We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Save
Share
Traveller (39)
Room & Suite (57)
Dining (12)
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good28%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Free Shuttle or Taxi Services
3 Star accommodation
All hotel details
Additional information
Offers from Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Special Offer: Double Points, Every Stay
Hotel deals
Offers from Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Special Offer: Double Points, Every Stay
Hotel deals
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (865)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
848 results
Traveller rating
441
241
93
45
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
441
241
93
45
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschristmas tree shopthe manager's receptionfree shuttlewhirlpool tubroom was cleanfree beercomplimentary breakfastthe breakfast areaa wonderful staynew hampshirefront desk stafffresh fruitwould stay here againbagelskittery outletsclose to downtownlobby
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 848 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

family vacation. Great location. Loyal Hampton traveler and the first time Hampton Inn failed to impress. Several days we came back to uncleaned rooms. Also, Breakfast had run out of items on several occasions. Hope this is a once off!

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Paul M
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights the week of the 4th of July. The hotel is in a quiet location off the main road, interestingly, right next to The Christmas Tree Shop. We’d never been to that store before so we checked it out before...More

Thank WaneoCat79
Response from Belinda P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth CentralResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review for our hotel! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were willing to share your experience with our potential future guests. I look forward to hosting...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

We were very comfortable at this Hampton Inn. We were initially disappointed that it was not right downtown, but in hindsight it was a better option for us. We have a small RV and needed good parking - and this was perfect. They are also...More

Thank FloridaFunAdventurer
Response from Belinda P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth CentralResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. As you mentioned, we are not located directly downtown; however, we are a great option for travelers like yourself who have larger vehicles as a lot of the downtown hotels do charge for parking. I...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The front desk people are indifferent. The beds are too soft. It’s a ways from downtown surrounded by shopping malls. It’s expensive compared to what you get. The breakfast is typical of this kind of hotel-waffles, dry eggs, yogurt and breads. It is convenient to...More

Thank StLawrencelover
Response from Belinda P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth CentralResponded 6 days ago

I apologize that you found our front desk team to be indifferent. I also apologize that you did not enjoy our complimentary breakfast. I have good news though! Hampton is working on rolling out a completely new breakfast with some more updated items! I am...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

It was clean except the bathroom floor was sticky. Nothing special but it wasn't uncomfortable. The people at the front desk were pleasant. Standard Hampton breakfast, adequate. We probably wouldn't repeat.More

1  Thank Sarah3926
Response from Belinda P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth CentralResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey for our property. I apologize that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. The housekeepers do you sticky rolls on the bathroom floors as that is the most effective way to ensure that all...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair Access
Breakfast included
Business Centre with Internet Access
Shuttle Bus Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Microwave
Things to do
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hot Tub
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Details
Price range
US$182 - US$315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$182 - US$315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (39)
Room & Suite (57)
Dining (12)
Pool & Beach (11)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (5)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
WaneoCat79
13 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from L8606WQchristopherw | Reviewed this property |
From my understanding, the shuttle will pretty much go in a 5 mile radius of the hotel.
0
Votes
kkchief023
3 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from ginnyanddave | Reviewed this property |
Friday night. We have stayed there before and they had the reception both Friday and Saturday.
0
Votes
kathleentokos
22 October 2016|
Answer
Response from Venusbeachreturners | Reviewed this property |
Hi I think the answer to both your questions is no but best to email the hotel
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Nothing needed the room was great"
89angelao
2 million years ago
Read review
"Give the parking cost serious thought."
OldWill57
2 million years ago
Read review
"all rooms seem great ...we stayed on the fifth floor going over and stayed on the second floor coming back"
GinetteM127
2 million years ago
Read review
"Request a room on the top floor and in the back of the hotel"
Beth_McD05
2 million years ago
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing