We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Above the Rest Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gardiner
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Above the Rest Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

23 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 23: English reviews
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewed 1 September 2014

It seems that since 2009 they have cleaned up a bit. We found the cabin to be very clean and linens were in great shape. The kitchen is great and has all the dishes, pots, wine openers needed for a dinner. The view is fantastic. We had elk in the yard a few times. (2 night stay) Star gazing is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy Z
Onset, MA
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My daughter, son-in-law, and I stayed in Steph's cabin for 2 nights, 9/29-30/13. The cabin is roomy for 3 people and furnished with all the necessities. The views were fantastic. We could see Mammoth Hot Springs from the windows. Owners were friendly and non-obtrusive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jzskins
Portland, OR
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We stayed in Steph's Cabin. The home is very well maintained and comfortable, away from town but only a short 5 minute drive back in. The views are stunning, the owners who live next door are very friendly but also allow you complete privacy. Bed was comfortable however the bedroom is upstairs which you access via a spiral staircase, something...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shelneu1
Moscow, ID
Reviewed 24 November 2009

Stayed here for 5 nights in August so that I could hike in the area. Excellent location just 2.5 miles outside of town, on a bluff overlooking the Yellowstone River and Yellowstone national park. Quiet and out of the way 2 bedroom cabin, fully furnished except no washer/dryer. The owner/operator was nice. I only interacted with him when making reservation...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank roam-ID
Minnesota
Reviewed 18 September 2009

Based on other reviews we were somewhat nervous about staying here. We arrived at night but didn't have a problem finding it. The road is a little rough but we managed just fine with our car. We stayed in the cabin with another family. The cabin was clean. We brought our own towels and bedding which was a good call....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jojo4771
Longmeadow,MA
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Overall, we had a great experience in Shirly Bells Cabin. It had 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a large kitchen/livingroom area. Plenty of room for the 6 of us.The view from the large deck was beautiful. The kitchen was well appointed. The most notable deficiencies were the drains in the bathtubs (very slow....) the quality of the bath towels (ripped...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Luceric
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 16 July 2009

We had reservations about staying at Steph's Cabin even before we arrived, however, we wanted somewhere with a kitchen so that we could cook our own food and there just weren't that many options around Yellowstone. What a mistake. While we had many complaints - the towels in the bathroom were ripped and torn, not all of the lights worked,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank barcochva
chicago
Reviewed 15 July 2009

The view from the cabin was the most amazing thing you could ask for. The cabin was great (the nest) but the bathroom could have used a better cleaning. The only other complaint we could have is that the septic tank broke and was fixed the morning before we got there so it had a horrible smell the entire time....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chisoxChicago
Clovis, NM
Reviewed 14 June 2009

We stayed in the Mansion to celebrate my parents 50th wedding anniversary as well as 50 years that they have been in America. The location was just awesome with amazing views of Yellowstone and the surrounding mountains. We could see the steam at Mammoth as well as the mighty Yellowstone river downhill from our cabin. Elk were grazing in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AnasaziYo
DonandCoral, Owner at Above the Rest Lodge, responded to this review

We have replaced mattresses and sofa sleeper since this review. There have been some comments about the towels; we line dry all the linens whenever possible so they will smell nice. Sometimes they are not as soft as if they were in a dryer. We do not claim to be the HIlton, but pride ourselves in offering a clean, and...

Lake Worth, FL
Reviewed 22 October 2008

I can't say enough about the lodge. We stayed in the Nest for one week. The view looking out the back porch is breathtaking. The location was perfect for our trip. It's close enough to Gardiner, MT for picking up supplies and gas (about 2 miles), yet far enough away to get away from others. It's about three miles from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BowHunter08

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
2.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS By Mammoth Hot Springs
2.3 km away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
707 reviews
2.3 km away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,930 reviews
1.4 km away
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
2.0 km away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#1 of 5 in Gardiner
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Above the Rest Lodge

Address: 8 Above the Rst, Gardiner, MT 59030-9332
Region: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Above the Rest Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?