We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Peter Shields Inn

Orbitz.comUS$189*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
15/05/2017 16/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$189*
US$189*
US$189*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Peter Shields Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Peter Shields Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 238: English reviews
Atlantic City
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

We dined at the Peter Shields Inn and celebrated a birthday. Everything was wonderful. The food, service and ambience contributed to a memorable experience. It is one of the best, if not the best dining option in Cape May. You will be greeted by Sara who will lead you to a beautiful table. Candles will be lit and your beverage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Triedandtru
Pikesville, Maryland
Reviewed 8 July 2016

Having stayed at a B & B from the Select Registry previously, we were excited about our visit to The Peter Shields Inn. However, we were greatly disappointed. We booked Room 6, billed as an ocean view room with a jacuzzi tub. What we found was an ocean view room, which had a very small window that was too high...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren626
Management response:

Hi Lauren, First I want to say thank you for your review. It is guests like you, who supply us with the kind of feedback that helps us grow as a business and a team. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay in Room Six. We do in fact advertise the room as having...

Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 July 2016

We went here the last week in June and ate on the porch. It was a cooler night, but beautiful. Sitting on the porch was a great decision. The service was great, and it was a BYOB! There was live piano music throughout our meal. We started with the arugula salad with grilled peaches, goat cheese, pecans and prosciutto and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
pennsylvania
Reviewed 29 June 2016

We used a bed and breakfast gift certificate and had a nice stay. We stayed two nights and I felt like that was long enough. The service here was wonderful. The Inn is right across the street from the beach. They have a lovely porch with rocking chairs. They also had complimentary wine and cheese and bread at 4:30 each...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank judytravels
FinsCapeMay, Manager at The Peter Shields Inn, responded to this review

Judy, Thank you so much for your review. We enjoyed having you and your husband as guests here at PSI. I'm very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your breakfast. We take pride in everything we serve here and it is unacceptable to give our guests nothing but the best. We will be taking your advice into consideration and...

blackwood
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

Great atmosphere, food and service. Lovely bring your own wines. You can go pretty casual but don't. It's a place that you'd expect to see folks a bit dressed up for dinner. Obnoxious couple arrived in shorts and t-shirts loudly telling the hostess that "we're from the Delaware Beaches, it's summer and we're dressed appropriately" Yikes. Luckily they left and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grtfood
Bridgeton, New Jersey
Reviewed 27 May 2016

We paired up a dinner and an overnight stay here and both were delightful. The inn is well appointed and comfortable - great views of the ocean and the staff goes out of its way to make sure your stay is perfect - the Breakfast in the morning was wonderful and coffee/tea etc and snacks are available 24/7 This is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
FinsCapeMay, Manager at The Peter Shields Inn, responded to this review

Hi Greg, Thank you for your kind words about our Inn. Our staff truly enjoyed having you as our guests. We're glad that you thought your breakfast was "wonderful", and that you got to use our 24hr hospitality suite. We can't wait to see you back again! Have a great summer. Thank you, Danielle Inn Manager

Reviewed 20 May 2016

Came to Cape May for the first time, just this past weekend (5/14/16) for our dear friend's wedding. It was absolutely beautiful set on the porch of the Inn, & we had a FABULOUS dinner afterwards. The filet mignon, garlic mashed potatoes & asparagus was fabulous! The staff was very welcoming, friendly and attentive; (the pianist was amazing too!) We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank H2Bizzle
FinsCapeMay, Manager at The Peter Shields Inn, responded to this review

Hi Heather, We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was such a pleasure having you and all of the other wedding attendees. We do take extreme pride in the comfort and service we offer here at Peter Shields and are delighted when our guests recognize our efforts. We can't wait to have you...

wolcott
Reviewed 12 May 2016 via mobile

Chose this inn because of restaurants reputation. This was not a gourmet breakfast as experienced in many other b n bs. Just average food and same every day. Totally overpriced for May. Beach a mess. Only one small common area to use in bad weather. Will not return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisp208
FinsCapeMay, Manager at The Peter Shields Inn, responded to this review

Hi Chris, First I want to say thank you for being our guest here at Peter Shields. It is very unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our breakfasts here are designed to try and please every guests needs. I'm very sorry that the options we had available did not fit your taste. In addition to the...

Vineland New Jersey
Reviewed 8 March 2016

For the past two years me and my wife Lucy have chooen to stay at psi it has become a special time for both of us. The room's are cozy and clean and the staff are exceptional, courtesy and go out there way in making our stay special.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 756radamesm
NJ
Reviewed 21 February 2016

We stayed at Peter Shields in February for a special birthday, using a B & B.com gift card we had received. Never spending an overnight stay in Cape May, we had considered many available places but decided on PSI based on referrals from friends, location, reviews, amenities and acceptance of the gift card. Our room was great and offered a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ejknj

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
15/05/2017 16/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.5 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
1,251 reviews
0.1 km away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#17 of 37 in Cape May
654 reviews
0.4 km away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,140 reviews
0.8 km away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
651 reviews
0.1 km away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#4 of 39 in Cape May
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Peter Shields Inn is Cape May's most romantic bed and breakfast. Enjoy the beautiful Cape May ocean views from our porch. Experience the luxurious, high-ceilinged rooms and five-star gourmet meals in our Zagat-rated restaurant. Sumptuous, leisurely breakfasts are included with your stay as well as leisurely afternoon "wine and cheese." Additional amenities include his-and-her bicycles, beach chairs and umbrellas, plush bedding and nightly turndown, and five-star concierge services. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Peter Shields Inn

Address: 1301 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Price Range: $235 - $613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Peter Shields Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peter Shields Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peter Shields Hotel Cape May
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Peter Shields Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Peter Shields Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are beautiful.”
dbent8, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I would suggest the 2nd floor rooms facing the ocean.”
RobinMike, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 8 although not oceanfront has great ocean views which can also be enjoyed from the comfy bed.”
corgig, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We found beach view from room 8 to be just right.”
348jimo, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are great!”
542susanh, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$189* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$189
TripAdvisorUS$189
TravelocityUS$189
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates