We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Water Street Inn

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Water Street Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

312 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Water Street Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 311: English reviews
Alexandria, Minnesota
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We loved the room decor and size. We stayed on a Wednesday night only to find that the garbage service date for Water Street was 5:19 A.M. on Thursday. For more than 20 minutes we listened to the garbage truck pickup dumpsters and slam them around. Add that to the horrible bed and sleep eluded us. The staff should have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bryan B
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. We appreciate your comments and business and hope to see you again in the future.

Evansville, Minnesota
Reviewed 2 September 2013

do not bother getting the birthday pkg. I was disappointed in the room we were given,wallpaper was loose in the corner, tub was in the bathroom, not in the same room as the bed, like the website showed. balcony very narrow, so we asked if there was a room facing the river available, they were very gracious, and switched us....

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Debbie S
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and your review. I will speak with our restaurant manager to address your concerns. Thank you and we hope to see you again in the future.

New Richmond, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewed 27 August 2013

For my bachelorette party, the girls and I decide to splurge and get a hotel room downtown. We were out late and when we came into the room it was HOT! I called and they gave us two fans.. needless to say we did not sleep well in this HOT room. and then next day when telling the front desk...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Christy C
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again in the future!

Stillwater, Oklahoma
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Traveled here as a nice place to stay before leaving on our honeymoon. It was quite a disappointment. The biggest issue was the terrible quality of the bed. It was near impossible to sleep in. There are floors that are more comfortable! The decor is an attempt at luxurious. However, it qualifies as gloomy or cave-like. Further, there were a...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank meanderer997
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear about your stay with us. We strive to exceed our guest's expectations and hope to see you again in the future.

Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The hotel staff was excellent and very friendly. If you are looking for a nice place in Stillwater this is your place. The rooms are very stylish and very large and comfortable. The beds are a bit soft but still provided a good nights sleep.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kevin H
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

The location is fantastic right next to the river. The room was large. The shower was small. No countertop to put your toiletries on. The food served at breakfast was wonderful. We sat outside, under the covered porch, and watched the up and down bridge on the river. Very relaxing and romantic stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 2TravelingLovers
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback and review. We are so glad that your stay was enjoyable and hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 31 July 2013

Paid way too much money for this room. Decorating was very inferior, no glasses I'm the room, comforter on bed was lumpy and linens inferior for the price of the room. No ice bucket, coffee pot or nice bath supplies you would expect. Room was warm when we arrived and noisy. Watersreet view was of the delivery truck early the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mraebird
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not as enjoyable as you had hoped. We have addressed your concerns with our staff and management to ensure a better future product and value to our guests. Thank you very much for your business and we hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 13 July 2013

My husband and I booked a room at the Water Street Inn because we were in Stillwater for a wedding that was taking place there. We chose this because of the convenience of being right there already and the lack of other options in the area. When we entered our room we were very disappointed. Most notocable at first sight-...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jasminefleur
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am addressing your concerns with our staff and property to ensure a better experience in the future for our guests.

Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The Water Street Inn has a good reputation and I had always wanted to stay here. My husband does not especially like the personal nature of bed and breakfasts, but I like the charm. I thought this would be a good compromise. The location, view, and size of the rooms is excellent, but the upkeep leaves something to be desired....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank StarMom2
101water, General Manager at Water Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. I am very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations with your recent stay. I am addressing your concerns with our property and working to ensure that your next stay will be excellent!

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 2 July 2013

So, nothing earth shattering here. There are not a lot of options right in Stillwater to choose from (we don't do B&Bs). Instead of waxing on like others, I will point out a few specifics that I didn't see in the other reviews and possibly some repeated notes. Had room 310 facing the river - the balcony is small but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ckccan

113 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillwater
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Stillwater
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Saint Paul Hotel
#2 of 16 in Saint Paul
686 reviews
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Historic Water Street Inn in the heart of Downtown Stillwater. All guestrooms with double whirlpools, most with fireplaces and balconies overlooking the River. Restaurant with indoor & outdoor seating, Irish Pub overlooking the river, meeting, banquet and wedding facilities for 2 to 300 people. Stillwater’s only Inn on the River. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Water Street Inn

Address: 101 Water Street South, Stillwater, MN 55082
Region: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Price Range: $190 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Water Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water Street Hotel Stillwater
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Water Street Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Water Street Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“river side!”
 of 5 bubbles MNTraveler838, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Half of the rooms overlook the river. Those in the newer section of the hotel have balconies. Be sure to ask.”
 of 5 bubbles bilavon1, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Chester A Arthur Suite, river and lift bridge view!”
  • Chester A Arthur Suite
 of 5 bubbles ashleyv804, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We had a corner room with a balcony and big windows with views of the river and the historic downtown.”
 of 5 bubbles comtnfun, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“pick a suite ovelooking the rvier”
 of 5 bubbles ronnif2014, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5