We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Phillips

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Phillips
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

822 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 815: English reviews
Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Phillips this past weekend. The staff was amazing! Scott, the driver, was super helpful. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful as well. One of the valets (Rodrigo I believe) so awesome. He seemed to be very proud of the hotel and even showed us some of the renovations in progress. While I would not... More 

Helpful?
Thank phree82
Olathe, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked 35 rooms for our wedding guests - they offered us the best deal of all hotels in the area. Over 5 months we had 3 different sales people. Most of them would not call us back as we got closer. They are undergoing renovations and promised us that they would be complete by Nov. 1st, but they are... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cindybI9102RY
Central, NJ
Level Contributor
204 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Hotel Phillips is located a few blocks from the convention center and close to several restaurants and theaters. The hotel is undergoing some renovations which could account for my lower rating a little. Check in was fast and friendly in a side lobby area. The main lobby was closed off. The elevators were quick and quiet but on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank joylama
RichardChanofsky, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review

Thanks for your detailed response, it is important to us to get our guest's feedback. We will be adding additional finishing touches to our rooms as the renovation continues, so I do hope you can give us another try in the new year. Our food and beverage outlets will be top notch, and we'll have a speakeasy lounge in the... More 

Chicago
Level Contributor
243 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I am lucky enough to stay in some very good hotels across America. This may end up being a fine hotel but until the renovation is done I would not suggest staying here. The front desk was so disorganized they gave me a room key to a room already occupied by an older lady, you could imagine her surprise and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bigcityeater
RichardChanofsky, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review

I do hope you are in the area once renovations are complete and can give us another chance to prove ourselves. We'd really appreciate your business, and would like to earn your designation as a great hotel. More 

New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel Phillips is my favorite place to stay in not only downtown Kansas City but all of Kansas City and ALL of Missouri. You're close to so much, the place is beautiful, and the staff here are sweet as can be. All the love for Hotel Phillips!

Helpful?
Thank Chris T
Flossmoor, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016

I stayed here recently when in town for a wedding. Utterly dreadful. Apparently I am piling on with yet another bad review, so I will just mention the three worst features. First, our friends that also stayed there found BLOOD on the sheets. Not their blood. Pass. (Silver lining: Our friends moved to the hotel across the street and had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
RichardChanofsky, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. While I'm sorry to hear the negative experience you had, I do thank you for your diplomatic outlook and also the shout out to Scott. I will be sure he is made aware of his efforts. I do hope you give us another chance once renovations are complete, the building and our staff will be at... More 

Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Sorry, but I just hate to see you spend your money on this. As a Business Owner, I rarely take the time to give another Business a bad review, but this one deserves it. We are huge Kansas City fans and have stayed at many hotels, but this is where we received the least for our money. It was under... More 

Helpful?
Thank lisareneeritter
RichardChanofsky, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review

Thanks for your review so that we are able to address your concerns. As a business owner yourself, I'm sure you can understand the value of being able to make things right after someone is unsatisfied. I would love for you to e-mail me at rchanofsky@nvnhotels.com, so that we can talk more about your experience. More 

Wamego
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016

I will start with the positive in saying the people at the front desk and who helped with luggage were very friendly and helpful. They even gave us coupons for free drinks at a local restaurant and discount for food at another restaurant. They were very helpful in giving us directions and offered shuttle service to local restaurants. While we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diana T
RichardChanofsky, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, and I'm glad to hear your experience with our staff was pleasant. I am sorry to hear your experiences with the building, and I hope you chose to return to the hotel once renovations are complete, so that you can experience the luxurious rooms that we will have. More 

Little Rock
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Service is terrible. Put us in ADA room with no shower head and no shower curtain. Phone to front desk is busy but they aren't on it.... The person who acts like an owner is rude. People checking in in front of us - weren't able to find their res. I could go on and on and on. This place... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
RichardChanofsky, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review

I'm sorry for the sub par encounters you had at our property and thank you for your feedback. We are undergoing a $20 million dollar renovation that includes everything in the rooms from behind the walls like electrical and plumbing, and new windows, to new furniture, carpets, and walls, and are in a major transition period at this time. I... More 

1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We stayed here because it was only 1.5 block walk from Arvest Bank Theatre, where we were attending a James Bay concert. Good thing we had navigation on our phones, because the desk clerk couldn't even tell us which direction to start walking! The hotel is in the midst of renovations, so there was no restaurant, lounge, or room service... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cindi K
RichardChanofsky, General Manager at Hotel Phillips, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear your room did not live up to your expectations during your stay with us, and thank you for your feedback. From your comments, it sounds like you were in a room that has not yet been renovated, and I hope you can give us another chance and return after things are complete to experience our new... More 

371 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (154)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (68)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (146)
Viewed
Amenities (28)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.3 km away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#14 of 113 in Kansas City
975 reviews
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Holiday Inn Aladdin
#46 of 113 in Kansas City
499 reviews
0.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
#23 of 113 in Kansas City
1,002 reviews
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
1.8 km away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Phillips, listed on the National Register of Historic Places and Kansas City’s most historic hotel, has begun a $20 million gut renovation. The transformation includes every aspect of the building to bring the hotel back to its original 1930's elegance, while elevating the food and beverage offerings, comfort, amenities, and modern details. Our restaurant is currently closed. A Boutique Hotel that's Both Historic and hip. Can a hotel feel grand and yet intimate at the same time? Hip but never stuffy? That's the allure of Hotel Phillips, a historic gem in the heart of Kansas City's business, entertainment and arts district. Your experience starts with our breathtaking Art Deco lobby that made us Kansas City's most celebrated hotel in 1931. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Phillips

Address: 106 West 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Price Range: $306 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Phillips 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Phillips reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phillips Hotel Kansas City
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#21 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Phillips staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Moberly, Missouri
3 months ago
McPherson, Kansas, United States
11 months ago
Orlando, Florida

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Phillips staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahbB9885YG, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front of the hotel on the upper floors have a nice view of the city.”
 of 5 bubbles dianat616, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles jlmVirginia, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“My tip would be to choose a room at the Marriott across the street!!”
 of 5 bubbles 352eileenc, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We were on the 10th floor, very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles DavidC232, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay