We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Lamplighter Inn & Suites South

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Lamplighter Inn & Suites South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 134: English reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2016

The rooms are small and need to be updated. The internet is very intermittent, the hallways are very bad, do not go without shoes, you will be surprised when you see your socks. The hotel will NOT allow Net-spend Master-cards or Rush VISA cards to be used, because they are quote prepaid, So is American express you buy at Wal-Mart...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
LaTriciaBristol, Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review

First I would like to thank you for taking time to advise us of your recent stay at Lamplighter Inn & Suites. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to correct these issues. If you come back to the Springfield Missouri area I hope you will stop in and give us another chance as we...

Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here overnight since all the hotels in Branson were sold out. The place is in definite need of updating. It has the tiniest elevator I've ever seen! Could barely fit 4 people in it. Our phone was broken so I couldn't call the front desk to tell them the tv remote was m.i.a. Finally they came up after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
Missouri
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Always make reservations in October. Tournaments and fall colors fill every room in town. Our spur of the moment stay in Springfield meant we got the last room in the city. The "room freshener" choked me and I woke up with a headache. The tiny room was crowded with an old jacuzzi. We struggled to get the luggage cart in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trvlwrite
Treynor, Iowa
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Booked 3 rooms for a funeral through Expedia. Elected to pay a low rate (70% off) for an unidentified 3 star hotel, thinking it wouldnt be fancy - but would be decent. This hotel doesn't qualify for 1 star. It is old, outdated, dirty and disgusting and next door to a strip club. Hairs on the sheets, dirty bathroom, AC...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
LaTriciaBristol, Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review

Julie, Thank you for your review. I appreciate you taking the time out to let me know how you feel regarding your recent stay. It is extremely important to us, as we wish to improve with each and every guests visit. I appreciate the comments that you have made and take them very seriously. I am sorry that this visit...

Estes Park, Colorado
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

We live in Colorado when we got the call that we needed to come to Mercy hospital for our Mom. After driving all night to reach the hospital we asked one of the nursing staff where a good place to stay that was close. Lamplighter came highly recommended. When we were checking in, mentioned we have been at the hospital....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KKing72
Management response:

Thank you so much for taking time to tell us about your stay at our hotel. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Springfield, Missouri area.

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 30 July 2016

If you are traveling this hotel is fine for one night. The hot breakfast was good and they replenished as needed. AS other travelers mentioned it is definitely dated. The only was this really affected us was the room smelled musky and the elevator is extremely small. We stayed at this location (on the south side) as it was on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
Cleveland, Mississippi
Reviewed 21 July 2016

This was an older establishment that was being remodeled. Our room was nice & spacious. Temperature was a little warm at night. Offered a complimentary full breakfast that was pretty good. The lady that was in charge of the breakfast was really friendly & helpful. Ok for a one night stay. Wouldn't recommend for extended stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vsmith200
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

Dirty hotel in need of major updating. Looks like it would have been really cool 20 years ago which must have been right about the time they stopped cleaning the place. Breakfast was amusing, girl was doing a good job but complained she was having a hard time keeping up because she only had one microwave to cook with. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chriswyse
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel had semi decent ratings and was rated 2.5, no way hookers in parking lot. Dirty room. Loud parties out front car stereos blasting did not even stay night. Left in middle of night come here to get shot. If I could leave 0 stars I would. Take your money and throw it in garbage!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tuckerst
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Reviewed 14 June 2016

Bad experience - this motel makes even a Motel 6 look good! The place is shabby and run down. It is dirty and in need of a complete renovation. Very unprofessional staff and has a skeleton housekeeping crew; our room was not touched and when I complained, the housekeeper's key wouldn't let her open the door and I had to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joyce R

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (39)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
7.3 km away
Lamplighter Inn & Suites North
Lamplighter Inn & Suites North
#37 of 49 in Springfield
184 reviews
2.8 km away
Arbor Suites At The Mall
Arbor Suites At The Mall
#42 of 49 in Springfield
88 reviews
3.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Arbor Suites Medical Mile
Arbor Suites Medical Mile
#33 of 49 in Springfield
172 reviews
4.2 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#27 of 49 in Springfield
460 reviews
6.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Plus Coach House
BEST WESTERN Plus Coach House
#14 of 49 in Springfield
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lamplighter Inn & Suites South is conveniently located in the heart of Springfield. Our hotel offers quality accommodations at an affordable price. All rooms come furnished with a firm king or two queen size beds. We offer a free hot breakfast, free wi-fi, free local calls and free parking. All rooms have a microwave and refrigerator. Ziggy's Restaurant & Lounge is located on our property and is open 24 hours and provides room service till 10 p.m. ADA rooms are also available for guests. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, Lamplighter Inn & Suites South will always welcome you with a smile. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lamplighter Inn & Suites South

Address: 1772 S Glenstone Ave, Springfield, MO 65804-1508
Region: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Price Range: $94 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamplighter Inn & Suites South 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Lamplighter Inn & Suites South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Springfield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lamplighter Inn & Suites South staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Lamplighter Inn & Suites South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I can' imagine there being a good room here.”
 of 5 bubbles joycer792, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
“This is a multi-floor hotel--if you prefer a first floor room, just ask for it; the staff will help”
 of 5 bubbles dansS5754KL, 29 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
  • bed bugs on other bed edge of blanket
  • bed bugs on one bed pillow
 of 5 bubbles 854cindyf, 3 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Doesn't have a great view, but would chose a 1st or 2nd floor overlooking the courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles Ganders1984, 21 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Back of building seems quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles prof747, 24 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay