We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel

Show Prices
#1 of 21 Hotels in Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

840 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 827: English reviews
marietta ga, United States
Reviewed 5 June 2016

We stayed here three times on our adventure across Montana. The staff was very nice, breakfast was great and the room was clean; and common areas were very well kept. I was surprised to hear that the hotel was about 10 years old - it looked like it was new-so management keeps on tops of things. The staff - from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SouthernLady37
Marti B, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Thelma M, we are most proud of our staff and property! The ownership believe in reinvesting to that our age does not show! Thank you for your compliments, enjoy your summer!

New York
Reviewed 4 June 2016

My husband and I just spent four nights at the Great Northern and couldn't have been happier. The hotel was beautiful and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The lobby was very pretty and the lemon water was a refreshing treat after a long day of activities. The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance to quaint...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eeyore23
Marti B, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! We so enjoyed your group over the holiday weekend! We look forward to seeing you again!

New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

Here on a wedding weekend. Hotel, staff, bar, restaurant all fantastic. Located in the middle of town near restaurants and shops. Really enjoyed our stay. Highly recommend staying at this hotel, you will not be disappointed. Many attraction to access from this location, take a boat ride on the Missouri river, was fantastic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John G
Marti B, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John G - We are so glad you had such a great weekend for the wedding. The Gates of The Mountain boat ride is just a relaxing, history ride to be enjoyed by all ages. We were pleased to see the weather cooperate for you group! Thank you for your complimentary words!

spokane, United States
Reviewed 31 May 2016

The very best place to stay. Very restful and clean! The staff are friendly and helpful. The cookies are a wonderful treat. The beds are comfortable. It is very quiet. The breakfast is the best hotel breakfast around!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christina N
Marti B, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Christina N - thank you for your warm review about the Great Northern Hotel! Our locally baked cookies are a treat - and hard to beat! We hope to see you again!

Reviewed 31 May 2016

Stay at this hotel for an annual fishing trip. It is absolutely the best hotel to stay in Helena. Well located, easy walking to restaurants. Breakfasts are well above average with a couple of egg dishes, waffles, fruit and a number of other items.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
Marti B, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael M. Thank you for being a loyal return (and satisfied!) guest! I hope your spring fishing exceeded your expectations. Our staff at the Great Northern Hotel enjoys the opportunity to be of service to our guests. We are in the process of updating the breakfast room, so you will see that next time you come. See you next...

Golden, Colorado
Reviewed 30 May 2016

Good downtown hotel, close to many shops and restaurants. Hotel was clean and the lobby was very pretty. The hotel restaurant was undergoing refurbishing but the breakfast buffet was available in another room.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank deastrid2015
Marti B, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear deastrid2015 - thank you for posting a review. Our breakfast bar will be back in its original spot fresh and new on June 20th!

Okotoks, Canada
Reviewed 19 May 2016

Have stayed here on many occasions since it was built, the only place we consider in Helena. Good location a few blocks off Interstate 15 and on the East/West Highway 12. An in-house restaurant for fine dining and a Brew-Pub across the parking lot for a more casual dinner. Walking distance to Last Chance Gulch. Rooms clean, quiet. Children's Carousel,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mjhullah
Marti B, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mjhullah - what a wonderful and accurate description of the Great Northern Hotel and the Town Center. We feel this area provides great entrainment for everyone. With a wonderful movie theater, this is something for all. We will see you again!

Aloha, Oregon
Reviewed 18 May 2016

The room rates were reasonable, continetal breakfast was good. The service was outstanding. The shuttle picked us up and took us from and to the airport. If your doing anything at Carroll college this hotel is great.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcbride196
Marti B, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mcbride196 - thank you for your great review. We have many Carroll families over the years and appreciate the relationship we have with them. Great Northern Hotel is the perfect location for all travelers to Helena!

Ennis, Montana, United States
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

Great place for a meeting or gathering of any kind. The staff is very accommodating and willing to help in any way. The catering crew were always there for you. Great rooms and other amenities. This is the 4 the meeting in past 3 years.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vurnie B
Marti B, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Vurnie B! We believe Trip Advisor is not just about hotels - Great Northern Hotel is not just in the business of sleeping rooms. We have great conference space available and have many satisfied customers like yourself! Thank you for your time in sharing your review.

Seattle, United States
Reviewed 17 May 2016

clean rooms, comfortable furniture, great food in restaurant, enjoyable to sleep in, atmosphere was relaxed, great breakfast buffet, staff works with you for any problems, quick service. Overall we had a very pleasant stay and if you are a Carroll College parent you will get a discount on your room

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl Y
Marti B, General Manager at Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cheryl Y - it was a fabulous weekend of Carroll Parents seeing their family members in caps and gowns! Thank you for your patronage of the Great Northern Hotel.

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helena hotels
3.4 km away
Comfort Suites Helena
Comfort Suites Helena
#2 of 21 in Helena
361 reviews
3.9 km away
Residence Inn Helena
Residence Inn Helena
#6 of 21 in Helena
252 reviews
3.9 km away
Hampton Inn Helena
Hampton Inn Helena
#3 of 21 in Helena
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helena
3.0 km away
Radisson Colonial Hotel Helena
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Helena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located in the Great Northern Town Center area of the historic downtown Helena. Near restaurants, retail shops, Great Northern Carousel & Ice Cream Company, movie theater Exploration Works Museum. Full service convention center for your important business and social events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel

Address: 835 Great Northern Blvd, Helena, MT 59601-3315
Region: United States > Montana > Helena
Price Range: $217 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Best Western, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Helena
Helena Best Western
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Helena
#1 Business Hotel in Helena
#2 Family Hotel in Helena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Forsyth, Montana
1 month ago
spokane, wa
over a year ago
Everett, Washington
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Premier Helena Great Northern Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Overlooking the Great Northern Square”
suewD520PC, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We prefer the king mini-sites at the end of the floors.”
mjhullah, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid this hotel.”
HarryS964, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Great beds and pillows for a good nights sleep.”
W812QBjoannes, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I would stay on a higher floor to get away from the possible noise from the conference areas.”
AdventureHermit, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5