We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club
See the most recent reviews
Showing 153: English reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

Attended a function for employees and people involved with a local business. The welcome from the front of house staff was exemplary. The meal for 60 was served with professionalism. Trethorne provided an excellent DJ who was not at all over the top. The food was seasonal but garnished with clever touches. Organisation of the carvery serving was efficient with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reawla
JonGrainger, Owner at Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments. December has become a very busy and important month for us with Christmas activities, so it is encouraging that we are doing ok! With so many people coming through the door eating and drinking, it is sometimes a challenge to find the personal touch, so your comments regarding our staff are really...

Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

Came down for a wedding in launceston and stopped here for 2 nights. The room we stayed in was a lovely large room with comfy beds. The only thing that let it down was that the cleaning needs to be improved. Other than that it is a nice place to stay for a couple of nights. And the staff on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sallylout01
JonGrainger, Owner at Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our team friendly and helpful, and the hotel room and beds comfortable. I am only sorry that you did not find the cleaning standards to be good enough. This is such an important element of what we do and I will pass your...

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2015

Where to start.............. The good bits The staff are very friendly and helpful. The restaurant is OK with a wide choice to suite most tastes with reasonable prices. Sadly the not so good bits I was given a room in the cottages at the entrance to the golf course - don't accept these rooms unless you enjoy sleeping in dirty,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neil7545
JonGrainger, Owner at Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive comments. We are naturally extremely disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and will do all we can to rectify the issues that you have raised. We are pleased that you found our staff friendly and helpful, it is something that we pride ourselves on. However, we cannot rely upon this alone....

Hockley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2015

We have just returned from a four day break at Trethorne. We were not expecting too much and as long as it was clean we would have been happy. However, we were pleasantly surprised. The initial booking was handled extremely efficiently and when we arrived the reception staff were great and could not have been more helpful. In fact throughout...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gill P
JonGrainger, Owner at Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind and genuine review. We are all delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us - your positive feedback makes all the hard work worthwhile! We do hope that you can visit us again in the future.

Swansea
Reviewed 24 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed at Trethorne golf hotel on Monday 20th July for work as our usual hotel in Boscastle was fully booked. The rooms are certainly large enough, and although they are decent they could do with a bit of a make over. I stayed in room 12. The seals and fittings in the toilet were dirty and coming away from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SwanseaFoody
JonGrainger, Owner at Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us some constructive feedback. Clearly, our aim is to achieve good to excellent on all of our customer reviews, however, it is just as important that we understand the areas that we need to improve upon. The showers are gravity fed via roof tanks and generally work well, however, we will check...

Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

Thoroughly impressed at the whole set up right from the initial phone enquiry to being introduced and invited to join a group of members and the excellent condition of the course. Very good greens too so well done to the ground staff too. Would go back next time I am in Cornwall and would recommend to other golfers. Thanks for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David B
JonGrainger, Owner at Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed your game of golf and our friendly hospitality. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

Had a lovely stay & great breakfast too. A minor issue with our room was dealt with expediently, professionally. Their response was friendly & exceeded our expectation. Will definitely visit again. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank johnnog1972
JonGrainger, Owner at Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review

That is lovely feedback, thank you! Yes, we are aware that in any hospitality business things can go wrong, however, the important part is how you put it right. I am delighted that you left our hotel with a positive impression and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2015

My husband and I travel Launceston several times a year to visit my elderly aunt and take her out for lunch. We last visited on 8th July when we found a large function was on (a Golfing one actually!!) and the club was very busy. Nevertheless we were able to have a table for lunch much to Aunty's delight -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ruth L
JonGrainger, Owner at Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments. Our Head Chef, Peter Blake, and his team work very hard to deliver good quality, home cooked food. All of our ingredients, wherever possible, are sourced from local Cornish and Devon suppliers. Our objective is to create wholesome and creative dishes for a wide ranging audience, which is not always easy! We...

Reviewed 24 June 2015

Great location for Business when working covering Cornwall & Devon. The rooms are great for space and very clean. Food was excellent, the best deal is to take the BB& Evening Meal option, ALTHOUGH after the cooked breakfast having three courses at night is a push. Staff that serve are friendly and the course looks good. I would definitely recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Slipperyjim1
JonGrainger, Owner at Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We have increased the number of business travellers over the past few years, and the introduction of wi-fi, early and late check-outs have been important additions. We are delighted that you enjoyed the food, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Christchurch, NZ
Reviewed 9 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed here one night with a group cycling the length of the UK. Bedroom was large, with windows that open wide, and a view. What more could you want? Oh yes, a large comfortable bed and it had that too. Wifi good, and breakfast one of the best. Loved it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jones499
JonGrainger, Owner at Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind and generous feedback. We do actively promote our facilities and hotel for cycling groups as we are perfectly positioned for the first (or last) overnight stop on the LEJOG route! I am delighted that you found our hospitality to your liking. Good luck with the rest of your ride - it get easier...

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennards House
28.0 km away
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
10.0 km away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
458 reviews
17.3 km away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Lifton Hall Hotel
Lifton Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
300 reviews
19.3 km away
Bowood Park Hotel & Golf Club
7.0 km away
Newmoor Park
Newmoor Park
#1 of 24 in Launceston
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in the beautiful Cornish countryside, Trethorne offers the perfect blend of a picturesque and accessible location just off the the A30. Famous for their warm,friendly hospitality and hearty, home-cooked food, the Hotel offers guests warm, well proportioned accommodation with en-suite bathrooms, TV and Tea/coffee making facilities, Pets are welcome too and stay Free of Charge. Free WiFi is available at the clubhouse and a Private Conference and Banqueting suite offers a light and contemporary ambiance for your event or special occasion and is also licensed for Civil Weddings.The Eden Project, Dartmoor National Park and the fantastic North Cornwall surf are just 30 minutes away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club

Address: Kennards House | Launceston, Kennards House, Launceston PL15 8QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Launceston > Kennards House
Price Range: $142 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“main block next to reception if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles 717WilliamT, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the main building. Better room, and quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles thebeardedwonder, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No noise at all a real quiet location overlooking the golf driving range.”
 of 5 bubbles GrendonUnderwood, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Wi-Fi reception a bit variable in the annexe buildings, but OK in the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Geoff445, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Did not stay there only went for family function”
 of 5 bubbles stephenoasisg3, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5