We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Seven Gables Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Seven Gables Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

385 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Seven Gables Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 385: English reviews
Rogers, Arkansas
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This is one of our favorite places to stay. The Seven Gables is beautiful, has a wonderful, quiet courtyard and the room was perfect for the romance my wife and I were looking for. All the staff was so nice and location of the hotel is perfect. This area of Clayton has great restaurants and night life. I strongly recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scott m
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that it was the perfect romantic getaway. Seven Gables Inn is such an intimate place with a staff that is here to please our guests. We all take such pride in providing the best customer service and to make you feel as if you are at your home away from home....

Vallejo, California
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I've stayed at the Seven Gables Inn several times because I enjoy the charm, architecture, friendly and helpful staff, comfortable beds, and great location within easy walking distance to many restaurants and sites. There are a few drawbacks - the breakfast fare needs healthier options with fresh, better-quality food, the daily parking fee is high, and there is no elevator....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Julianne M
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post your review. Clayton does have very limited parking but the advantage with our hotel is you pay a daily rate and can come and go as much as you would like and you always have the option of utilizing our valet at no additional cost. With your guest room rate the hotel offers...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I travel frequently for business and was getting tired of characterless hotel chains. So, I decided to book the Seven Gables due to charm and proximity to where I had to be. Worst sleep and hotel stay I've had in years. THE GOOD: • It's located in a really quaint, upscale area with lots of nice restaurants, shops and park...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LindsayB10
GablesManager, Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post your review. We are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay. We take every guests feedback very serious and look into all concerns. Unfortunately due to the limited space in Clayton parking is very limited but the nice thing regarding our parking here at Seven Gables is the guests can come and go...

iloveshoes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

7 Gables is located in a great suburb of St. Louis, very quant theme & decor. Not really designed for children. The service was above average (staff very nice). HOWEVER, hotel has 3 floors but does NOT have an elevator (we were located on the 3rd fl, getting luggage up & down wasnt fun nor travelling the stairs several times...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rosalyn T
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post your review. The Seven Gables Inn is listed on the National Historic Registry and the goal of the hotel was to keep the charm and history of the building while offering our guests modern amenities. The hotel does have valet/bellman staff on site that is here to assist our guests with parking cars...

Columbia, Missouri
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I was made aware of this lovely inn by way of a groupon, and unable to find a reason to use it, I made sure to make a mental note of this historic inn. So last weekend, when my husband and I booked tickets to The Lumineers concert at the Duck Room, I made sure to book a night at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sam2233
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post your review. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed the hotel. It's always nice to hear from our guests that thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and their visit with us. We are excited that Seven Gables Inn will be your choice of hotel when you are in the area. Its always so nice to...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We booked a room for ourselves, and a block of rooms for our guests, for our wedding last weekend, and we could not be more pleased with our choice. Stacey, Gale, Carl and Kyle were so helpful and accommodating through the booking process, and the wedding weekend. The rooms are historic--but also updated and impeccably clean. The rates were very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank StlTeraGram
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are extremely pleased that everything went so smoothly for you. This is a great hotel with it sizes and layout for group events. Weddings, Reunions, Rtreats, Corporate blocks are all such great groups to host at the hotel. There is just such an intimate feel and setting for events such as yours and you...

atlanta
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I have traveled every week for 14 years. I tend to have to stay in "company negotiated chain" hotels but this week I was able to stay here due to a meeting. All I have to say is UNBELIEVABLE!!! It was just like I was in my own house. The staff (especially Carl, Melvin, sharon, and Andre) were amazing and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rebecca L
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Hello Rebecca and thank you for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay, the staff went above and beyond and that you will be back. We all take such pride in our jobs and ensuring the guests are made to feel welcome! Its only with our clients reviews that we can continue to grow and succeed in providing...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I have been commuting to St. Louis from Chicago for the last 13 months and have choosen to stay at The Seven Gables for the 2-3 nights a week that I am there. I could stay at any hotel in the area but because of their superior service and overall quality I continue to stay there. Granted I stay there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greg b
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Greg, thank you for your reveiw. We are thrilled you continue to stay with us and enjoy staying with us. It is our goal to make every guest feel as if they are at their home away from home. We all take such pride in our jobs and making our guests feel welcome and as if they are the only...

Clayton, Missouri
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Many of our business travelers have stayed and continue to request The Seven Gables Inn. Their dedication to services excellence is above and beyond. You can't help but to feel at home while you are away from home. Staff is cheery and helpful. They deliver World Class Service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy N
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for such a nice review. We are thrilled your guests enjoye staying with us and that you continue to remain a loyal customer to Seven Gables Inn. Its our goal here to make all guests feel welcome and exceed their expectations. Thank you again for your continued support! Warm regards, Stacey Wallace General Manager

Springfield, Missouri
Reviewed 29 February 2012

The Seven Gables Inn in Clayton is indeed charming and quaint. I loved the decor and the old world feel. The location is great. However, my stay was disappointing. My family was staying there for one night and had made reservations many weeks in advance for a room and also dinner at Molly Darcy's for a rather special family occasion....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Tee-Moe
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post your review and provide us with your feedback. We are truly disappointed that your visit did not live up to your expectations. We strive to ensure our guests feel as if they are at their home away from home and go above and beyond to provide suprerior customer service. You are 100% correct...

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
898 reviews
The Cheshire
#35 of 121 in Saint Louis
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Center / Midtown
Hotel Ignacio
Hotel Ignacio
#38 of 121 in Saint Louis
372 reviews
The Chase Park Plaza
#30 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 26 North Meramec Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Price Range: $190 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seven Gables Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Clayton
Seven Gables Saint Louis
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Seven Gables Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Hastings, Minnesota
6 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Seven Gables Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not accept a 2nd floor room above the bar/restaurant. Sound bleeds.”
 of 5 bubbles GracefullyGrace, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a third floor room for noise reduction.”
 of 5 bubbles taburfield, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room #111”
 of 5 bubbles Grammy321, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Third floor”
 of 5 bubbles FromAway67, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room far away from the courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles kdp43, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5