We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Chequers Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Chequers Inn
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

249 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Chequers Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 249: English reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2016

After an exhilarating walk along Curbar Edge we called in here for a drink. The question we asked ourselves was why have we never been before now?! We ordered a bottle of delicious New Zealand Sauvgnion blanc which was well worth every penny and after the warm welcome we received decided to eat. We were not disappointed! I had the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan0527
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the 5 start review Susan0527. Really pleased you enjoyed your visit, and thank you for singling out Debbie for special mention! Hope to welcome you back soon.

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2016

We visited Sunday evening as part of a short anniversary break in Derbyshire. Booked this restaurant based on a number of excellent Trip Advisor reviews. We were placed on table 13 in the corner of the dining area, which was nice an intimate. Unfortunately there was a lot of damp on the back wall (we appreciate it is an old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit. Apologies if you were not completely happy with every aspect of your visit, but thank you for being constructive.

Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

Best food I've had in a long time. Dined Friday night and it was the best cooked lamb I've ever had. Well done chef. As for the team front of house so lovely the manager was around all the time and smiling away they all gave 110% to their customers a joy to watch. Well done to you all well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vickel80
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Well thank you very much for your 5 Star review! Really pleased you enjoyed what we do. Our staff work very hard to ensure guests are happy. Hope to welcome you back soon!

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

We were out for the afternoon and called in not knowing the area, sorry we did now. Wanted just a couple of side orders of chips but were told in short shrift that they were only available with a main course and they had crisps behind the bar instead, the place was empty and though they may have been prepping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dylan J
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Unfortunately it seems that you may have chosen the wrong place for what you were looking for. We are happy to serve homemade chips as an accompaniment to a main meal, but we do not serve bowls of chips on there own. We do offer quality Pipers crisps , olives and home roasted nuts for guests not wanting to dine....

Cambridgeshire
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Positives: Views, walks, bar/restaurant, local attractions. Negatives: Traffic noise, traffic noise, traffic noise, cheap mattress, traffic noise, tiny window for ventilation, traffic noise threadbare carpet on stairs and landing. Remedy: Triple glazing, air conditioning, new mattress, new carpet. Simples................

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AdTheLad
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The Chequers was built as a roadside coaching inn back in the 16th century, so there is unfortunately nothing we can do about our location. All our front facing rooms have secondary double glazing fitted to eliminate traffic noise as mush as possible, but we understand that this time of year guests may choose to...

Dronfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Decided to visit as we've not been here for ages. We all just had main courses. Not one to visit with kids, they didn't have a kids menu & could only do a small fish & chips or roast pork, so hardly any choice for them!! We thought that for the price the portions were small. Didn't enjoy the gammon,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks Claire for taking the time to review your recent visit. We don't actively seek out the childrens market, so dont have a designated childrens menu. We can however offer some of our more straightforward dishes as smaller portions, including roasts on a sunday. Sorry you didnt enjoy our gammon. As the menu says, it has a honey glaze,...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

What a find. Never have we eaten such delicious food. The pub has a lovely atmosphere, not too big, very friendly staff. A quaint typical English country pub with exquisite food. Well situated for Bakewell, a beautiful village, well worth a visit, and Chatsworth house - amazing grounds and gardens. We had a discounted entry ticket from the Chequers for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gill R
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the great 5 star review Gill. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay.

LA, California
Reviewed 20 June 2016

A comfortable and quiet room, friendly welcome, and outstanding dinner and breakfast, and at a package price that is unbeatable (must book directly with the Inn). The Chequers Inn stands out in an area with lots of inns and bed & breakfasts.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hypefreetravel
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments. You are right, the best rates are to be had by calling us directly! Hope to be able to welcome you back again some time.

Retford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2016

We wanted a relaxing stay in Derbyshire and came across the Chequers Inn. We had a wonderful stay. Friendly staff, great service. Room was clean, modern and comfortable. We took advantage of the Dinner, Bed and Breakfast deal and were not disappointed. The meal was delicious. My wife had the vegetarian gnocchi and I had the Fish and Chips. Desserts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adz104
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5 star review..really pleased you were happy with your stay.

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

Wow! What joy to find such a fantastic place to stay. The welcome, from all the staff, was outstanding. Lovely to find an independent establishment doing so well. We had an early dinner. The food was outstanding and great value for money. Excellent wines and ever. The rooms are very comfortable. Even though we were there on a rare summer's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RuscombeSP
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Very kind comments indeed RuscombeSP! Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to welcome you back soon.

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Froggatt
0.0 km away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
352 reviews
0.0 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
363 reviews
0.0 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.0 km away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
0.0 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Chequers Inn

Address: Froggatt Edge, Froggatt, Peak District National Park S32 3ZJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Froggatt
Price Range: $106 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chequers Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Chequers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chequers Hotel Hope Valley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Chequers Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Chequers Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“phone the inn before booking to ask more about the rooms”
 of 5 bubbles jimjam7, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Superior double is lovely and at the back of the hotels nice and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Nikki24601, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms appear to face on to the main road should not be much between them”
 of 5 bubbles rasenite, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere, in regard to WiFi it is free but so slow that most downloads abort.”
 of 5 bubbles Robbiejo4866, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“didn't stay in the rooms, just went for lunch”
 of 5 bubbles quiltinggirls, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5