We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn

Show Prices
#7 of 14 Hotels in Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 192: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel got decent reviews and the price was right. We stayed in the motel section since we needed a refrigerator and the hotel rooms with a fridge were at least $20 more for the night. Room was basic, but somehow about perfect in the layout. The coffee was in the lobby, but it was good coffee, which was nice. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vicky E
Newport, OR
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2016

When the Finlen Hotel was not available, I settled for the Motor Inn that shares the same parking lot. Either way, it would be like time travel back to the 1920s or the early 1960s. Like much of Butte, both these properties have character and is vintage. The Motor Inn was clean and everything worked. The walls were painted concrete... More 

Helpful?
Thank CaboSisters
Frank T, Manager at Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
170 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2016

We found the Finlen on route to Glacier from Yellowstone and opted for the Motor Inn due to the convenience; we could park right in front of the room and be in and out quick. The 14 hours we did stay in Butte were full of historical architecture, interesting joints to eat and drink, and a huge copper mine. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travelbug1155
Frank T, Manager at Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! We are very fortunate to be located just about half way between Glacier and Yellowstone National Parks. We are glad that you found us and were able to explore Butte during your short visit! We hope to see you again, thank you for your business! More 

Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We enjoyed staying at this classic hotel. However, the bed left a lot to be desired. It was too soft, swayed with each movement of myself or my wife. The noisy street outside was a distraction at 2am with motorcycles and loud drinkers from the Acoma bar. Glad we stayed but would not do it again at $87.74.

Helpful?
Thank scpousncb
Frank T, Manager at Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay. The street noise can certainly be a nuisance in the uptown area, it is something that we are actively addressing with our community leaders. We appreciate your review as it lets us know where we can be improving our guest's experiences... More 

Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2016

This is a old historic hotel in excellent condition, service was great having coffee available each morning. Rooms are very inexpensive We had a dbl room with two bedroom & two bathrooms, great when 4 adults are traveling together . This was our 2nd trip this year, enjoyed the stay at the Finlen in May so we decided to return... More 

Helpful?
Thank RogerK1939
Frank T, Manager at Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave us a review! Butte does have some fantastic local restaurants, the Park and Main Cafe in the basement of the Metals Bank building is a definite local favorite for breakfast. We are so glad that you were able to stay with us a couple of times this summer,... More 

Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

I'm so glad we spent a long weekend at this historic hotel. I look forward to my next stay. It was affordable, comfortable, centrally located and the staff made the Finlen feel like our home away from home. We were in Butte for a reunion. When I made the reservation I'd asked for a double room that was easily accessible... More 

Helpful?
Thank 648ca
Frank T, Front Office Manager at Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your warm sentiments to Mary, Frank and Jim. I will let all of our staff know how much you enjoyed your stay! Please come stay with us again, we look forward to your return! Thank you, Sandra,... More 

Zephyr Cove, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2016

The Finlen Hotel is an excellent place to stay and a great value. Why stay at a chain motel down on the Interstate when you can stay in historic Uptown Butte in a historic hotel? and at a much better price?? Great location. Very well maintained. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
2 Thank Brett T
Frank T, Front Office Manager at Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn, responded to this review

Brett, Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your business. More 

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Keep in mind that this is a historic property, and that when you stay at the Finlen you get that experience. The rooms are fine, and they have some type of portable air conditioning units that actually work pretty well. But the furnishings are plain, and the bathroom is only slightly updated. They offer complimentary tea and coffee in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alethea G
Frank T, Manager at Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, we truly appreciate your business and your feedback! More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights and I was so looking forward to visiting Butte, as part of an overall 3 week trip to Montana and Wyoming. However, the first person we met in Butte was a very poor ambassador for her town. The receptionist in this hotel was the rudest, sourest hotel receptionist that I have ever encountered. She... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JillLaois
Frank T, Manager at Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn, responded to this review

Jill, Again, we apologize for your unpleasant experience at the Finlen as we said in response to your Booking.com review we have went over our customer service with the whole team and your issues were brought up specifically. We are glad that you did enjoy your visit to Butte, we have wonderful local bars and restaurants just within walking distance... More 

Richmond, VA, USA
Level Contributor
279 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2016

We loved the downstairs of the old elegant hotel and enjoyed and evening playing cards in the lobby area. We had a suite with two separate rooms and two baths, but there was no door between the two rooms. The staff at the desk were very helpful and recommended the Uptown Cafe just down the street, which was a delight... More 

Helpful?
Thank By_His_Grace

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Butte hotels
4.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Plus Butte Plaza Inn
4.6 km away
Hampton Inn Butte
Hampton Inn Butte
#1 of 14 in Butte
477 reviews
3.8 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 14 in Butte
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Comfort Inn of Butte
Comfort Inn of Butte
#5 of 14 in Butte
413 reviews
3.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Butte
0.2 km away
Motel 6 Butte - Historic City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Finlen is situated in the heart of uptown Butte near dozens of shopping and dining experiences, museums telling the tale of the city's rich and vibrant past, galleries expressing the local culture, and antique shops to own your piece of history. A truly unique and fun experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn

Address: 100 E Broadway St, Butte, MT 59701-9351
Region: United States > Montana > Butte
Price Range: $114 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finlen Hotel And Motor Butte
Finlen Hotel Butte
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Butte
#4 Romantic Hotel in Butte
#5 Business Hotel in Butte
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Spokane, Washington
5 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“motel rooms are very convenient for loading unloading and on ground level”
 of 5 bubbles Travelbug1155, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing South”
 of 5 bubbles scpousncb, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good. they have two bedroom rooms great for 4 people”
 of 5 bubbles RogerK1939, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room at end.”
 of 5 bubbles 434brettt, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The corner suite was incredibly spacious, sunny, and Eastern view. No South view.”
  • adjoining area microwave & fridge
  • water closet-no toilet just sink & storage area-a full bathroom in main area
  • second tv, desk in adjoining area of suite with sofa couch
  • first tv, ac, and furniture style in main bedroom
  • desk area in main room with queen
 of 5 bubbles karenaZ9440KL, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay