We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cedar House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cedar House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

254 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cedar House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 253: English reviews
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2016

a very warm welcome from Mel and the house just so outstanding ,lovely setting , room was exceptionally nice views stunning and breakfast lovely what more to say would thoughroughly recommend would return x

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kateandperry2015
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2016

Hi , wife and I stayed two nights , we wish we could have stayed more . Mel is 1st class at running a Bed and Breakfast , very good Breakfast and the house is spotless , also the views and the garden is very nice, would not give it a second thought to book again if we are down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank colin w
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2016

Just returned from a 3 night break at cedar house and was very impressed with the whole package . rooms were spotless and very well equipped and comfortable, food was excellent and the hosts Mel and Rick were very friendly and attentive . thank you for a lovely stay, look forward to returning soon

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patricia b
Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile

Lovely setting, peaceful and scenic. Mel was the perfect hostess, very friendly and attention was payed to every little detail. The food was excellent, the rooms were spotlessly clean and the beds were turned down each night. We would highly recommend this B& B. Thank you for a lovely stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Optimi
Willenhall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2016

my husband and I have just come back from a 2 night break at Cedar House, We cannot find any fault with it, the people Mel and Rick were great, the breakfasts were lovely and the rooms were spotless 10 out of 10

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank charli683
London
Reviewed 14 February 2016

I should note that I didn't actually get as far as booking a weekend at this B and B as I was just very rudely spoken to on the phone when ringing up to check availability. I'm assuming it was Rick, the owner's husband who answered. Before I'd even stated what days I wanted to check availability for, he condescendingly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Islandhopper2London
Mel M, Owner at Cedar House, responded to this review

Please accept our sincere apologies for the way you feel you were treated, by us, when you contacted us to make a booking. We can assure you that it was not our intention to be rude, condesending or disrespectful. I think Rick did ascertain that you have a voucher. The important information section on our listing with the voucher provider...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2016 via mobile

Just got back from a couple of days away at Cedar House. What a wonderful place, the host Mel made us very welcome. The house is stunning, with fantastic views and lovely food. Would definitely recommend this place, and would not hesitate to go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Connolly1948
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2015

Having picked one of the worst weekends in Autumn The Cedar House was a haven. Set in a lovely position on the edge of Exmoor, the B&B has wonderful views even though the wind and rain. The room and en suite was beautifully clean and we wanted for nothing. The breakfasts were freshly cooked and homemade jams very tasty. All...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jillhoy
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2015 via mobile

Friendly and very nice b&b with stunning views. Very very clean, the bed was the comfiest bed we have ever slept in. The breakfast was amazing. we couldn't have booked a better place or had any better service than we did . +++EXCELLENT +++ We will be back next year when we come for our wedding meetings at st audries...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elisemarie1985
Walton-on-the-Naze, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2015

A bit late with this Review but have to say as soon as we arrived at Cedar House we knew we had struck gold. We spent a wonderful week from 29th September to 6th October and could not have been happier. Mel is the perfect host and, with tea and biscuits on arrival, we enjoyed the spectacular views from the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carole H

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Cleeve
33.7 km away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
10.3 km away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
326 reviews
13.4 km away
Castle of Comfort Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
645 reviews
21.0 km away
Heron House B&B
Heron House B&B
#1 of 8 in Bampton
211 reviews
1.6 km away
The White Horse Inn
The White Horse Inn
#1 of 5 in Washford
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cedar House is a fine Edwardian gentleman's residence set in it's own grounds. The house has some of the most stunning, uninterrupted views in the area - overlooking Exmoor, the Brendon Hills, the Coast and Wales beyond. The steam engines of the West Somerset Railway passing by, the starry nights and some wonderful sunsets all add to the magical setting. It is the ideal base for exploring the area, Dunster Castle, the quaint villages and wonderful village pubs. After a peaceful night's sleep, get the day off to a great start with a full Somerset breakfast or something else from the extensive breakfast menu. Kay and Eric look forward to welcoming you to their home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cedar House

Address: Cedar House Dunster | Nr Minehead, Old Cleeve TA24 6HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Old Cleeve
Price Range: $106 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedar House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Cedar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar House Hotel Minehead
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cedar House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Newton Abbot, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago
West Drayton, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Cedar House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All good, particularly from front of hotel”
B3151FOpeters, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 2 has very good all round views across to the Moor and Sea”
cooksleyjohn244, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our room you could see the sea in the distance and amazing scenery”
430sandyw, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 2 has the best panoramic views”
geoffcole7, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front have panoramic views. From the A39 you come upon the turning quickly”
chrislutwyche, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5