We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Stage Coach Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Stage Coach Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

514 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Stage Coach Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 442: English reviews
Oneida, Wisconsin
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

I was happy with this hotel. Was very nice and the staff was great - except for the long bearded man who kicked my 13 yr old out of the pool because he was not 14 yet. My husband and I were watching from the lobby because it was too hot inside the pool area. Was told he could not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank staceyleis
StageCoachInnGM, Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. We try very hard to provide a unique and friendly experience for our guests and we appreciate your comments.

Amsterdam
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Very Very Overpriced even for a top location. We stayed in simular Hotels close to Yellowstone that charged around 200 Dollars. Breakfast not really special considering the overall price of our stay. No bar fascilities Location is super just a few minutes from entrance Yellowstone NP and close to shops and restaurants. Friendly Staff, and a very nice Lobby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenneman
StageCoachInnGM, Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. We try very hard to provide a unique and friendly experience for our guests and we appreciate your comments.

Sioux City, Iowa
Reviewed 22 August 2016

I agree with the comment that it is overpriced, however we booked late and had limited options. With that being said, we enjoyed our stay. I loved the lobby with the big open staircase and wildlife exhibit. Our room was comfortable and quiet. Our granddaughter enjoyed the indoor pool and the continental beakfast was good, nothing out of the ordinary,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SusannaCreek
StageCoachInnGM, Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. We try very hard to provide a unique and comfortable experience for our guests and we appreciate your comments.

The Beautiful Island of Jersey
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Okay, so we decided to book here for two reasons; 1) Many of the hotels were filling up around the dates which we wanted to travel so we needed to be sure of a hotel close to the park entrance; 2) Just loved the photos of the taxidermies which populate the entrance lobby! Firstly the location is fantastic. West Yellowstone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank discosturules
StageCoachInnGM, Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. We try very hard to provide a unique and friendly experience for our guests and we appreciate your comments.

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Initially warm welcome by reception staff. Disappointed with small, unimpressive room for the price paid - this hotel is very over priced, obviously cashing in on location being so close to Yellowstone National Park. Room was small and air conditioning very noisy, chose to turn it off as wanted some sleep. Bathroom very small, lacks any form of comfort. Bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alfmax2016
StageCoachInnGM, Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

We're sorry you were unhappy and we will work hard to improve - thank you for letting us know.

Simi Valley, California
Reviewed 7 August 2016

All of the stuffed wildlife in the lobby is really a treat, as well as the piano in the lobby which one other guest was playing when we were there. Walking distance to downtown, lots of parking. They have a fitness room, but you should turn the A/C on in the room before you plan to exercise, because they keep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcia L
StageCoachInnGM, Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. We try very hard to provide a unique and comfortable experience for our guests and we appreciate your comments.

Rochdale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

This hotel is nice enough and reasonably priced. Yes the rooms are tired and the air con very noisy but our stay was ok. We didn't get great sleep here and were up in time for breakfast. It's typical fare with coffee, muffins and cereal. We collected a tray on some days and took it back to our room. It's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SPEL1990
StageCoachInnGM, Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. We try very hard to provide a unique and we appreciate your comments.

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Spent one night here in two different rooms (two couples). Both rooms had the smallest bathrooms I have ever seen - my powder room at home is larger. Bedrooms were also very small. Ice machine was out of service on our floor. Laundry room was nice with many washers and dryers but had limited hours so we couldn't wash and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JMCJ
StageCoachInnGM, Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

We're sorry you were unhappy and we will work hard to improve - thank you for letting us know.

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Having read some recent poorer reviews I was nervous about this hotel, however I need not have worried as we have just spent 5 great nights here. The hotel is in a perfect location for exploring Yellowstone, being right at the west entrance to the Park. Our room was a family room with a good sized bathroom out of sight...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gillian S
StageCoachInnGM, Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. We try very hard to provide a unique and comfortable experience for our guests and we appreciate your comments.

Palm Desert
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Great location but only on street parking but street quiet Foyer full of mounted animals found here--wolf, bison, mountain goat etc gives you feeling of old West Nice room with microwave and refrigerator Laundry machines available during normal hours Very nice breakfast, waffle maker, beverages, pastries, Toast etc, fruit Staff helpful Hot water available 24 hours a day -- coffee

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Desertdocent2012
StageCoachInnGM, Manager at Stage Coach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. We work hard to provide a unique and comfortable experience for our guests and we appreciate your comments.

124 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.6 km away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#7 of 38 in West Yellowstone
666 reviews
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#6 of 38 in West Yellowstone
638 reviews
0.4 km away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#4 of 38 in West Yellowstone
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 38 in West Yellowstone
677 reviews
0.1 km away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#13 of 38 in West Yellowstone
320 reviews
0.4 km away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 38 in West Yellowstone
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Stage Coach Inn is a landmark hotel in West Yellowstone, Montana, originally built in 1948 to meet the needs of travelers and visitors flocking to the Park in their automobiles. Over the years the hotel has seen many changes and acquired a colorful repetoire of stories and myths - ranging from bullet-holes, billiards, secret gambling rooms, and even ghosts - but the one constant has been to provide superior accommodations and service to Yellowstone National Park visitors. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stage Coach Inn

Address: 209 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9512
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Price Range: $105 - $514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Coach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Stage Coach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Coach Hotel West Yellowstone
Stage Coach West Yellowstone
Stage Coach Inn West Yellowstone, Montana
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stage Coach Inn staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Stage Coach Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Historic rooms are disgusting. Others might be better?”
  • Dirty carpet, balanced with peeling paint on doors.
  • Soap scum and mold in shower.
  • Really? The outrageous prices couldn't cover a replacement lampshade?
  • Was
  • Dust bunnies were living on the hinges. Paint chipped from door.
  • Bad photo of paint peeling between picture frames and window.
 of 5 bubbles jjblues12, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room next to laundry facilities (#129)”
 of 5 bubbles ElkIvorysGirl, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in room 255”
 of 5 bubbles KimFirth, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Nice lobby to hang out in”
 of 5 bubbles gdr23, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay in the historic part of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles pattij0l, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay