We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Bear's Paw

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Bear\\
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

922 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Bear's Paw
See the most recent reviews
Showing 917: English reviews
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called in by chance whilst on a detour and had a really good meal ,a steak and seafood dish which were both excellent,worth a visit ,best to book ahead as it was virtually full when we left at 8.0 pm,nice wine as well

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dedlegmusic
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Bear's Paw, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent meal with us at The Bear's Paw. It was pleasing to read your review and to see how you enjoyed your time with us, and that the food met your expectations. As you have mentioned, it is best to book ahead to avoid missing out, and once again many thanks for...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

They have a very good team, from drinks at the bar, being led to your table and the food Service was all very good.Friends stayed the night with their two dogs that they had in the bar after food service was finished with no problems.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Bear's Paw, responded to this review

Peter, many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent time with us at The Bear's Paw. It was nice to read your comments, and I will ensure that your kind comments regarding our good team are relayed to them all, as it is always nice to get feedback about them. We are also a very dog friendly business, and...

Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We all had a fantastic night away in this lovely hotel the food was amazing service was great beds are so comfy highly recommend this quaint country inn ample parking in the back fantastic choice of food on the main menu and specials staff very attentive spotlessly clean will be making it a regular visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank linda370
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Bear's Paw, responded to this review

Linda, many thanks for your review, following your recent stay with us at The Bear's Paw. It was really nice to read your review, and to see what a fantastic night away you had with us, and how that everything met your expectations. I do hope we can welcome you back sometime soon, and once again many thanks for your...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really nice location,very good food,first class service by young team Portions are very small. Normally we are happy with a main course and coffee,possibly a dessert. We went straight to the main course and when it arrived we were fascinated by how little there was on the plate,dessert was no better and so we finished off with cheese and crackers....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DianeBarrett
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Bear's Paw, responded to this review

Diane, many thanks for your review, following your recent meal with us at The Bear's Paw. It was nice to see that overall you enjoyed your meal with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon. Kind Regards, David

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have had several short stays at this hotel and never been disappointed. The staff could not be more helpful - nothing is too much trouble and we are always made to feel welcome. We have had our chocolate Labrador with us on each occasion and they don't just accept dogs staying there but really welcome them. Evening meals were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny F
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Bear's Paw, responded to this review

Jenny, many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent stay with us at The Bear's Paw. It is always nice to welcome back returning guests, and it is good to see that the team always look after you all when you stay with us. We are indeed a very dog friendly business and love to find out more about...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the Bears Paw for a birthday meal the food was delicious I had the Thai curry it was lovely! The restaurant was so cozy and very relaxed! I wanted to surprise my husband for his 30th birthday with a trip away the Manager Mike was so helpful and organised all of his staff to come out singing happy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Bear's Paw, responded to this review

Sarah, many thanks for your 5* review following your recent visit to The Bear's Paw. It was nice to see that you had a good time with us, and that everything met your expectations, and that Mike and the team ensured that your husband had an enjoyable birthday. I do hope we can welcome you back sometime soon, and once...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room was quite pleasant and the restaurant was attractive and served good food. Two things disappointed us. Firstly, when we arrived at 1pm having had no sleep the previous night due to a travel problem we asked if it would be possible to get into our room before the official time of 3pm as we hoped to get some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard727
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Bear's Paw, responded to this review

Richard, many thanks for your review, following your recent stay with us. It was nice to see that the room, restaurant and food met your expectations, however I was sorry to hear about the main areas of disappointment, as this is certainly not the norm. We will always endeavour to accommodate early arrivals at the Inn, and if a room...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went with the intention of nibbles and a pint. We'd booked a table last minute but we didn't like the one reserved. Whilst I usually hate being awkward like this, the staff had no problems choosing us a different table which was great. There was a good range of ale on too. We went for a couple of sandwiches...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joel B
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Bear's Paw, responded to this review

Joel, many thanks for your review, following your recent lunch with us. It was nice to see that overall you enjoyed your time with us, and that the staff looked after you. We have a wide and varied menu that can certainly offer something for everyone, and I do hope we can welcome you back sometime soon. Kind Regards, David

Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2017

I chose the roasted chicken breast off the" Mains"menu, which at £14.95 proved to be an overpriced mouthful of tepid kitchen prototypes, presumably aimed at the sort of person who considers a high price and artistic presentation as a guide to fine food rather than mere taste or Portion size, I am aware that it would probably be expected to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank morphysmum
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Bear's Paw, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, following your recent meal with us. Firstly I am sorry that on this occasion we did not match your expectations, and that the food was not totally to your liking. We do cook all food to order and we regularly price check our offering against local competitors of a similar ilk and we feel that...

Glasgow
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Off the beaten track, like most of the attractions in Cheshire. I returned to live here after a long time away in Europe Asia and the USA. Isn't it pleasant to drive where people are courteous, visit a grocery on a market square dating from the 9th century, or a few miles away to visit the centre of global radio...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Onoto
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Bear's Paw, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent visit to The Bear's Paw. It was pleasing to see that you enjoyed your time with us and I do hope that we can continue to welcome you back. Once again many thanks for your kind review. Kind Regards, David

142 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (100)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warmingham
7.1 km away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
33.5 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
7.6 km away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
De Vere Cranage Estate
11.7 km away
Premier Inn Northwich South Hotel
19.0 km away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#11 of 82 in Chester
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A 19th century character inn situated in the picturesque village of Warmingham. Accessible from the M6 and strategically placed between three market towns; Sandbach, Middlewich and Crewe. The luxurious boutique style bedrooms with exquisite decor and furnishings are the ideal haven for a peaceful nights rest. This charming, yet stylish, gastro inn uses only the freshest and most seasonal produce which is locally sourced wherever possible and features six real ales from local micro breweries. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bear's Paw

Address: School Lane, Warmingham CW11 3QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warmingham
Price Range: $184 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bear's Paw 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Bear's Paw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bear`s Paw Hotel Sandbach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bear's Paw staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Bear's Paw staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Was a little cold on arrival but it soon warmed up once the rad was adjusted......room 12 was pretty comfortable for us”
 of 5 bubbles tombenson55, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“lovely old building, mediocre food”
 of 5 bubbles morphysmum, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A place off the tourist route and superb location so quiet in any room”
 of 5 bubbles Onoto, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“room 12.....good views”
 of 5 bubbles ceciliamjb, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 9 is very quiet. Room 4 is on the front of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 996steveg, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5