We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,398 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,386: English reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

After loving the intercontinental in Boston, I figured this one in Kansas City would be right at the standards of the one in Boston. I was wrong in assuming that. When we arrived( which was around 10-1030) on a Saturday, there was no valet or concierge service. My boyfriend ran inside to check in and ask about help with our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brianaseippel
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear brianaseippel, Please accept my apologies for the challenges you experienced while our guest. I would very much appreciate the opportunity to communicate with you directly so I may personally apologize and learn more details so we may follow-up internally. Please feel comfortable in contacting me at dbreckenridge@kansascityic.com. Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Please note my comments are based on my experiences with other Intercontinentals and hotels of a similar standard. Whoever is responsible for cleaning needs to reconsider their profession. >Room: Day 2: half-full coffee cup and dirty towel behind door not removed; iron left on floor from previous night not put away. Day 3: The cleaner arrived at 4:15 asking if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wandering_Rick
Management response:

Dear Wandering_Rick, Thank you for the positive feedback about the staff members you encountered during your stay. Candice will be very happy to hear that you appreciated her outstanding service. We would like to further investigate the issues you mentioned in your review. The problems you described are not acceptable and not a true representation of the InterContinental. If you...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed our recent stay at the InterContinental Hotel on the Plaza. We had a plaza view king suite with a pull-out couch. We were very comfortable and really enjoyed the view of the plaza lights. We had drinks in the lounge downstairs both nights, and a couple of appetizers one night. We wished the wine list had a little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DCD-OK
Management response:

Dear DCD-OK, Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed the plaza lights, guest room and your dining experience. I am excited to say that all 366 guest rooms will be renovated by May 2017. Next time you are in Kansas City we hope to see you again and we know you will enjoy our...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I are from Kansas City but live in Cincinnati. We decided to book an overnight and it was a wonderful experience!! Thomas Hall, the head of housekeeping went out of his way to make sure our stay was incredible and we are planning on staying here everytime we come to Kansas City. Thank you Mr. Hall and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jinny M
Management response:

Dear Jinny, Thank you for your kind words about the staff members here at the InterContinental. I will be sure to pass along this great review to Thomas. Thomas is new to our team and has been a great addition! Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to seeing you again when you...

Wichita, Kansas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Intercontinenal two nights over the Christmas holiday. We always book a room on the concierge level. The amenities provided in the concierge lounge (continental breakfast, happy hour drinks/appetizer, and late night drinks/desserts) plus the view from the hotel tower make the additional cost well worth it. Don, one of the concierge staff who hosts the concierge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnTerry13
Management response:

Dear JohnTerry13, We are happy you enjoyed all the amenities available on the concierge floor. Don is a great employee and will be happy to hear the wonderful feedback about how memorable and special he made your stay. Don knows what true hospitality entails and is always willing to go above and beyond for all of our guests. We hope...

Fayetteville, Arkansas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This has been THE place to stay on the Plaza since I was a child, and it still holds up to that reputation. We stayed over the Christmas holiday and couldn't have asked for better views of the Plaza lights or easy access to the shopping. The lobby and rooms are stylish and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrendWolf
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear TrendWolf, We're very happy to learn you enjoyed your stay at the hotel while you were in town visiting family during the holidays. I know you had very high expectations of the hotel, and we appreciate you letting us know they were met. Happy New Year! Don Breckenridge General Manager

Isle of Palms, South Carolina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is always our favorite place in Kansas City!!! The Plaza lights are Great!! This is a bucket list place to go! This hotel is great, and starting a room renovation to make It better. Even better is the service on the club level by Craig Walter!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iop53
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear iop53, Thank you for your kind words and for your loyalty to the hotel over the years. Craig will be excited to learn of your comments. We look forward to the next opportunity to serve you! Happy New Year! Don Breckenridge General Manager

Shawnee Mission, Kansas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have attended several large fund raising events here recently and I was really impressed with LL Cool L -- whose real name is Hassan. He's got a great eye for service and he took care of me and my wife when we didn't get the right meals.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ilpostino5555
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear ilpostino5555, Thank you for letting us know Hassan has served you with high standards during the recent events you have attended at the hotel. We'll be sure to share your feedback with Hassan, and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future! Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager

Cherryvale, Kansas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Clean, classic hotel in an incredible location with great views of the plaza. The staff here is amazing. Be warned if you have an over sized vehicle the parking is problematic. You'll be on the roof and right now the key card access to the roof parking is not working well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shelsmiles
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear shelsmiles, Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed our amazing staff and incredible location in the heart of the Country Club Plaza. Over-sized vehicles are accommodated on the top floor of the garage, which is a nice feature as most hotels with covered parking require guests with over-sized vehicles to park on the street. The electronic key system...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Carpet is nasty and not a very clean place. Very disappointed. I hoped that for a 4 stars hotel this is supposed to be a clean place, that's the only thing I expected, I didn't care about other amenities just a clean room that I didn't get.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vio M
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Vio M, We would like to learn more about what carpets you felt were not clean. All guestroom and corridor carpets were shampooed in August of this year. They are vacuumed daily and shampooed immediately whenever any issues are noticed in between the quarterly shampooing. If you would like to contact me to share more details, please feel comfortable...

285 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (244)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 km away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.5 km away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
4.9 km away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#10 of 110 in Kansas City
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.5 km away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
5.2 km away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, where you will find impeccable service and all the luxuries you have come to expect from an InterContinental Hotel. Our luxuriously appointed guest rooms and superb meeting facilities are all just steps away from the Country Club Plaza entertainment district. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Address: 401 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2102
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Price Range: $263 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kansas City At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Intercontinental
Fairmont Hotel Kansas City
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms overlooking The Plaza are not worth the cost except during Christmas and New Years Eve.”
 of 5 bubbles Wandering_Rick, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the tower have the best views. Rooms in the west addition are largest.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnTerry13, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure to reserve a room in the "tower" with a view of the Plaza, on a high floor.”
 of 5 bubbles TrendWolf, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the Plaza side, and the tower if available.”
 of 5 bubbles Kenrubicon, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that faces North so you can see the Country Club Shopping Mall, it is pretty.”
 of 5 bubbles mikesrobinson85, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay