We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Spicer Castle Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Spicer Castle Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Spicer Castle Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 111: English reviews
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

There is nothing I can say about this place that would include "Castle" the house was dirty, musty and really run down. The website for this inn is nothing that it appears to be in person. The website is extremely misleading. We didn't like our room so asked for the cottage outside. We were informed the cottage was available but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taunee T
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Greetings from Spicer Castle Inn! Thank you for letting us know about your experience at our B&B. We are sorry and want to apologize for the unacceptable service you and experienced at our Inn. I will pass your comments on to the proprietor for his review. I regret that you did not find our Inn acceptable for your getaway. I...

Minnesota
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

I came up to the castle with my sisters and my mother as a surprise for mom's birthday. The rooms were tiny, and the bathtub was dirty (it had some gross brown stains on it and hairs stuck everywhere) so we actually just opted not to shower at all this weekend. The dock was broken and swamped. We had to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ande8477
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Greetings from Spicer Castle Inn! Thank you for letting us know about your experience at our B&B. We are sorry and want to apologize for the unacceptable service you and your guests experienced at our Inn. Words cannot express how truly sorry we are for the poor service and the staff along with the lodging accommodations that resulted in your...

Savage, Maryland
Reviewed 29 July 2016

This is a charming Victorian-style hotel with stunning views of Green Lake, especially at sunset. Rooms are beautifully decorated, and air-conditioned. I was also provided with a fan on request. There are larger rooms and smaller rooms, all on second floor -- no elevator. Most rooms in the main building have a free-standing tub with a shower enclosure. The bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 356lizf
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of your stay at our Historic Inn. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Spicer Castle.

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2016

This is a charming Victorian-style hotel with stunning views of Green Lake, especially at sunset. Rooms are beautifully decorated, and air-conditioned. I was also provided with a fan on request. There are larger rooms and smaller rooms, all on second floor -- no elevator. Most rooms in the main building have a free-standing tub with a shower enclosure. The bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GRpep
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of your stay at our Historic Inn. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Spicer Castle.

California
Reviewed 26 July 2016

This was my third visit and second stay at the Spicer Castle. It is truly like stepping back in time when you enter the Castle. Each of the rooms is unique and named after family members/descendants of the original Spicer Family. On this visit I stayed in the quaint & comfy upstairs Frances' room. The room is spacious and comfortably...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cvanvugt
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of your return stay at our Historic Inn. We are delighted that you enjoyed your getaway at Spicer Castle. We look forward to your return visit.

Minneapolis
Reviewed 1 July 2016

My boyfriend and I have been here twice already in less than 6 months. We have stayed in 2 of the cabins because we like our privacy, have not and probably will not stay in the main inn. The cozy little space without TV is perfect if you are looking for some one on one time Get up early and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bms1310
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our Inn. We are looking forward to your return visit in the fall when the air is crisp and the colors are beautiful.

eden prairie
Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile

We went to Spicer for our anniversary. We also were drawn to the idea of the murder mystery dinner. We stayed in one of side by side "duplex style " rooms. I forget what the name of the room was. It was nice but cozy. I could not use the bathroom and close the door, there was just no room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ceslaton77
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our historic property. We are looking forward to your return visit in one of our private cabins to celebrate your anniversary.

Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

My husband and I visited in January for a little winter getaway. We stayed in Raymond's Cabin and it was during the middle of the week so we were the only ones staying on the property at the time. It was January so that didn't surprise us especially since we came during the week not weekend. We choose to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndreaBradH
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our Inn. We apologize for the condition of the shower in Raymond's Cabin, it is scheduled to be replaced. We appreciate your comments regarding the restaurant closing early during the week in the winter. Our kitchen manager informed us that in the future the restaurant will...

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 13 March 2016

The room was small and cozy. We had the same breakfast both days. It was an egg soufflé. While a little variety would have been good, it was delicious. We were there in early March, from Monday to Wednesday, so there was not a lot of things going on. Spicer had a great antique store to browse in and Willmar...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pmhhander
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of your stay at our Inn. We look forward to your return visit.

Sauk Rapids, Minnesota
Reviewed 18 January 2016

MY best friend booked a room for her and I for a relaxing getaway a month and a half before my baby, Wyatt, was due. The staff was super friendly. The room was small but vintage, cute, and relaxing. It's right on the lake so it was nice view from the big window in the "tea room". We also took...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lacielynn
Manager86, Manager at Spicer Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review of your stay at our Inn. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your relaxing getaway before your son, Wyatt was due. Again, thank you and congratulation's on your new arrival.

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
1:58
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spicer
15.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Willmar
19.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Willmar
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Spicer Castle Inn, circa 1895, is located on five wooded acres along the beautiful shores of Green Lake. There are 18 guestrooms, private cabins. Enjoy central Minnesota's lake region. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Spicer Castle Inn

Address: 11600 Indian Beach Rd, PO Box 307, Spicer, MN 56288-8626
Region: United States > Minnesota > Spicer
Price Range: $149 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spicer Castle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Spicer Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicer Castle Hotel Spicer
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Spicer Castle Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“try the swinging bedroom!”
 of 5 bubbles minwewebinesiikwe, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“look at the online pictures”
 of 5 bubbles JillyBean210, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Eunice's Room has a cool hanging bed.”
 of 5 bubbles 356BrianH, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I will be staying in the log cabin on the property next time! It was simply gorgeous.”
 of 5 bubbles jherold05, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Each room has it's own charm - whether it was lakeside or garden view.”
 of 5 bubbles vickarita2016, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay