We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Anchorage Inns & Suites

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Anchorage Inns & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

358 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 342: English reviews
Start your review of Anchorage Inns & Suites
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Rusty radiators, holes in walls from door handles, sticky and crumb laden food service area, ran out of breakfast food, understaffed, towels that don't match and were stained, toilet broke in middle of night, TV made a loud noise when on for more than 15 minutes, and to top it off I was offered $20 off for the inconvenience of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacob G
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I love Portsmouth. I lived there for a summer in the late '90s and my friends would have visitors stay at the Anchorage Inn. So I thought it would be fun to stay at this old haunt. What I thought would be a great relaxing weekend turned into a costly nightmare. It was a warmer weekend in May, and when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allison S
Margie C, Manager at Anchorage Inns & Suites, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay here at our hotel. I can assure you that the hotel does NOT have bed bugs at this time. Unfortunately every hotel does go thru it at one time or another. But we do not have any issues. We are sorry to hear that you may of had a problem...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The first room had a leak and we were cheerfully moved to another room. The air conditioning was inadequate for September. The place was noisy. I could hear door slam in the entire place the entire time we were there.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marian_78737
Margie C, Manager at Anchorage Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us but unfortunately we can not control the doors closing from other rooms. September is a very busy month for the hotels in Portsmouth. We do hope you will come and see us again.

Boston
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

I was really stressed trying to find a really nice Inn that had smoking rooms and in a good part of town, to celebrate my husbands birthday. I came across Anchorage Inns & Suites in Portsmouth, best thing I could have done. I called and spoke with Margie Curtis the front desk manager and explained what I had planned. She...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Watermelon1525
Margie C, Manager at Anchorage Inns & Suites, responded to this review

I am so glad that you and your husband enjoyed your stay and that we helped make his birthday a great one. We do hope we will see you again soon.

boston
Reviewed 12 December 2016

We stayed at the Anchorage for the first weekend of the Christmas Prelude in Kennebunkport. Rooms are very clean and view of the ocean does not disappoint. Breakfast was good and the lounge upstairs offers stellar ocean views and beautiful sunsets!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mergek
Margie C, Manager at Anchorage Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review but unfortunately it is not for this hotel. We are in Portsmouth,NH

Reviewed 12 December 2016

I booked this hotel through Expedia because the rate and location (convenient-- just off I-95) were what I needed to attend a nearby wedding. . However, I was more than pleased. The staff were friendly and helpful, even changing my room to an upper floor when I checked in an agreeable manner.. The pool and hot tub were pleasant surprises,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Diane J
Margie C, Manager at Anchorage Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again,

Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We felt welcomed by outstanding staff, especially Cameron the young man who was the Manager.In addition, the place is looking pretty spiff. Downtown is close and great! Great walking town or Uber for 6 bucks. Great dining, pubs and shops. Kittery Mall also. It was far better than I expected. They appear to be about 80% done their remodeling and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pattyanne2008
Joseph P, Manager at Anchorage Inns & Suites, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. and Thank you so much for the kind words about the staff and the manager Cameron. Yes we have been very busy remodeling the hotel and it is coming along wonderful . You will have to come back and visit us soon. We look forward to your next...

Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

I recently stayed with one of my young sons for one night while visiting friends locally. My friends recommended it as an inexpensive, convenient to highway place to stay near their home. We stayed on the 3rd floor and it was very clean with updated bathroom, new carpet and new sheets/bedding. My son loved the indoor pool and spent 1...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Penny H
Joseph P, Manager at Anchorage Inns & Suites, responded to this review

We'd like to Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and staff. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope you will come and visit us again.

Poultney, Vermont
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Well, we just returned from a weekend in Portsmouth, staying at the Anchorage Inn because of the reasonable room rate and reviews that did not include anything TOO scary, you know the reviews I'm talking about. The air conditioner/fan unit in our room did not work, I spoke with the front desk twice and the said they would get right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eckpfd
Joseph P, Manager at Anchorage Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again

Toledo, Ohio
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We stayed at the Anchorage because it was dog friendly. They charged us $20 for a dog-friendly room--it's apparent they did not use their extra $20 to clean the room, since it stunk like dog urine and there was both dog hair and dog food on the floor. When I mentioned this at checkout, I was told "Oh,we're replacing the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 236fred55
Joseph P, Manager at Anchorage Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel and staff. We do charge a $20.00 fee per animal per night it is a PET fee not an extra person fee. I am sorry you were told the wrong information. We have remodeled our pet- friendly room were there is no more rugs. We do hope...

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.9 km away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.6 km away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.3 km away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
0.8 km away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Modern, brick and wood - On I-95. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Anchorage Inns & Suites

Address: 417 Woodbury Ave., Portsmouth, NH 03801
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: $125 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anchorage Inns & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Anchorage Inns & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Inns Hotel Portsmouth
Anchorage Inns And Suites
Anchorage Hotel Portsmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Anchorage Inns & Suites staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 month ago
Putney, Vermont

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Anchorage Inns & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors are definitely quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 164dianej, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Request a room at the back of the hotel, 3rd floor. Very quiet and view of less used parking lot and woods and cannot hear the highway!”
 of 5 bubbles pattyanne2008, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you want a non-smoking room, make sure you call the hotel directly--ditto if you want a dog-friendly room”
 of 5 bubbles 236fred55, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Can't recommend staying here, in all good conscience.”
 of 5 bubbles JillsaQT, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Anchorage Inn...Stop stealing valuables that don't belong to you!”
 of 5 bubbles jbruin1958, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5