We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Exeter Elms Family Campground

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exeter
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Exeter Elms Family Campground
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Exeter Elms Family Campground
See the most recent reviews
Showing 53: English reviews
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 9 September 2015

This was our 4th year and the worst! The new owner could care less about the paying guest that are staying there. We were there for 2 weeks and dropped about $700 between us! In the first 24 hrs we tried to take showers in the ladies room and dropped $6 in the showers to get hot water...guess what no...

3Thank Christine C
Nicole R, Owner at Exeter Elms Family Campground, responded to this review

We are doing a ton of upgrading and under new management this year, still working on getting the place in full working order. Alot of people don't know how to work the meters so please ask while your here if they are not working or if something is wrong with your stay we can't make your stay better if you...

Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed here twice this season and had a great time. Most of the weekends are themed which is nice. We had stayed for the fourth of July weekend and their Halloween themed weekend. There were plenty of activities they had planned for the kids. The campsites we had stayed in were clean and well shaded. Most of the staff...

2Thank Chace1
Nicole R, Owner at Exeter Elms Family Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review we are glad to hear you had such 2 great times here with us. We have a new great activities director this year doing lots of things to keep them busy and to keep them from getting bored....and not always being dependent on playstation, phones, and tablets lol. We have just put in new...

Reviewed 14 August 2015

I was originally going to write a separate review but after receiving a response from the campground regarding the email that I sent of the honest review of our stay I decided to just copy and past the email I send the campground. the * represent things that I have added or edited in response to the owners email to...

1Thank melly a
Nicole R, Owner at Exeter Elms Family Campground, responded to this review

I do remember speaking with you while you were staying here with us and I'm the one that was leaf blowing. I spoke with you at your cabin and you were so nice and gave me a paper towel to clean out a boat for a camper. You didn't complain about any of your stay and seemed very happy at...

Newton, New Jersey
Reviewed 10 August 2015

This place has the potential to be really nice but they need to do a better job cleaning the bathrooms, making sure people get the hot water they have to pay for and policing the camp area. We had very rude and intrusive neighbors on both sides. One was a couple so messed up on drugs we avoided any kind...

Thank sweinrich2015
Nicole R, Owner at Exeter Elms Family Campground, responded to this review

We have 2 brand new hot water tanks in the the bathrooms. There is plenty of hot water it's just people are not sure how to use the coin machines now they are new. And I the owner drive my property many times a day and have 2 security guards at night by golf cart we can not stand at...

Wellesley, Massachusetts
Reviewed 7 August 2015

campground staff were friendly and kind, kids loved the pool and river fishing. our site was clean and quite large, this was our first very time here and we look forward to going back. however we found that there was a very large group from Quebec that had multiple sites, they were quite loud late at night and woke my...

3Thank bill h
Nicole R, Owner at Exeter Elms Family Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your time. We are glad to hear you had a good time. Unfortunately about the group you were near we can't turn people away for that and we do try our best to accommodate everyone. In the future ask us if there is any large groups renting sites next to you so maybe that will help...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 31 July 2015

We stayed at Exeter Elms Campground in the second half of July 2015 for 3 nights in a simple tent setup with no electricity. I hesitated before I reserved this spot because I read the reviews on several website before and read some awful reviews but some website reviewed it up to 4 stars so I thought maybe people were...

1Thank Alfred D
Eden, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 28 July 2015

While we were only there for an overnight stop we were SO disappointed. The toilets were virtually unusable - the women's worse then the mens. The Mens were just plain dirty according to my husband. The women's was unusable - at this time of the year?? REALLY??? Painting. Showers were NOT working at all. Water was a drip and there...

3Thank Blumy52
Reviewed 25 July 2015

We recently stayed at Exeter Elms as a part of a large group, most of us in tents. We stayed for a week in the middle of July. On Monday they decided to paint the bathrooms. These were the main bathrooms right near the pool and all the non-rustic campsites. They initially closed both the men's and women's room for...

2Thank Mumboman
Montreal, France
Reviewed 15 July 2015

I've been to that campground for the 4th of july weed end and i'll make it short. No hot water in shower, rarely toilet paper in the restroom, very dirty, the "river" is a swamp and people were playing music out loud on Saturday at 8am and playing music until 5am the next evening. I was looking for a quiet...

2Thank Amey79
Brattleboro, Vermont
Reviewed 5 July 2015

Had a wonderful stay, very relaxing!! Lots of great things for the family to do. Friendly staff ready to accommodate. And for those interested, we found a geo-cache here during our visit. I especially liked being close enough to the beach but away from the hubbub.

1Thank happycamper4eva

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (4)
View from Room (1)
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (6)
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
2.1 km away
Exeter Inn
Exeter Inn
#3 of 3 in Exeter
201 reviews
3.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter
4.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portsmouth Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Inn by the Bandstand
Inn by the Bandstand
#1 of 3 in Exeter
224 reviews
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fun for the Whole Family! Exeter Elms offers a perfect camping location, with a mile of frontage on the beautiful Exeter River for fishing, canoeing, and kayaking. Well-spaced, wooded sites are designed to provide a maximum of privacy. Exeter Elms is only 15 minutes from Hampton Beach, an hour from Boston, and two hours from the White Mountains. Use our clean, first-class facilities as your base to explore and enjoy the entire Seacoast Region. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Exeter Elms Family Campground

Address: 190 Court St., Exeter, NH 03833
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Exeter
Price Range: $41 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 206
Also Known As:
Exeter Elms Family Campground Hotel Exeter
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Exeter Elms Family Campground staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Easthampton, Massachusetts
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Exeter Elms Family Campground staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“friendly clean cabins”
 of 5 bubbles atthere, 31 May 2015 | Read review
“Site #18 has good space and backs to a small river.”
 of 5 bubbles 756scotts, 20 Sep 2013 | Read review
“Go somewhere else! There are way too many camping places in NH to waste time here!”
 of 5 bubbles sarahc644, 22 Aug 2012 | Read review
“If you want quite and very private the ash section is good for you. If you like being with people and meeting people then hickory and oak is the place you want.”
 of 5 bubbles kathleenbB_12, 14 Jul 2012 | Read review
“NOT SITE #1, you want something away from the entrance!”
 of 5 bubbles c_lynn129, 14 Jul 2012 | Read review
5 of 5