We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center

Save
Share
333 S John Q Hammons Pkwy, Springfield, MO 65806-2543
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$134
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$134
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/22
Vio.com
US$84
View deal
Hotels.comUS$134
PricelineUS$134
AlgotelsUS$157
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (197)
Room & Suite (81)
Dining (24)

About

#28 of 59 hotels in Springfield
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
A block from Jordan Valley Park and Hammons Field, this understated conference hotel is a 7-minute walk from the Springfield Expo Center. The warmly decorated rooms with conservative furnishings feature free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs and coffeemakers. Suites add separate living rooms with pull-out sofas, wet bars and minifridges. Room service is available.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Fence around pool
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
Languages Spoken
English
1272Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 588
  • 315
  • 185
  • 96
  • 88
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Casey B wrote a review Nov 2022
Murfreesboro, Tennessee9 contributions
We stayed here for here for 5 nights for a conference. The hotel itself is nice, well decorated and clean. All of the employees we interacted with were nice and helpful. The rooms themselves need some serious updating. Filthy carpet, mildewed tub caulking, mildew on ceiling, dripping faucet, awful musty smell, broken lamp, torn lampshade, and chunks out of the wooden door. With a lot of tlc, this place could be very nice again. The breakfast was good and hot on Sunday morning. When we ate there again this morning, all of the food was super cold.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Wear shoes in the room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Marketing at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Responded 4 Nov 2022
Dear Bradleybunch5, We are so glad that you enjoyed our breakfast and conference facilities, but regret that you were underwhelmed with our accommodations. We value all your feedback and do take it into consideration as we continually update and improve our hotel. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you again for a flawless experience. Sincerely, Brent Parker General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mrskbliss wrote a review Oct 2022
22 contributions7 helpful votes
No hot tub even though shows one in pictures. One of two elevators doesn’t works so takes forever. Outdoor pool is disgusting looking. No fridge in room. Room in nice and spacious and awesome views.wouldn’t stay here again. Could spend less money for better quality and comfort inn.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Marketing at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Responded 8 Oct 2022
Dear Mrskbliss, Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your experience. I appreciate you our noting our spacious accommodations and awesome views, but I'm very sorry that we disappointed your overall. Your comments, which highlight our successes and areas for improvement, are appreciated as they foster change for the better. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you better in the future. Sincerely, Brent Parker General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ashley W wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
On two separate occasions, I had to wait 30 minutes to almost 2 hours for my reservation to show up on the hotel’s computer, even though I had made the reservation many hours before my arrival time. The customer service line repeatedly put me on hold for long periods of time and even tried to tell me that they had no record of my reservation AFTER the money had been taken out of my account. My most recent attempt to stay at this hotel resulted in a complete refund as they were advertising rooms for the specific dates I had chosen that the hotel DID NOT HAVE. The hotel staff were very friendly and apologetic for my wait, which made things easier to deal with because they share the same feelings about Priceline as most everyone else that have had the same problem. Long story short, call the hotel directly to make reservations. DO NOT USE PRICELINE FOR THIS HOTEL!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Marketing at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Responded 8 Oct 2022
Dear ashleywU8954PD, Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your experience with us and with other travelers. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and frustrations you experienced upon your check-in; this is never how we want a guest's visit to begin. I am glad to hear our dedicated team members provided the level of warmth and hospitality you deserve, and I thank you for noting their efforts. We enjoyed having you as our guest, and it will be our pleasure to assist you directly with your future reservations. Sincerely, Brent Parker General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
spfldeater wrote a review Sep 2022
springfield217 contributions38 helpful votes
Enjoyed staying at this hotel. Nothing to complain about it was clean walking distance to downtown and the staff was friendly. Great breakfast not sure it is every day though. The front desk was very helpful with my many questions
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Marketing at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Responded 27 Sep 2022
Dear spfldeater, Thank you for your thoughtful review. I appreciate you choosing us while in the area. Our goal is to provide every guest with an exceptional stay. It is reflections like yours that give us the valuable information we need to achieve this goal. We look forward to your return! Best, Brent Parker General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chad and Susan D wrote a review Sep 2022
Weldon Spring, Missouri118 contributions57 helpful votes
Great location for campus visit and Thomas Rhett concert on campus. No early check in because of a Friday conference. Complimentary breakfast 7-10 am. Walked to Thai restaurant. Comfy beds. We stayed on floor 2 across from elevator near the stairs. Plenty of parking. Lobby bar.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Plenty of parking.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Marketing at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Responded 25 Sep 2022
Dear Chad and Susan D, It is fantastic to hear that your stay was enjoyable and that our location was ideal for your trip! Our associates strive to provide exceptional guest experiences; I will be sure to share your kind feedback. I appreciate you taking the time to leave us and other travelers’ feedback. We hope to host you again soon. Best, Brent Parker General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adam J wrote a review Sep 2022
Saint Louis, Missouri16 contributions17 helpful votes
Postives- The staff were all friendly and helpful. Beds (not pillows) were comfortable. The location is great. Cafe was pretty good for a quick bite/coffee in the morning. Didn't visit but the bar looked nice as well. Negatives- The AC in the room wasn't great, I'd say it's probably set to 75, despite what the thermostat says. Only one working elevator. The shower had mold in several spots. Towels needed to be refreshed, they were pretty worn. One towel was stained - again they need to be refreshed Shower didn't drain. Pillows were pretty bad, three small square pillows per bed- just an odd shape for us- maybe others don't care. This hotel could easily be 4-5 stars but need to fix some maintenance problems and refresh some simple things- like decor/towels. Mold/stains definitely hint at possible cleanliness issues. They may seem like minor things, but for the price paid these are things guests should expect to be done well. I'd likely try another hotel in Springfield before returning, unless the price was dropped by at least 30%
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Marketing at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Responded 23 Sep 2022
Dear 615AdamJ, Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate the feedback, both positive and opportunities for improvement as this fosters change for future stays. We look forward to hosting you again. Sincerely, Brent Parker General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
B K wrote a review Sep 2022
Kew Gardens, New York70 contributions47 helpful votes
With Covid and post Covid changes I rarely expect to write many 5 star reviews. I travel - with an elderly parent with dementia - out of necessity nearly half of every year or more. A quality hotel and stay with all the details is very important. This hotel, in my native hometown delivered on my needs and then some. From Sara at the cafe and Tia at night audit to Christy and Tamisha at the front desk they made our visit first rate. Where they were lacking perhaps in staff or had up n down changes they still addressed needs - a wheelchair, a extra fan, extra linens, print services and an exceptional long stay rate. Don't get me wrong the hotel is not new. There are some rooms which have a 90s look - but they are clean, well stocked and the public areas are comfortable and inviting. A great swimming pool, gym , a good solid basic breakfast and a nice cafe Q perks. You can walk to the university, downtown, a few good restaurants, a Walgreens and grocery store. Many thanks to Brent, GM and previously Michael for their willingness to assist and we hope to visit again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Higher floor, all good but different views. Excellent updated disability rooms subject to...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Marketing at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Responded 13 Sep 2022
Dear B K, Thank you for taking the time to share this glowing review of our hotel! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your experience. I will be certain to share your comments with our staff who truly love making our guests feel welcome when they come to town. Please find a reason to visit us again soon. Best, Brent Parker General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jenifer M wrote a review Sep 2022
Colorado Springs, Colorado18 contributions7 helpful votes
Location, amenities and price point make this a great option for a Springfield visit, especially if you’re visiting MSU. The decor is dated, but the rooms are clean, the staff is attentive and the included breakfast is robust.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Marketing at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Responded 7 Sep 2022
Dear JeniferM641, Thank you very much for taking the time to reflect on your stay with us and for sharing your experience with fellow travelers. We're happy to learn that our great location, price point and amenities were the highlights of your visit. It’s great to hear that we provided you with a satisfying stay. Your feedback, both positive and areas for improvement, allows us to monitor the guest experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best, Brent Parker General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ryan M wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
the young woman who works overnight on august 22 is the worst front desk woman in the whole hotel system in the world. she is rude with a very nasty attitude. signed me into the wrong room and forced me to move to a different one that was the exact same after I showered and was falling asleep is when she called the room with a nasty attitude to fix her mistakes. if you want a restful night stay do not come here. the fire alarm constantly goes off. the AC and heat does not work in most rooms and they wake you up to change rooms for no reason. it’s dirty and dated and should be demolished.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Marketing at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Responded 24 Aug 2022
Dear K4585PFryanm, Thank you for your review. I’m sorry for your overall poor experience and that we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. Additionally, please accept my sincere apology that the fire alarm interrupted the comfort of your stay. This was an extraordinary circumstance not indicative of our norm, so we hope that you will reconsider a return visit. We’d love the opportunity to leave you with a more favorable impression. Sincerely, Michael Bloom General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Juan O wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I made a reservation, and actually paid ahead. I arrived late in the night from a long trip, only to be told that my paid reservation had been canceled, and I needed to find for another hotel (this was at 4am). I understand first come first serve system, but if I already paid for my room, I would expect that my reservation was respected. Not only that but the front desk lady was rude and careless. We had traveled 7 hrs from out of town, she didn’t care (Tia was her name). I’m still waiting for my refund.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Marketing at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Responded 11 Aug 2022
Dear S4388UXjuano, We sincerely regret your experience; it is never our intent to relocate any guest. I'm sorry we disappointed you and I'm sure that was frustrating after a long day of travel. We strive to provide comfort and sincere hospitality to all our guests and we clearly missed our goal. I appreciate you taking the time to share your review. Your feedback fosters change for future stays. Sincerely, Michael Bloom General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$90 - US$165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
university plaza hotel springfield, university plaza hotel and convention center
LOCATION
United StatesMissouriSpringfield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
268
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

UNIVERSITY PLAZA HOTEL & CONVENTION CENTER: UPDATED 2022 Reviews, Price Comparison and 245 Photos (Springfield, MO) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Which popular attractions are close to University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center?
Nearby attractions include Blue Room Comedy Club (0.4 km), Springfield Cardinals (0.4 km), and Juanita K. Hammons Hall for the Performing Arts (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
Is parking available at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gilardi's Ristorante, Ebbets Field, and Terrace Grille.
Are there opportunities to exercise at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center have an airport shuttle?
Yes, University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center have airport transportation?
Yes, University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Springfield.
Are any cleaning services offered at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.