We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Yellowstone West Gate Hotel

Expedia.comUS$300*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$310*
US$300*
US$310*
US$310*
US$300*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

520 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 495: English reviews
Miami, Florida
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

We were greeted by some of the friendliest staff we've encountered on our cross country road trip. The room was comfortable and clean with a table and work desk. Despite earlier comments we had no trouble with our air conditioning which had a wall dial and adjusted easily. The hotel is located in West Yellowstone, extremely convenient to the west...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kendra S
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the feedback we hope you will return soon.

Reviewed 21 August 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful time visiting Yellowstone. We stayed in Yellowstone West Gate Hotel for two nights. Other than excellent location (very close to the Yellowstone park west gate), spacious and clean room, we are particularly impressed by the friendly and helpful front desk receptionists, Dorothy and Jan. They not only provided useful trip advice and dinning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zeke F
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

We're happy you enjoyed your stay with us, I will mention to Jan and Dorothy that you appreciated their help. We hope you can return soon.

Antelope, California
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Staff was very nice. We brought our dog on the trip and the hotel is very pet friendly. The pool was great at the end of the day. Hotel location was convenient for both parking and access to restaurants, etc. in West Yellowstone. Overall a great place to stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnnK9526FA
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We're glad you enjoyed the pool we recently had the surface recovered and the pool bottom painted, everything looks so cool and refreshing. We hope you can return soon.

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Location was good for west gate Yellowstone however the room was small, bed was hard and the room was overpriced for what you got. The AC was poor you froze when it kicked in and were sweating when it was off. The were pet friendly which was a plus but no area for pet to relieve themselves...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AMHNL
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you comments, our air conditions are on a thermostat so the room will stay comfortable and only kick on when temperature goes below the setting. If you call the front desk we would be happy to show you how to set it. Because of our location at the edge of town, most guests find it easy to...

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2016

If you can't afford to stay within the park then this hotel is as close as you can get just outside the West gate. Whilst it was not cheap it was slightly more affordable than the lodges inside. The room was clean and comfortable but with a faint odour, probably due to water seeping from the shower through to the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank AliceT186368
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank your for you comments, they help us improve. We're glad you found us to be a good value. Yes, we have lots of families, perhaps upholstered chairs in the dining room were not the greatest choice, but I assure you we clean them often, we're sorry you found one with stains that had not been cleaned. We hope you...

Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

It's an OK hotel, but not for the price. The room was beyond cold. The air conditioner was definitely stuck on ice cold. I had to shut it off. It was a very dark room dye to the location with a view of a fence right outside of the window. It was a no smoking room, but you smell other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heidi S
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. If you call our 24 hours front desk they would be happy to help you adjust the room temperature. Each room has it's own thermostat to accommodate everyone specific needs. The closest town with hotels at the east entrance is Cody Wyoming, it is a one and half hour drive to the entrance of Yellowstone,...

Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

We had a great stay at the hotel. Good rooms and good location, close to the West Gate entrance. Especially Mary Lou who served breakfast created a nice and welcoming environment :) The eggs were great. We can definetly recommend this place!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kasia D
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and would recommend our hotel to family and friends. We're very proud of our staff and Mary Lou is a fine example of customer service. We hope you can visit again soon.

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Stayed here for two nights while visiting Yellowstone National Park. Location is very convenient to West Entrance of the Park. While situated away from the "hub-bub" of downtown, the distance is certainly walkable. We were greeted by Eldon who welcomed us with a smile and handled our check in with ease. Melissa was very friendly and offered an excellent restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank USA201620162016
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about your stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed our breakfast, location and staff. We hope you can visit again soon.

Vermilion, Ohio
Reviewed 13 August 2016

After reading reviews and seeing professional pics of King room , I booked it. Biggest mistake. Reserved a King Obstructed View on 1st floor, due to my handicap request. Got there and given a 3rd floor super small King room. All kings without sofa sleeper are tiny. Jan was super and very hospitable. I got King rm. on 1st floor,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichelleMM2014
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I'm sorry you reserved a King room with obstructed view and requested 1st floor, but we do not have any of those room types on first floor. None of our king rooms have sofa sleepers either, so I'm not sure what you were trying to reserve but these are...

Centerville, Utah
Reviewed 11 August 2016

The Room was large and clean. Within walking distance of a nice restaurant. We enjoyed it. A little off the beaten path where it was quite congested with tourists. My son works in a fly fishing shop up there. Bud Lilly's Trout Shop. I would stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kjohns_891241
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we're glad you like our location and large rooms. Best of all you would stay with again, that says it all. We look forward to your next visit.

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.8 km away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
678 reviews
1.1 km away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
709 reviews
1.0 km away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
945 reviews
0.9 km away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
551 reviews
0.7 km away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
NEWLY REMODELED IN 2011. 79 Rooms, large family rooms available, non-smoking facility, large indoor heated pool & spa, complimentary deluxe HOT breakfast daily, complimentary high-speed/Wi-Fi internet, guest laundry, business room, free parking, information about Yellowstone Park tours. Only 6 blocks from entrance gate into Yellowstone National Park. AAA and AARP approved. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Yellowstone West Gate Hotel

Address: 638 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9547 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Price Range: $288 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone West Gate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Yellowstone West Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel West Yellowstone
Comfort Inn West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Comfort Inn
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel West Yellowstone, Montana
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Yellowstone West Gate Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Peoria, Illinois
8 months ago
East Setauket, New York
over a year ago
over a year ago
Jerusalem, Israel
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Yellowstone West Gate Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Use Bozeman Hot Spring on your way to hotel.”
, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“It would be handy to have a night light by the bathroom sink.”
daveg384, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the clean and spacious deluxe room. Great size for families up to 6.”
W6435XHmichaell, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to not stay near the elevator or ice machine.”
FrequentT1, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pet friendly motel. ”
stanry2016, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$300* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$310
Hotels.comUS$300
Hotwire.comUS$300
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates