We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Anchorage at the Lake

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Anchorage at the Lake
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Anchorage at the Lake
See the most recent reviews
Showing 120: English reviews
Randolph, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We are one of six families that have vacationed here together for the past two summers. We searched for a pet friendly place that had a nice location, clean beach, open space and activities for 17 kids to enjoy, decent sized cabins, and helpful staff. We found it at Anchorage at the Lake. Swimming, fishing, kayaking, volleyball, horseshoes, ping pong,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steve M
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review

Thank-you Steve. We are so happy that your family and the rest of the crew found us last season and enjoy the many things The Anchorage at the Lake has to offer. This is a fabulous family cabin-style camping resort located on over 30 acres with a mile of waterfront and is steps from the lake, has beautiful views, nightly...

Sandwich, Massachusetts
Reviewed 20 September 2013

A large group of us booked several cabins here last weekend and it was a big mistake! The cabins are very old and outdated. The appliances and fixtures were disgusting. The bed sheets were dirty with cob webs when turned down. And the overall smell in each cabin was just rank! All eight of us were extremely disappointed :( The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CapeCotter726
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review

These types of reviews are very hard to respond to and it is unfortunate that you were not informed that we are cabin style camping. It is very important to us that guests know the type of basic, cabin style camping that we offer here at The Anchorage at the Lake. The cabins were built in the 50’s and we...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night in a tiny lakeside cabin. It was perfect, even though we didn't have a tv. We had a kitchenette and a fire pit. It really was lakeside. This was the best value right on the lake. It's definitely a hidden gem. The cabins are a little rustic but bigger and modern ones were available. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MAMABEAR919
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review

Thank-you Elizabeth. The Anchorage at the Lake truly is a hidden gem and is the perfect destination for families and those who enjoy camping but want a little more comfort. Having your own fully equipped kitchenette, bathroom, shower & screened in porch makes those camping getaways more enjoyable, especially when you can step out of your cabin and be enjoying...

Portland, Maine
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Rustic (very simple) cabins, a bit rundown, but fine for the purpose intended. I suppose, had it rained the whole week, we would have noticed. But the sun was shining all week, so we were out at the beach, kayaking, canoeing, fishing, enjoying the evening bonfires... The staff were excellent, lots of good tips, great service and generally nice folks....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TimberSteakhouse
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review

Thank-you Daniel. Your comment is very well put. The Anchorage at the Lake offers relaxed cabin-style camping at a spectacular location with over one mile of waterfront on Lake Winnisquam. It offers the kinds of amenities that bring you back to the basics where you can disconnect from the everyday hustle and bustle that this busy world is used to...

East Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 30 July 2013

If your looking for a 5 star resort this isn't it ! But what it is , is a very scenic and very pleasant place to unwind with beutiful views and a spectacular lake ! The employees there were very pleasant and very helpful and I can't wait to go back again next year !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arty72
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review

Thank-you Arty. What you said is true, true, true, true and true! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and are happy to hear that you are enthusiastic about coming back to The Anchorage at the Lake again next season.

Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Reviewed 27 July 2013

If you come here knowing what is meant by rustic camp you will have a great time.We are campers so we bring an air mattress in case the bed isn't comfortable.We spent most our time either swimming, boating,sitting by a huge community fire pit or staring at the lake from our screened-in porch.I went there not expecting a Vermont b&b.Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank walter c
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review

Walter you are absolutely right. If you enjoy camping, sitting on a screened in porch overlooking the lake, meeting others at a big bonfire, swimming, kayaking, canoeing, fishing, boating etc. then The Anchorage at the Lake is the perfect destination for you. If not, that’s perfectly understandable which is why we try to make it very clear that we are...

Revere, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed 26 July 2013

All I can say is Henrique S and Annie E must have thought they were at the Hyatt Regency and do not no what its like to rough it up a little. I've been staying at the Anchorage for years now and as matter of fact just got back from spending a week there and the service and the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joey C
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review

Thank-you Joey. It’s a tough situation only because at a Cabin-Style Camping Resort, there are different variables that can make each individual person’s experience different from one another. Weather is the biggest culprit when it comes to mice, ants etc. If someone spent time here after along wet spell or had an extended stay that unfortunately included lots of rain,...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My weekend in this place was the worse weekend I have had in my whole life. The outlets in the kitchen were always dropping, it does not have enough parking, the shower was broken, the refrigerator was not working well..... When I asked them to fix, a guy came by check it out and complained that we have more people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henrique S
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review

Yes Henrique, your experience here was far from pleasant and is actually the first time we have ever had to call the police on a guest which was very unpleasant for us as well. It is unfortunate that you booked a house that slept 14 people and expected 40 plus people to be allowed to stay in that one unit....

Reviewed 19 July 2013

Took my kids camping for the first time this week (july 15-18). My kids and I had a great time. nice quiet fun place to go and relax. Cabin was perfect, water was sweet, service n staff friendlyness was perfect. I will definetly come back every year. my kids were sad to leave.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pookie34_4
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review

Thank-you for your positive feedback. Yes, The Anchorage at the Lake is a great destination for families who are looking to kick back, relax in the sun, swim in the beautiful lake and enjoy all the Lakes Region has to offer. We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your vacation here and hope that you make us an...

Boston
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Beautiful location, but the dirty uncomfortable poorly maintained cabin severely tainted our time on the lake. Don't put any food in the cabinets, there are tons of ants (and no ant traps) - I threw away a lot of food. The floor was filthy, there was cobwebs and dirt in some of the cabinets, mouse droppings on the shelf on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anne E
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review

Chris and I are disappointed that your experience here was not as wonderful as most. We do know that during your stay there was a miserable rainy spell and can imagine that spending your vacation in a very basic cabin-style camping cabin would be trying under those circumstances. We would have been happy to suggest great local area attractions that...

109 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
1:16
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tilton
0.6 km away
Econolodge Inn & Suites
4.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tilton
3.7 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
6.5 km away
The Landmark Inn
The Landmark Inn
#12 of 12 in Laconia
121 reviews
4.9 km away
Super 8 Tilton/Lake Winnipesaukee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Anchorage at the Lake is located in Tilton, NH just 3.3 miles from I-93 on Lake Winnisquam. This family oriented and pet friendly resort is located on over 30 acres of land and one mile of waterfront. There are three private beaches, a huge sundeck, beach volley ball, boat slips, a floating raft, free use of kayaks and canoes, horseshoes, weekly bonfires, family entertainment & more! Each cabin features a screened in porch, charcoal grill and picnic table. Cabins are very basic, cabin style camping. There are no frills however each cabin does have a fully equipped kitchenette, bathroom and shower and the Anchorage at the Lake does provide all necessary linens & towels. The Anchorage at the Lake brings families together in its back to basics nostalgic charm. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Anchorage at the Lake

Address: 725 Laconia Rd, Tilton, NH 03276-5329
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Tilton
Price Range: $139 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchorage at the Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Anchorage at the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage At The Lake Hotel Tilton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Anchorage at the Lake staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we loved the lakeside cabins. Ours was no. 16 because there were only three steps plus a railing.”
 of 5 bubbles Tabachnikoff, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“cabin #8 had more privacy, only had an immediate neighbor to the left.”
 of 5 bubbles susanmU3831YT, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“See if you can get a cabin right next to Safe Beach, although it may be more expensive.”
  • Front of cabin
  • Back of cabin
  • Towards porch door
  • Screened in porch
  • Looking towards bathroom & kitchenette
  • Small kitchenette area
  • From bathroom door
 of 5 bubbles pardonmyfrenchwrfr, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The Trapp House is an excellent spot for larger groups who want a little more privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles jmdawson88, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Just look elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles R7555AQjohnc, 8 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay