We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Wayside Inn

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethlehem
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
The Wayside Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Wayside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 107: English reviews
MA
Reviewed 23 December 2014

The Christmas tree weekends at the Wayside Inn are a warm old fashioned respite from the hectic pace of the holidays. Relax in a riverside room filled with antiques, dine in a casual atmosphere with 4 star dinners, and get your Christmas tree and wreath at a family tree farm or forest conservation center. Owners Victor and Kathie and our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank washashore
KatheHofmann, Front Office Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review

It is that time of the year again for you to book an other weekend to get your tree and enjoy a Bethlehem Christmas Tree Celebration!

Centerville, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed 9 December 2014

This past weekend we continued our annual (14th year) trip to the Wayside Inn in Bethlehem, NH for our Holiday Weekend Special...2 nights, 4 dinners, 4 breakfasts, a tree, an ornament, a wreath and some wonderful bread....what a wonderful deal. Now add on to that the owners Victor and Kathie and you have a wonderful family type of Holiday Weekend....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glen A
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As always it was great seeing you both and your friends. It wouldn't be the same without you!

Oshawa
Reviewed 27 October 2014

We loved this inn. We stayed in the annex and particularly enjoyed the private balcony and the soothing sounds of the river. Kathe and Victor were very welcoming, friendly and helpful with information on the areas we wished to visit - including tips on best foliage viewing areas for the day. The restaurant was a plus with delicious dinners personally...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank runners756
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please come back and see us this winter.

Saint John, Canada
Reviewed 17 October 2014

We stayed at the Wayside in October 2014 in the worst room we have ever encountered while traveling. The first room presented was full of lady bugs and house flies. The window sill was covered with dead flies, and the ceiling: OMG! We requested another room! The second room had a few lady bugs, however it smelled MUSTY! We would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lucytwo2014
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review

Ooops!

Nashua, New Hampshire
Reviewed 30 September 2014

We stayed in the annex and we were surprised and thrilled to see that our room had a private deck overlooking a river. The room was clean and comfortable. We were going to leave the property the 1st night to go out for dinner but decided to eat at the restaurant on property. We were so glad we did. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathy p
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. When can we expect you back?

Trumansburg, New York
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This was the nicest motel we've stayed in. It's near lots of White Mountain attractions, but it's a few miles East of the interstate, and not touristy at all. We were in the "motel" part, which is a separate building from the inn. I was really glad to be in the motel building, because every room has a private balcony...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolineTrumansburg
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. the bears have gone for their winter naps but you might see some other wild life this time of the year.

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 September 2014

For superb food and lodging, and ease of getting to attractions like skiing, hiking, shopping, golf courses, antiquing, etc, we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. Comfortable, clean rooms, gourmet dining, warm hosts...it really is the perfect get-away. The Wayside is wonderful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sullivan01844
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! Come and see what the view is like this winter.

Reviewed 25 August 2014

Nothing beats a steaming coffee on a private porch overlooking a rushing creek. My husband and I booked the Wayside Inn for one night, but we loved it so much it became two. We stayed in the motel portion of the Inn because we were just nuts over the creek. The room itself was old-fashioned, but very clean and charming....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chana Nissy G
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a relaxing stay and are looking forward to your return.

Quincy, Massachusetts
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We decided to go up to the White Mountains on the spur of the moment with our dog. We found The Wayside Inn after searching for a place to stay. The hotel room was comfortable and a little outdated but it served our needs for the one night we were there. The great part about the stay was that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Hopefully your dog enjoyed the stay as well.

Pelham, New York
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I were on this trip to do some hiking, so we did not plan on being in our room all that much, so we were just looking for comfort and a place to clean up. We chose to stay at the hotel portion of this property rather than the B&B. From what we saw the rooms in...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Pelham428
KatheHofmann, Manager at The Wayside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Those balconies are wonderful for relaxing and listening to the soothing sound of the water. We are glad that you enjoyed the food as well. Please come back sometimes!

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethlehem
5.4 km away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
102 reviews
14.4 km away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
275 reviews
14.4 km away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Bethlehem
552 reviews
3.9 km away
The Mulburn Inn at Bethlehem
8.9 km away
Adair Country Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of New Hampshire's White Mountains, close to the historic center of Bethlehem, the Inn is set by the beautiful Ammonoosuc River. Here is a favorite for family vacations, romantic getaways and group gatherings any time of the year. Guests gather in the Pierce Lounge before enjoying the Riverview Restaurant. Hearty New England breakfast starts your day, and dinner will be perfect looking out alongside the river and gardens. Your family dog is welcome is a special set of rooms. Everything is carefully and lovingly prepared by your host, award-winning chef, Victor Hofmann. Stroll the gardens under the brilliant New England night sky.Golf closeby. Hiking-Nature Walks-Fishing-Moose Watching-Biking-Birding-Swimming-Kayaking-Antiquing-Summer Theater. Winters:Skiing-Snowshoeing-Dog Sledding-Snowmobiling-Sleigh Rides-Snowtubing-Ice Skating-Maple Sugaring. New England at its best! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Wayside Inn

Address: 3738 Main Street, Bethlehem, NH 03574
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bethlehem
Price Range: $136 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Wayside Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Schenectady, New York

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Wayside Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All annex rooms have river views and tvs, Inn rooms are near the lovely garden, in season.”
520annaliseg, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Consider the Annex even though it looks like an old motel. The rooms are on the river and the sounds from the river are wonderful.”
  • View from the balcony of a room in the Annex.
BarryS739, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Away from the highway should give you a river view”
williamhO9875KC, 22 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the back side have the soothing sounds of the river.”
fsmith2015, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are large in the "new/built in 1927" wing.”
Jake-Chev, 11 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5