We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Lantern Resort Motel and Campground

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jefferson
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Lantern Resort Motel and Campground
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 141: English reviews
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My family and I booked two rooms to stay for a weekend at Santas Village .. It seemed to be the perfect hotel for its location to Santas Village... Well the first night we checked in the toilet didn't work ... I tried calling the office but the phone didn't work as well... We figured out on our own that... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Cad0814
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Allow me to begin by saying that I am only 14 years old and I've taken it into my own hands to describe the tradition my family and I have followed here since I was 11 months old. I believe I should describe how The Lantern Resort was the only vacation I have ever known. My brothers and I knew... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank abbyy h
New Windsor, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2016

I will agree that the grounds themselves seem to be well kept. The motel rooms are dated and smell that way. It basically smells musty and like the chemicals used in an attempt to cover up the smell. Two double beds are your only options, which makes for a crowded nights sleep. (we stayed for a wedding). The beds we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
LanternResort, Front Office Manager at The Lantern Resort Motel and Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do provide all rooms with flyswatters as it can get buggy here in northern NH, especially with the farm across the street! We do our best to keep the rooms fly-free but they tend to sneak in pretty quick. We do hope you will give us another try and come check out our newly... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

One of our favorite campgrounds- Absolutely clean and maintained nicely. Two nice pools and a nice field and playground for the kids. Quiet and family atmosphere. This has been out 8th year and recommend with out hesitation. Owners are extremely friendly and take pride in the resort!

Helpful?
1 Thank Mtkeg15
LanternResort, Front Office Manager at The Lantern Resort Motel and Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for this amazing review! We are so glad that you have been coming here for 8 years. That is awesome. We look forward to seeing you for year 9!! More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

We were very happy with our stay. Everything was so clean and the people were very friendly. My kids loved the candy bar bingo and the glow in the dark pool party. The food at the truck was really good too! Great time...

Helpful?
1 Thank Martha J
LanternResort, Front Office Manager at The Lantern Resort Motel and Campground, responded to this review

We are so happy you had a fun time with us! It is great you all enjoyed our nightly activities. The Glow in the Dark Pool Party has been a big hit! Hope to see you again. More 

Pembroke, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

This is our 4th year coming hear and we love it. The campground is immaculate and the grounds/flowers are always well kept. The staff couldn't be friendlier and they always seem to go the extra mile to accommodate any request.

Helpful?
1 Thank hartcbh
LanternResort, Front Office Manager at The Lantern Resort Motel and Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! We are so happy that you have made us part of your summer vacations. Our grounds staff really does a great job keeping everything looking immaculate, don't they? See you next year!! More 

Melrose, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2016

We stayed in the motel area. Room was clean, grounds were gorgeous and clean, food from the food truck was great. Great location to Santa's Village. Beautiful and friendly place to stay for a family. My 9 and 7 year old liked the playground and the goats as well.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah O
LanternResort, Front Office Manager at The Lantern Resort Motel and Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take in all we have to offer. Hope to see you again soon! More 

Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2016

The motel rooms are pretty good,meanwhile since the owner change,A lot of things have changed at this location. We've been saying there since 1997. Always on 4th of July week. And when we leave we always reserve for the next 4th of July week.Now they have been calling us the last two weeks, two or three times a day for... More 

Helpful?
Thank nascarbilljr
LanternResort, Front Office Manager at The Lantern Resort Motel and Campground, responded to this review

We are glad that you have made us part of your Fourth of July vacation since 1997! That is awesome. We apologize that our now policies are causing you and your family an inconvenience. This is a new policy that has been put in place where all reservations need to have a one night deposit in order to confirm your... More 

New Maryland, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

A must stay campground. Visited years ago with my parents the first time and have returned ever since. The campground is exceptional!! The bathrooms and laundry are awesome. The wifi is ok but the choice in television stations that my TV detected in my RV were numerous. Other campers were pleasant and we a wealth of information about local attractions.... More 

Helpful?
Thank wiggipet
LanternResort, Front Office Manager at The Lantern Resort Motel and Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great review. We are glad that you enjoy coming to stay with us. Our housekeeping staff does a great job keeping the bathrooms sparkling clean, don't they? We have been working on WiFi and are trying to get it faster and faster! Hope to see you again soon. More 

1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

This campground has two great pools, it's very clean and it's right across the road from Santa's Village. They always make great effort to cater to the children. Our annual trip to Santa's wouldn't be the same without a night at the Lantern.

Helpful?
Thank Mark C
LanternResort, Front Office Manager at The Lantern Resort Motel and Campground, responded to this review

Mark C. we are so glad that you have made us a part of your yearly trip to Santa's Village! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip up north. If you haven't checked Santa's out in the winter, I highly recommend it! Santa's is always a fun place to visit, but there is something about going when... More 

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jefferson
10.4 km away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
192 reviews
12.8 km away
Lancaster Motor Inn
Lancaster Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Lancaster
97 reviews
22.2 km away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 km away
Coos Motor inn
Coos Motor inn
#1 of 3 in Lancaster
151 reviews
30.0 km away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
679 reviews
20.7 km away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Lantern Resort Motel and Campground

Address: Route 2, Jefferson, NH
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jefferson
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
The Lantern Resort Motel And Campground Hotel Jefferson
Lantern Hotel Jefferson
Lantern Motel Jefferson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lantern Resort Motel and Campground staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Lantern Resort Motel and Campground staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lightbulbs might not always work, and the heat turned off in the middle of the night”
 of 5 bubbles abbyyh2016, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“very poor water pressure.Mini Refrigerator is on the floor. The beds are hard as a rock. The General Store the prices are through the roof.”
 of 5 bubbles nascarbilljr, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on the top floor!”
 of 5 bubbles JandNBtravlers, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms face Santa's village. Kids love it”
 of 5 bubbles alandubeau2015, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
“We actually tented so not sure about the hotel rooms there.”
 of 5 bubbles I3248RHdebbiel, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5