We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carlson's Lodge

191 reviews
Save
Traveller (23)
Room & Suite (16)
Storyboard
Overview
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good20%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“the owner”(27 reviews)
“new hampshire”(17 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from Carlson's Lodge
Offers & Announcements: DISCOUNT SKI TICKET
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (191)Write a Review
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
134
37
12
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
134
37
12
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastthe ownernew hampshirebretton woodswhite mountainshome away from homecorner roomcomfortable chairsher sonrooms are largecold cerealfire placefamily suitea great place to staycog railwayobvious prideexcellent restaurant recommendations
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Stayed here in August 2017 I researched on line and found this place was reasonable and a great place to stay. Everyone was so nice very accommodating. My back was hurting from driving 16 hrs to get there. The 1st day I ask the front...More

Thank Cantwait-togoonVacat
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We needed a last-minute place to stay on a roadtrip and picked Carlson's at random. It was perfect for us -- mid-century charm, not fussy or fancy, run by real folks who know everything about the area. They didn't steer us wrong once with their...More

Thank Jason C
Reviewed 23 October 2017

A few friends and I went up to the Whites to hike and golf and the location of Carlson's Lodge couldn't have been any better. It's about 10-15 minutes from the majority of the trailheads that lead to the Presidential Range. After a full day...More

Thank JPFitz816
Reviewed 21 October 2017

My wife and I stayed for a week at Carlson's Lodge. The place definitely has a special character that creates a pleasant atmosphere. Our room was clean and well arranged. Breakfast was as described and the staff (incl. Carole and her son Will who run...More

Thank ShlomoEshet
Response from Will C, Owner at Carlson's LodgeResponded 22 October 2017

Hello SchlomoEschet, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It was wonderful having you here for a week and getting to know you a little bit. We will look into a second nightstand for that room and other smaller...More

Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

This place was adorable! An old lodge with large rooms, the MOST comfortable beds and obvious pride in ownership. The inn keeper who showed us to our rooms was happy to tell us all about local attractions, restaurants, and outdoor activities we could see and...More

Thank Valerie R
View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345638
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Pool
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Pool
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$108 - US$204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Suites
Details
Price range
US$108 - US$204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Suites
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (23)
Room & Suite (16)
Pool & Beach (2)
Dining (1)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
NOtellMOtelMaine
21 August 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Will C | Property representative |
Unfortunately pets are not allowed in the rooms. We tried having a couple rooms that were pet friendly for a while but it did not work out. All the rooms enter from the inside so that brings pets into the main lobbies... More
0
Votes
Mary H
1 July 2015|
Answer
Response from Will C | Property representative |
Hi Mary, The outdoor pool is not heated. At this point in the summer it's about 70 and gets up to about 75-80 depending on the weather as we get towards August.
0
Votes
Warren H
21 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from CarlsonsLodge | Property representative |
Hi Warren, We are just over 5 miles West of the Mount Washington. There are no properties between the Resort and the intersection at Twin Mountain which is 5 miles from the resort. We're looking forward to meeting you. To... More
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"If you have trouble with stairs ask for 1st floor."
Read review
"best views, accessibility, quiet and quaint"
Read review
"We were top floor, and all the way to the left as you look at the building from the front. View was good."
Read review
"A room in the front of the building, provides a great mountain vista!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing