We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

347 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Portsmouth
See the most recent reviews
Showing 337: English reviews
Portland, Maine
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Clean pleasant hotel. Front desk staff friendly and accommodating. Room is clean and roomy. Breakfast is a good value. Limited room service. Plenty of parking. Some furniture in the room needs to updated. A bit dated. For the price, a good value.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steven H
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thank you Stephen for taking the time to let us know how we're doing. I am excited to report that were are planning an upcoming renovation that will include new furniture for our guest rooms. Hopefully you will come back and visit, once everything is completed. ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager

Long Branch, New Jersey
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The property is located on the traffic circle with access to Rte 95 ,Rte 1. It has easy access to the New Hampshire beaches , downtown Portsmouth NH,Maine and the outlet stores in Kittery Maine. Wonderfully situated .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mo6345
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thanks for the positive feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us! ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager

Boston
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Have seen some complaints about noise, small rooms and hard beds, but it was all good for us. I thought the 2 queen bed room was plenty roomy, beds were comfortable and heard no noise at all (and were just 3 rooms away from the elevator). Bathroom was a decent size with good hot water and okay pressure. Plus a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joanie881
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone! ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager

Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 18 June 2014

we only stay there 2days but it was worth the stay they had free breakfast Wi-Fi & pool & gym however we went to water country but the room was comfortable / it felt a bit moldy b/c it was close to the pool but it was ok

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Oneyda F
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

I am very happy that your stay with us was a comfortable one. Please keep us in mind the next time you are in the Portsmouth area. ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is right next to the highway which was perfect for our stay as we wanted to be on the road early. The room was clean and an average size. The staff was helpful and friendly. There had been a fire in the adjoining restaurant so we could not have breakfast at the hotel but there was tea and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chilli09
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thank you for providing feedback for your stay with us. We hope you stop in again, the next time you're passing through Portsmouth. ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager

Brockton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night on our way further north in New Hampshire. The location was right off the highway and easy to find. The room was average sized and clean. Beds were comfortable and the location was quiet.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CrystalN320
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thanks! We always appreciate guest feedback, and look forward to your next visit! ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager

Winter Harbor, Maine
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Loud noise all night but great location and good price. Did not know what the roaring sound was - thought maybe laundry or heat/air system on the roof as we were on 5th floor, but according to Charles K review - it was the elevator. Desk clerk did not care when I mentioned this to her and basically shrugged me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gail N
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

On behalf of the Holiday Inn, I do apologize for the disturbance during your stay. I will work with the Engineer on property to find a solution to the noise issue you mentioned. I also will discuss the matter with my front desk staff to make sure they are handling guest concerns appropriately. ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager

Rutland, Vermont
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Fairly clean room, beds were a little hard 914 year old said it hurt her back), the bed covering had a stain, need to throw those away. Cable would go out but we weren't there to really watch TV so not a big deal. Well the 9 year old wasn't happy but she got over it. All in all, not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank blc914
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

On behalf of the Holiday Inn Staff- I would like to thank your for providing your input. With continued guest feedback, we may continue to make improvements to the property that benefit all of our guests. We hope you keep us in mind the next time you are in the Portsmouth area! ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager

Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited Portsmouth earlier in the spring and we enjoyed it so much we decided to return. My husband originally booked a one night stay at the American Inn but was given an upgrade to the Holiday Inn. Perhaps it was the word "upgrade" that made me expect more than what we got. The room was smaller...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bee53
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I will be sure to inform the housekeeping staff of the issue you mentioned, so room inspections can be more thorough. Despite this, I am glad your overall stay was satisfactory- and we appreciate your visit! :) ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager

Marietta, Ohio
Reviewed 23 May 2014

finding hotels in this area to get a semi into is a little tough,I called here and the girl said they had room to park so off I went and it was a wonderful find...room to park in rear of building...I arrived around 2:00 pm and was checked in by a wonderful young lady everybody I met was great..I ask...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank teamster175
CassiusE, Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. I'll be sure to share your kind words with the employees here at the Holiday Inn. We look forward to seeing you in the future! :) ~Cassius Everett - Guest Services Manager

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Portsmouth! Our hotel features 130 first class guest rooms just of I-95 at the intersection of Route 1 and the Spaulding Turnpike. Our guests may enjoy a heated indoor pool, fitness center and game room, as well as free wireless high-speed Internet. Our own Cranberries Restaurant serves popular American cuisine and is open for breakfast, dinner and room service daily. Kuzzin's Lounge offers a more casual atmosphere with a lighter selection of great food and drinks. Don't forget, Kids Eat Free with a paying adult. The Holiday Inn Portsmouth is conveniently located near historic downtown Portsmouth, the Kittery Outlet Malls, Water Country and New Hampshire and Maine's greatest beaches. We are just minutes from the University of New Hampshire and UNH's Whittemore Center. On property, we have 7 function rooms for business meetings, social events, sports teams and much more. We can accommodate up to 100 people for a banquet and up to 150 people for a business presentation. The Holiday Inn Portsmouth is great for both the business traveler and those just looking to escape. Remember, Relax, It's Holiday Inn. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Address: 300 Woodbury Avenue, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: $154 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Portsmouth staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Portsmouth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are good!”
Jicky28, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“low floor to avoid slow elevator”
TIm902106703, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Lower floors mean you can take the stairs and not wait forever for the elevator.”
Live4VacationTrips, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Stay down the hall, and avoid the room by the elevator. ...”
565Rick1958, 4 May 2016 | Read review
“Handicapped rooms”
Rick5189, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5