We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Grenville

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Grenville
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Grenville
See the most recent reviews
Showing 253: English reviews
Edison, New Jersey
Reviewed 26 March 2012

From soup to nuts, this BEAUTIFUL hotel was five stars! First off, Renee and Harry; the owners, were incredibly sweet and helpful! I felt like I was home. I stayed for one night in the fmaily suite. The room, and view was great. I felt like I was in a story book! I also had brunch. The food was spot...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kourtneygush
grenville3100, General Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review

Thank You, it is always our pleasure to try to please all our customers. We deeply appreciate you taking time to write your review. We read all reviews with our staff. Some bring smiles to our faces and gratification for the hard work we do. Other ones we read and try to correct any erros we may have made to...

Brick, New Jersey
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I just had my best friend's bridal shower at the Grenville. Renee' was so accommodating. The brunch was excellent as well as the dessert. I do not know where they got the cake from, but coming from someone who does not like cake, the cake was out of this world. The room was adorable and so cozy for our guests....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nichole R
grenville3100, Owner at The Grenville, responded to this review

Hello C, You were truely a delightful group of young ladies. We were thrilled to see your smiling faces throughout the weekend. It is heartwarming to see our guests enjoying themselves. We look forward to seeing you soon. Thank you for taking time to write your review.

Palisades Park, New Jersey
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I have stayed at the grenville for over 10 years now and I can honestly I have never had any problems once in a heat wave my room was a little warm and they brought me a fan that's it. Cmon people this a really nice place the owners try hard they are working on a giftvshop... They are always...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank John P
grenville3100, Owner at The Grenville, responded to this review

Thank You for writting a very honest review. We are honored to have wonderful patrons as you, your friends and family. Please continue coming, we wish you a wonderful stay.

Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Reviewed 28 December 2011

I stayed at the Grenville Hotel and it was the worst experience that I had in my 50 years of attaining accomodations. The Grenvile is advertised with central air and central heat. When I entered the room I wondered why did they have a space heater/fireplace and a stand alone AC unit that vented out thru the window which was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gary D
grenville3100, Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review

Upon arrival you were not sure your dog would be quiet in the room because it was locate next to the elevator. The elevator is near to all of the 29 rooms on 3 floors. Front desk clerk explained the dog could not be left alone. I think it was down hill after that. You inquired about a suite located...

Holyoke, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We chose the Grenville because we were looking for a dog friendly hotel. It was a great choice!!! The Grenville is a beautiful building.We were so very impressed w/ Renee and Harry and the staff for their personal touch. Our room was very clean and comfortable I loved the hand painted florals which, to me, added to the delightful Victorian...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marge O
grenville3100, Public Relations Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review

Everyone at The Grenville was delighted to read your sincere good wishes. We Thank You again for taking your time to write a truthful and kind review. We look forward to your return. Have a wonderful winter, Renee and Harry and Staff

Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Stepping into this this charming hotel is stepping into yesteryear! On Friday afternoon we checked into the hotel. We settled into the beautiful,victorian Georgette Room with it's vaulted ceiling and chandalier. While waiting for guests to check in,Renee and I went over last minute details for wedding. She was so helpful and accomodating! When our guests arrived, Renee checked them...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cheryl n
grenville3100, Owner at The Grenville, responded to this review

Truthfully words can not describe how wonderful that weekend was. A couple whose hearts are filled with kindness and love were married by the fireplace. The room was filled with happy spirits anxious to see this blessed Marriage take place. Gerard and Cheryl, we wish you a lifetime of happiness. Have a wonderful Holiday Season , Merry Christmas, and we'll...

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I decided to go down to Bay Head to my favorite resting spot for a couple of days after the hurricane. I was very glad to see there was no damage to the building. I have been going down for almost a decade now and I can definitely say the service just keeps getting better. The building may be geting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john p
grenville3100, General Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review

Yes, The Grenville was one of the very few buildings that did not flood during the storm. We were able to remain open and take care of numerous guests that had no where to go since other locations were forced to close. The Grenville is celebrating 122 years. It is the tallest building in Bay Head. The winter winds and...

Syracuse, New York
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed at the Grenville on 9/8/11. We were greeted by a nice gentleman, Marty. Due to hurricane reports there were some cancelations and we were upgraded to a more expensive room. It was newly remodeled and very clean. The carpet was older but clean. The mattress was very comfortable and the bedding was clean/ smelled fresh. Do not expect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rncsue
grenville3100, Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review

Thank You for your honest review. Yes we try to upgrade guests whenever possible. Your truthfulness concerning the room air quality and cleanliness was greatfully appreciated. Our constant goal is to make every customer feel at home, comfortable and happy. Service is our priority. Your photos are amazing. With 122 years of history the walls and spirits must have amusing...

Freehold, New York
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Just awful. Will never go back. We paid for an extended weekend but went home after one night. And of course no refund. Deluxe room was dingy and smelled musty. No one at the desk until we had to yell 'hello' a few times. But dinner in the restaurant was delicious albeit expensive. The website originally boasted a wrap-around porch...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TMullins1957
grenville3100, Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review

Hello Mrs. Mullins, We were very surprised and disappointed to see your review on Tripadvisor.com. We were very accommodating in honoring an expired restaurant.com reservation that was cancelled twice last year. Upon early check out you were asked if everything was OK. As You looked upward to the sky your answer was “we have no reason to stay longer”. Naturally...

Hoboken, New Jersey
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Booked a 3 night stay because we wanted to enjoy labor day at the shore, wasnt expecting a great place but was totally unprepared for the horror show that occured. The hotel is completely run down - broken bathroom door, peeling paint, windows that dont open etc. All bareable until we got back from enjoying the sun to take a...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank NJtravelPro80
grenville3100, Manager at The Grenville, responded to this review

repeat of previous customer who could not get refund from hotel.com and decided this might be the perfect solution. NO, Bed bugs here!! Rooms are sprayed regularly by company to prevent any problem. Customer thought this would be a good way to get a free 3 day weekend, did not work, sorry. Yes hotel is dated but it is CLEAN...

115 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bay Head
0.7 km away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
147 reviews
8.4 km away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
596 reviews
17.2 km away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
1.6 km away
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & Spa
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & ...
#9 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
675 reviews
1.0 km away
The Bentley Inn
The Bentley Inn
#1 of 3 in Bay Head
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
125 Year old Victorian Hotel 100 yards from the ocean. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Grenville

Address: 345 Main Ave, Bay Head, NJ 08742-4735
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Bay Head
Price Range: $136 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grenville 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Grenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grenville Hotel Bay Head
Grenville Hotel Bay Head
Grenville Bay Head
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Grenville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I stayed in # 301 which overlooked the two neighbors yards & pools...AC worked great”
  • Nice safe area to walk and visit
  • table lamps had outlets to charge your phone overnight
  • Toilet and shower separate room, sink is in the room
  • Room #301 grey area with small pink triangle.....
 of 5 bubbles MagikalMom, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“parking is all on street 24/7 but one night we had to park on the side street as there was no parking in the front.”
 of 5 bubbles barryd540, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We like the front rooms with a balcony. You can leave to door open for a nice breeze.”
 of 5 bubbles Totowanj, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“4th floor has the best views”
 of 5 bubbles Spm888, 19 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Dont stay here at all”
 of 5 bubbles kdkrenzel, 30 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5