We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Highlands Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethlehem
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Highlands Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for The Highlands Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 92: English reviews
Hinsdale, Massachusetts
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I am a single lesbian, and I went to the Highlands Inn and was never so accepted, from the staff and all the other couples that were there that week-end. Enjoyed every second. My second visit was actually New Years. Again I was single but the 4 days I spent there was soooooooooooo much fun. I even was invited to...

2Thank Bev C
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The Highlands Inn is a lesbian institution. Every lesbian should visit this community of womyn travellers at least once, ...in every season. Be part of our herstory and add the Highlands Inn to your list. Come rest and relax.....or Golf, play tennis, swim, ski, snowshoe, snowboard, ice skate, snow tubing, hike to an AMC hut, hike to waterfalls, zip line...

2Thank Zoe P
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Reviewed 5 December 2012

I took my sweetheart here for her birthday. I rented the best room in the inn and hired a local massage therapist to do an in-room massage. Our hosts, Jenny and Gia, made the event all the more special by decorating the room. We were first-time visitors made to feel like we had come home. The inn has a rich...

2Thank WolfeWoman
Cromwell, Connecticut
Reviewed 18 November 2012

As one reviewer stated it's like overpriced camping. For $160.00 a night I expect a clean and well run place to stay. This is a place for the crunchy granola type that doesn't mind the musty, run down and dirty atmosphere. Yes this place is secluded, but for the price and day in age we live in you can easily...

8Thank Renee V
highlandsinnNH, Owner at The Highlands Inn, responded to this review

Please note this guest stayed at The Highlands Inn in January, 2012. The Inn has changed ownership as of July 2012.

Biddeford, Maine, United States
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I took my sweetheart there for a weekend of R & R. I am a Painting Contractor and she a College Professor. She wanted to go somewhere exclusive and away from the hustle & bustle. The Inn was all of those things and more. Jenny and Gia were so warm and welcoming. It was work weekend and they accomodated us...

4Thank Vic S
Keene, New Hampshire
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We had a lovely stay. Breakfast was tasty and the room was comfortable with some nice views. Everything seemed nice and clean and just romantic enough. There was a beautiful pool available and the property was well-kept. We are avid day-hikers and I couldn't recommend this Inn more if you want to get out in the White Mountains, dine in...

3Thank Amy M
New York City, New York
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Not much to add to the excellent and thorough review posted here by CAloha NJ. We found the new owners to be warm and fully committed to making sure this inn remains the haven and playground for those who need it, while adding their own touches over time. The pool is a great asset, as is the inn's distance from...

2Thank LadyRaGa
Reviewed 12 August 2012

You turn off the main road at a sign which says, "Highlands Inn. No vacancy." The phrase, "No vacancy," is carved into the sign and is as immutable as the Highlands name itself. An unpaved road winds through a heavily wooded area, passes "The Farm House," a 5-room guest house belonging to the inn, opens onto a meadow of wild...

2Thank CAloha
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This was our second visit to the Highlands Inn and it was even more restful than the first. We appreciate the comfort of the Inn, the relaxing rooms to just sit in and talk, the cool breeze on the porch and the pool. The new owners, Jenny and Gia, have just taken over this week and I noticed rooms were...

1Thank Bug30
Utica, New York
Reviewed 13 July 2012

My fiancee and & I spent 2 days at the inn. The best way to explain our experience is through listing our stay as "pros" and "cons". PROS: 1. Grace the owner was super friendly with us at all times. She gave us a quick tour of the main inn, explained the various features they have, when/when things go on,...

6Thank Sevilla90

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (13)
Room/Suite (4)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Dining (1)
View from Room (1)
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (6)
Room/Suite (1)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethlehem
5.3 km away
Eastgate Inn
Eastgate Inn
#2 of 5 in Littleton
137 reviews
8.3 km away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
712 reviews
6.8 km away
BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Hillwinds Lodge
Hillwinds Lodge
#3 of 5 in Franconia
162 reviews
2.2 km away
The Mulburn Inn at Bethlehem
2.8 km away
Adair Country Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The award-winning Highlands Inn serves a lesbian clientele. Located on 100 private acres in New Hampshire's beautiful White Mountains, the Highlands is known for its welcoming, relaxing atmosphere. As PlanetOut says, the Highlands is one of the most romantic lesbian destinations on the planet! The area boasts world-famous fall foliage and hiking and skiing are among the best in country. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Highlands Inn

Address: 240 Valley View Lane, Bethlehem, NH 03574
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bethlehem
Price Range: $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Highlands Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Highlands Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“3 options: the main inn, a small cottage out the back, or farmhouse-several rooms, set away a bit from the main inn.”
 of 5 bubbles 998suew, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Corner rooms have lots of windows and are therefore sunny with lovely views”
 of 5 bubbles cam1424, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“West facing rooms in the Inn probably offer the best view.”
 of 5 bubbles aehughes52, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Corner rooms offer cross-ventilation and nice light. End of the hall #10 is quiet”
 of 5 bubbles patriciarF2318ZB, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
“This is a small Bed and Breakfast, the rooms are small but comfortable and the hospitality and food are very good.”
 of 5 bubbles D1629XBjoeb, 23 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5