We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Buccaneer Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beach Haven
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Buccaneer Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 48: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

well, This is a great Beach Motel, the rooms are ALWAYS clean, the staff go above and Beyond to make your stay a good as it can be. Location is PERFECT... Price is well within range. I have stayed here 9 times in the last 11 years

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We came for chowder fest and came with trepidation, after reading the reviews. I have to say I am here and am dispelling those nasty rumors. The room is clean yes there is a musty smell, but that's any ocean based room. The staff is pleasant and attentive. I recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Xfiveohhx
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We were recommended to this motel by our son and daughter-in-law. The room was clean, well equipped, with fantastic bay views. Everyone was friendly. The entire atmosphere of the place was just so welcoming. Can't t wait to return next season.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura N
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Gross, overpriced, not friendly, unpleasant atmosphere, impolite/rude manager. Unprofessional front desk employee, who is nasty to guests. No tissues nor shampoo in the rooms. Rooms smell of mildew Shower ceilings have rust and peeling paint Dead bugs were laying on our windowsill. Cobwebs in bathroom corners Flip flops needed to be worn in shower Front Desk Staff was rude, unprofessional.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackie s
lebanon pa
Reviewed 14 September 2016

The office people are awefully rude.the rest of staff was fine. Are room was musty smelling.The only plus about this place was the pool.We will never be staying here again. I recommend staying somewhere else. Save your money!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jcmay440
Joan B, Manager at Buccaneer Motel, responded to this review

Unfortunately non of your complaints were brought to the managers to rectify. Your only complaint was that your deposit was not refunded when you canceled on of your rooms upon arrival, a reservation we had held for several months. That was rude, especially since our cancellation policy was provided to you in writing months previously. That is your real reason...

Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

The lady in office is rude, arrogant, nasty, unprofessional and unfriendly from the second we walked. Motel is gross, stingy and old looking, creepy and overpriced! Does not give tissues or shampoo. No towels by pool. Housekeeping is poor.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thomas m
Joan B, Manager at Buccaneer Motel, responded to this review

Don't know your full name so really cannot respond to your complaint. Housekeepers have been getting great reviews all summer. All the extra you feel should be given would just raise prices.

Aldie, Virginia
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

The managers, once they process your stay, suddenly and unexpectedly become rude and discourteous. Our tv was not working properly and the husband and wife management duo acted as though they were the ones being inconvenienced. Stay somewhere else!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joseph M
Joan B, Manager at Buccaneer Motel, responded to this review

Really cannot understand this person's problem. We respond and correct any problems with the televisions as quickly as we can. Most times the problem is the fact that the televisions have been played with and are on the wrong channel or that the cable box has been covered by belongings and cannot get a signal. Guests need to learn to...

Brick, New Jersey
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Booked a room at the buccaneer at the last minute with three girlfriends for a quick girls getaway. As there was nothing else available on long beach island and we wound up here. We grew mighty concerned after reading trip advisor reviews, concerned enough we called and spoke to the manager who reassured us that most of negative reviews were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lgenco
Joan B, Manager at Buccaneer Motel, responded to this review

Amazing that none of these problems were brought to our attention until you lost a beach badge and had to pay for it. It is clearly posted that badges must be returned at check out so that guests checking in have the convenience of using them.

Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Reviewed 21 July 2016

The rooms were dirty. The only cleaning that gets done is by the previous tenant. They only make the beds. Pool was nice. View was nice. Had to wait in line to BBQ our own food. Our frig wasn't working properly so I went to office and they were annoyed with me. Take my money and be nasty sorry will...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nancy J
Joan B, Manager at Buccaneer Motel, responded to this review

Was your refrigerator replaced or repaired? The grills are a convenience and courtesy and are community. Yes you have to share them and perhaps there was a wait while some of the other 45 units of guests cooked their food. Maid service is provided daily with cleaning of room, making beds, removing trash and vacuuming unless you refused service. Housekeepers...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 27 June 2016

Maybe I'm stuck in the past, but when I spend $400+ for a weekend motel room, I expect a few conveniences. Is it too much to expect that a hotel room comes with a tube of shampoo; how about a box of tissues? The Buccaneer is run-down and uninviting. The rooms have an odd musty-under-air freshener smell that's unpleasant. Brown...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank porporaj
Joan B, Manager at Buccaneer Motel, responded to this review

actually the beds are Simmons Beautyrest What color carpet would you prefer on a sandy island?

2 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beach Haven
4.0 km away
Spray Beach Hotel
Spray Beach Hotel
#8 of 11 in Beach Haven
157 reviews
16.5 km away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
10.6 km away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#7 of 11 in Beach Haven
143 reviews
10.7 km away
Sea Horse Motel
Sea Horse Motel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
56 reviews
1.9 km away
Windward at the Beach
Windward at the Beach
#4 of 10 in Beach Haven
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Motel located on the bay on Long Beach Island. Beautiful Sunsets from Rooftop decks. Two blocks to the ocean beach. Badges provided with a deposit.Restaurants within 8 to 10 blocks and within a mile.Shopping area 17 to 26 blocks from motel.Heated outdoor pool in season. Heated indoor pool available in the off season only. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Buccaneer Motel

Address: 2600 E Bay Ter, Long Beach Island, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-4231
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Number of rooms: 46
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Buccaneer Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed on a bay-front suite on the second floor. The view was worth the extra money.”
 of 5 bubbles LauraN948, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose another motel”
 of 5 bubbles lgenco, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“go to a different hotel or sleep in your car before staying here.”
 of 5 bubbles 306nancyj, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“the rear of the hotel bay view suites were phenomenal. Beautiful view,quiet and private.”
 of 5 bubbles soapbox73, 23 Aug 2015 | Read review
“wifi only if you don't stay in rooms 209 and 210.”
 of 5 bubbles D3706TZstephens, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5