We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN On The River

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
BEST WESTERN On The River
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

662 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 659: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN On The River
 Click to rate
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

First of all, when you say it's on the river, it should be on the river. It is not and you could hardly see it from our room. We were in the old section on the second floor overlooking the pool. Very noisy and would have been great if you had kids. There was a St Patrick's party group that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PrincessJJYermo
Grace D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN On The River, responded to this review

Thank you

McGregor, Minnesota
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

We were at the Best Western just for an overnight stay. The hotel has the standard fair, but also has a full size leather couch. We stayed in a king room. It was very comfortable, and while it seemed there were not too many guests we enjoyed the quiet atmosphere. The main center section of the hotel has a pool....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spicy-octopus
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Grace D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN On The River, responded to this review

Thank You

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Beware of the noisy hotel room doors closing around you. These door closings were loud and kept waking us up. Beware that trains are constantly moving through the town, blowing their loud horns. I am surprise we were not told of these things. I am surprised that the renovations the hotel had completed did not take these problems into consideration...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benedict D
Grace D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN On The River, responded to this review

Thank you

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great experience overall but we requested hand grab bars for our elderly parent. The room we were given was handicap accessible but was missing grab bars. If you need a room specifically for grab bars by the toilet you should call to make a reservation instead of doing it online.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank R4985TNjohnp
Grace D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN On The River, responded to this review

Thank You

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The shining star was the night manager (Jeffy) was super nice, friendly, helpful, and polite. Unfortunately, this hotel is a 2. I don't know how it got the 4 1/2 rating. Lobby reeks of chlorine and smoke. Shower handle came off in our hand. Leaks in ceiling (2 places), hair in "clean" towels and washcloths, air conditioner in pieces in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
Grace D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN On The River, responded to this review

Thank you

Springfield
Reviewed 1 week ago

A very good family experience. We were so happy the staff met our family needs of rooms facing the river and rooms close or next to each other. 😀 The only thing we would change is breakfast sausage. We prefer bacon

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 281shereew
Grace D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN On The River, responded to this review

Thank you

Cedar Falls, Iowa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came across this little gem after almost ignoring it. Assumed it would be too expensive. Wrong! Great view of the river. Beautiful pool area. Very nice breakfast. Very friendly staff! Hope to make it a yearly stop on our way home wintering in Florida.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank VickyArends
Grace D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN On The River, responded to this review

Thank You

Wabasha
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As usual we had a great stay here. We have stayed often. We will always stay here when in Hannibal, MO, however,the driveway is very difficult to use when checking in and unloading. It really is only a one car drive. Also, location to restaurants us poor. The restaurant across the street is poorly staffed and food is either good...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
Grace D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN On The River, responded to this review

Thank You

Oakwood, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We used the reserve line and he made us reserve the most expensive room,because supposedly it was the last room available and when we got there that guy booked us in the hotel that was empty next to this 1, we paid for 2 kings and got king size! We paid 208.00. I plan on calling corporate office because the...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank P2377NMjonh
Grace D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN On The River, responded to this review

Thank You

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A few of my siblings and I met another brother and nephew in Hannibal for a birthday week-end on February 26th. There were 13 of us and the wonderful staff at the front desk found us rooms that were next to each other. I would like to thank Grace and Romaine for doing a great job. The rooms were clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy A

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hannibal
6.5 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Hannibal
6.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 10 in Hannibal
275 reviews
4.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 km away
Town & Country Inn and Suites Quincy
2.9 km away
Super 8 Hannibal
Super 8 Hannibal
#5 of 10 in Hannibal
383 reviews
4.7 km away
Days Inn - Hannibal
Days Inn - Hannibal
#6 of 10 in Hannibal
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN On The River

Address: 401 N 3rd St, Hannibal, MO 63401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS On The River)
Region: United States > Missouri > Hannibal
Price Range: $142 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN On The River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN On The River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus On The River Hotel Hannibal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN On The River staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Hannibal, Missouri
Lorain, Ohio
over a year ago
St. Paul, Minnesota
Eagle Rock
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN On The River staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Back of the hotel, any floor would be fine. Front OK, but wife liked the back...:-)”
 of 5 bubbles jrbrandt7, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with river views will be facing the street and it can be noisy at times.”
 of 5 bubbles stefansM6583CF, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the front of this hotel have more traffic related noise”
 of 5 bubbles 101Holidayer, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“higher floors facing east and south with east view offer Mississippi sunrise and sunset views and quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles donnad227, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room on a high floor.”
 of 5 bubbles karayf, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5