurant closing early during the week in the winter. Our kitchen manager informed us that in the future the restaurant will...

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 13 March 2016

The room was small and cozy. We had the same breakfast both days. It was an egg soufflé. While a little variety would have been good, it was delicious. We were there in early March, from Monday to Wednesday, so there was not a lot of things going on. Spicer had a great antique store to browse in and Willmar...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pmhhander
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of your stay at our Inn. We look forward to your return visit.

Sauk Rapids, Minnesota
Reviewed 18 January 2016

MY best friend booked a room for her and I for a relaxing getaway a month and a half before my baby, Wyatt, was due. The staff was super friendly. The room was small but vintage, cute, and relaxing. It's right on the lake so it was nice view from the big window in the "tea room". We also took...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lacielynn
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review of your stay at our Inn. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your relaxing getaway before your son, Wyatt was due. Again, thank you and congratulation's on your new arrival.

Park Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed 2 January 2016

Raymond's Cabin was rustic and cozy. Everyone was so friendly and worked hard to make this a pleasant experience. The facility is showing its age but that is part of the character of the facility. It is about the experience. Besides the Castle having great food. The American Legion a short distance away also had great food too. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Treeguyus
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review of our historic property. I will pass on your comments to our staff, it will brighten their day. I look forward to your return visit. Again, thank you for your review.

North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 December 2015

This was a dismal stay at best. Will never go back and would never advise anyone to go. Just awful. The room was shabby, smelled bad and was not clean. The tub had hair in it and the toilet was not clean. Dinner was terrible and the murder mystery was poorly done. Regret the drive and the money I spent.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leslie P
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Regarding your post, we are truly sorry that you had a negative experience at our bed and breakfast inn. We wish that you had informed us while you were here so that we could have done something to correct the problem. We are a small family business and take pride in what we do. Thank you for your comments as...

Reviewed 10 November 2015

I wanted to surprise my wife with something romantic and special for our 1 year anniversary, so I booked one night at the Spicer Castle Inn. Glad I did, because my wife LOVED it! I had read reviews prior to booking -- some were great, others were horrible. I do not see why a horrible review would ever be written...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scottannieb
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind post. We are delighted that you enjoyed your getaway to our historic inn. We look forward to welcoming you to our Inn for a return visit.

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 7 November 2015

I traveled with my wife to Spicer Castle earlier this year. It was a fine experience because I knew this was an old B&B, but this place needs basic repairs very vaery badly. The screen door holes were patched with kleenex tissues, broken glass windows were ghetto rigged with packing tape, the stairs to the front door just needs to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We have started our fall maintenance and your comments will greatly assist our staff to repair the items you have mentioned. Again, thank you for your post.

Eagan, Minnesota, United States
Reviewed 28 October 2015

We spent two nights here mid October to celebrate our fourth anniversary. It was just what we were looking for. A cozy getaway in Mary's room. There's good hiking and biking very close and good places to eat if you don't mind driving plus the restaurant at the Castle. Would definitely go back to the peace and quiet of Spicer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hope t
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you for your return visit to our Historic Inn for a relaxing getaway.

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
1:58
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spicer
15.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Willmar
15.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Willmar
15.7 km away
AmericInn Willmar
AmericInn Willmar
#4 of 8 in Willmar
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Willmar
19.7 km away
Paynesville Inn & Suites
Paynesville Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Paynesville
97 reviews
15.5 km away
Days Inn Willmar
Days Inn Willmar
#5 of 8 in Willmar
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Spicer Castle Inn, circa 1895, is located on five wooded acres along the beautiful shores of Green Lake. There are 18 guestrooms, private cabins. Enjoy central Minnesota's lake region. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Spicer Castle Inn

Address: 11600 Indian Beach Rd, PO Box 307, Spicer, MN 56288-8626
Region: United States > Minnesota > Spicer
Price Range: $148 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spicer Castle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Spicer Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicer Castle Hotel Spicer
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Spicer Castle Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“look at the online pictures”
 of 5 bubbles JillyBean210, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Eunice's Room has a cool hanging bed.”
 of 5 bubbles 356BrianH, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I will be staying in the log cabin on the property next time! It was simply gorgeous.”
 of 5 bubbles jherold05, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Each room has it's own charm - whether it was lakeside or garden view.”
 of 5 bubbles vickarita2016, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a lake view room”
 of 5 bubbles 356lizf, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay