We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa

Booking.comUS$92*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$105*
US$92*
US$105*
US$92*
US$105*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
1862 David Walley\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 297: English reviews
Brentwood, California
Reviewed 27 August 2015

There were so many good things about this resort, it’s a shame that hospitality is not the main objective. Selling time- shares is. While we were delighted with the restaurant, saloon, and café, we were disappointed with the rooms and room service. We booked a 1-week “mini-vacation” and didn’t find out until we had stayed there for 2 days that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jcmorris
summerwindsresorts02, Public Relations Manager at 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We apologize that your experience was not all that you hoped it would be. We will forward your comments to the Resort General Manager.

Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 25 August 2015 via mobile

I have to say I was pleasantly surprised with my stay here. I'm not sure what I was expecting, but it was much nicer than I figured it would be for the price! We did a quick weekend getaway from Reno, I am a chump and actually rented a room as opposed to wheeled and dealed in regard to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sharon W
summerwindsresorts02, Public Relations Manager at 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you had a relaxing stay! We will forward your helpful comments to the Resort General Manager and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Marina del Rey, California
Reviewed 24 August 2015

I love going to the hot springs. I stayed in one of the cabins and enjoyed the experience. Unfortunately, they don't have housekeeping and needed to go to the front desk for replacement towels. It is a very good central location to get to the lake and to Reno.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Augie39
summerwindsresorts02, Public Relations Manager at 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased that you had a relaxing stay! We will forward your helpful comments to the Resort General Manager and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Danville, CA
Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

The recent reviews are fair and accurate. This place has a lot going for it but it needs some upgrades here and there. The bedding is new and there are panel TVs but not in all rooms yet. One of the (closed) jaccuzis is being re-tiled at this very minute (there are still two others in operation by the pool)....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jim W
summerwindsresorts02, Public Relations Manager at 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We apologize that your stay was not all you had hoped it would be. We will forward your helpful comments to the Resort General Manager and we sincerely hope that we will see you again in the future.

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 8 August 2015

We've been here a few times, and in the last 2 years, they have not yet fixed the tennis courts (overgrown with weeds, and unplayable), the same jacuzzi is broken and roped off, and the same potholes on entry are still there! They have updated their main pool, but how hard would it be to clean up the tennis court,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer C
Thornton, Colorado
Reviewed 7 August 2015 via mobile

My husband and I visited this resort this summer . We initially were placed in a 1 bedroom suite that had faulty air conditioning, no hot water, and door locking problems. After taking a cold shower in the morning we decided to leave but management intervened and placed us in an upgraded 1 bedroom suite for the rest of our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank msalz
summerwindsresorts02, Public Relations Manager at 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We apologize that your stay was not all you had hoped it would be initially. Thank you for letting us attempt to make it up to you. We will forward your helpful comments to the Resort General Manager and we sincerely hope that we will see you again in the future!

Hilton Head, South Carolina
Reviewed 5 August 2015 via mobile

Actually just finished an A+ experience at 1862 and felt obliged to post a compliment before time and the opportunity passes. The food and staff are what one would expect from a fine dining establishment and, with the benefit of a Living Social deal, a great value.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank marilynhayes2016
summerwindsresorts02, Public Relations Manager at 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased that you had a positive experience at our resort and will forward your comments to the Resort General Manager. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

St. Johns, Florida
Reviewed 22 July 2015

My husband and I just returned from David Walley's and we loved our stay! David Walley is approximately one hour from the Reno International Airport. As our flights were very delayed from Florida we arrived at 11:00 PM. I phone the resort earlier to say we would be late and they were very accommodating and said not to worry as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ChrisOlmoguez
Roseburg, Oregon
Reviewed 22 July 2015

My husband and I went to the Hot Springs after winning a free stay. The room was wonderful except for the walls were not soundproof and all we could hear was the guest next doors baby and dogs. The view from our room was spectacular. We had breakfast every day at the café and dinner one night at the bar....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chucklyn
Rocklin, California
Reviewed 19 July 2015

Fabulous mineral pools! Close to many interesting, natural attractions such as Lake Tahoe, hiking trails, horse back riding and even a day trip to Virginia City. Quiet and peaceful setting against beautiful tall mountain ranges. You can take a bike ride to the small, quaint town of Genoa. Lots of interesting stories about the history of the property. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robyn R

188 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (157)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
1:47
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genoa
6.3 km away
Carson Valley Inn
Carson Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Minden
230 reviews
5.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minden
12.2 km away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
856 reviews
11.1 km away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#8 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
428 reviews
4.9 km away
The Ridge Tahoe
The Ridge Tahoe
#4 of 9 in Stateline
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded by the picturesque views of the Sierra Nevada Mountains, 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa is a getaway for all ages. Come experience the legacy of David Walley’s Hot Springs and Spa for yourself. Since its conception, almost 150 years ago 1862 David Walley’s Hot Springs and Spa has offered its patrons the ultimate in relaxation and health benefits from its mineral rich waters. Relax in one of the five on-site hot spring mineral pools, or enjoy a Swedish massage at our Day Spa. And for your dining adventure you don't have to leave, with two on-site restaurants you have a vacation at one location. 1862 David Walley's Restaurant and Saloon is not only a favorite place for food but wine as well, the restaurant hosts some of the finest winemakers from virtually every region around the world. The newly remodeled restaurant keeps this quality while entertaining your palate with a variety of wild game, seafood and Wagyu Beef. For Breakfast and Lunch go next door to the newly open Harriet's Cafe. Harriet's proudly serves Starbuck's coffee. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 2001 Foothill Rd., Genoa, NV 89411
Region: United States > Nevada > Genoa
Price Range: $131 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1862 David Walley`s Hot Springs Hotel Genoa
David Walleys Hot Springs Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure to book an entire suite or a room that does not have a hollow door that separates two different rooms! It is not sound proof.”
wendyjoypolish, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the lower floors make are better for less waiting for the elevator and are also closer to the hot springs.”
520ChrisC, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best views are to the East.”
Nareau, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a Valley View.”
Peachy411, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
Scubagirl58, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$92* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$92
PricelineUS$105
TripAdvisorUS$92
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates