We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Stage Coach Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Stage Coach Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

518 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Stage Coach Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 446: English reviews
Portland, Maine
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed st the Stage Coach Inn to visit Yellowstone. I must admit we were a bit disappointed. The lobby was the best part. The rooms were clean but nothing special especially for the price. There was no restaurant or bar and only a continental breakfast. The hotel was centrally located but West Yellowstone is small so all hotels are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Glewis1
StageCoachInnGM, Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. We try very hard to provide a unique and comfortable experience for our guests and we appreciate your feedback.

Carlsbad, California
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We were checked in by a very friendly team. Our room on the second floor had two queen beds, two desks, three chairs, a nice TV, coffeemaker, fridge, microwave, etc. There were three drawers for storage. The closet was adequate with a large hinged door that was awkward to manipulate (directly across from the sink). The bathroom also was just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gordon C
StageCoachInnGM, Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. We work very hard to provide a unique and comfortable experience for our guests and we appreciate your comments.

Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Booking over the phone was the best thing we could have done. The woman taking our reservation was very nice and helpful. The manager accommodated us when we cut our stay short. You only pay for what you stay. The lobby was beautiful with mounted wildlife. The location was perfect, within walking distance to the downtown area. Sadly the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bethannmc1
StageCoachInnGM, Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. We work very hard to provide a unique and friendly experience for our guests and we appreciate your comments.

Reviewed 30 August 2016

The staff was less than friendly on the phone and in person when we were having problems with our reservation. They even had the manager come over and try to figure it out and they had words right in front of us. Both rooms we has were dirty, especially the carpets. The older hotel rooms had an odor to them....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patti Jo L
StageCoachInnGM, Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

We're sorry you were unhappy and we will work hard to improve - thank you for letting us know.

Oneida, Wisconsin
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

I was happy with this hotel. Was very nice and the staff was great - except for the long bearded man who kicked my 13 yr old out of the pool because he was not 14 yet. My husband and I were watching from the lobby because it was too hot inside the pool area. Was told he could not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank staceyleis
StageCoachInnGM, Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. We try very hard to provide a unique and friendly experience for our guests and we appreciate your comments.

Amsterdam
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Very Very Overpriced even for a top location. We stayed in simular Hotels close to Yellowstone that charged around 200 Dollars. Breakfast not really special considering the overall price of our stay. No bar fascilities Location is super just a few minutes from entrance Yellowstone NP and close to shops and restaurants. Friendly Staff, and a very nice Lobby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenneman
StageCoachInnGM, Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. We try very hard to provide a unique and friendly experience for our guests and we appreciate your comments.

Sioux City, Iowa
Reviewed 22 August 2016

I agree with the comment that it is overpriced, however we booked late and had limited options. With that being said, we enjoyed our stay. I loved the lobby with the big open staircase and wildlife exhibit. Our room was comfortable and quiet. Our granddaughter enjoyed the indoor pool and the continental beakfast was good, nothing out of the ordinary,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SusannaCreek
StageCoachInnGM, Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. We try very hard to provide a unique and comfortable experience for our guests and we appreciate your comments.

The Beautiful Island of Jersey
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Okay, so we decided to book here for two reasons; 1) Many of the hotels were filling up around the dates which we wanted to travel so we needed to be sure of a hotel close to the park entrance; 2) Just loved the photos of the taxidermies which populate the entrance lobby! Firstly the location is fantastic. West Yellowstone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank discosturules
StageCoachInnGM, Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. We try very hard to provide a unique and friendly experience for our guests and we appreciate your comments.

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Initially warm welcome by reception staff. Disappointed with small, unimpressive room for the price paid - this hotel is very over priced, obviously cashing in on location being so close to Yellowstone National Park. Room was small and air conditioning very noisy, chose to turn it off as wanted some sleep. Bathroom very small, lacks any form of comfort. Bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alfmax2016
StageCoachInnGM, Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

We're sorry you were unhappy and we will work hard to improve - thank you for letting us know.

Simi Valley, California
Reviewed 7 August 2016

All of the stuffed wildlife in the lobby is really a treat, as well as the piano in the lobby which one other guest was playing when we were there. Walking distance to downtown, lots of parking. They have a fitness room, but you should turn the A/C on in the room before you plan to exercise, because they keep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcia L
StageCoachInnGM, Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. We try very hard to provide a unique and comfortable experience for our guests and we appreciate your comments.

124 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.6 km away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#6 of 38 in West Yellowstone
674 reviews
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#7 of 38 in West Yellowstone
640 reviews
0.4 km away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 38 in West Yellowstone
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#26 of 38 in West Yellowstone
558 reviews
0.4 km away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 38 in West Yellowstone
635 reviews
0.4 km away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 38 in West Yellowstone
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Stage Coach Inn is a landmark hotel in West Yellowstone, Montana, originally built in 1948 to meet the needs of travelers and visitors flocking to the Park in their automobiles. Over the years the hotel has seen many changes and acquired a colorful repetoire of stories and myths - ranging from bullet-holes, billiards, secret gambling rooms, and even ghosts - but the one constant has been to provide superior accommodations and service to Yellowstone National Park visitors. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stage Coach Inn

Address: 209 Madison Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Price Range: $120 - $561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Stage Coach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Coach Hotel West Yellowstone
Stage Coach West Yellowstone
Stage Coach Inn West Yellowstone, Montana
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stage Coach Inn staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Stage Coach Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Historic rooms are disgusting. Others might be better?”
  • Dirty carpet, balanced with peeling paint on doors.
  • Soap scum and mold in shower.
  • Really? The outrageous prices couldn't cover a replacement lampshade?
  • Was
  • Dust bunnies were living on the hinges. Paint chipped from door.
  • Bad photo of paint peeling between picture frames and window.
 of 5 bubbles jjblues12, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room next to laundry facilities (#129)”
 of 5 bubbles ElkIvorysGirl, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in room 255”
 of 5 bubbles KimFirth, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Nice lobby to hang out in”
 of 5 bubbles gdr23, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay in the historic part of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles pattij0l, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay