We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Buckingham Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Buckingham Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Buckingham Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 100: English reviews
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The good: The place is in a really good location – access to the beach is as close as you can get; cross the road and you’re on the beach. Additionally, you’re close to many of the restaurants nearby (walking distance), as well as being away enough from the noise of southern part of Cape May. At the time of...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank dazzjet
Crystal H, Owner at Buckingham Motel, responded to this review

I'm happy that you enjoyed the location, price, and cleanliness of our hotel. That said, I apologize that we couldn't find you another room that you liked. We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback as suggestions help us to improve. If you ever want to talk more, feel free to reach out. Take care, Crystal, GM

Somerset, New Jersey
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This ranks in one of the top three worst rooms that we ever stayed. Very dated! The only reason we stayed here was because it was a last minute decision and everything else was booked. The reviews seemed reasonable and the price was right so we took it (Room #8). When we arrived, we walked into a room that smelled...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rich P
Crystal H, Owner at Buckingham Motel, responded to this review

While I'm happy you felt accommodated by our staff, Rich, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the room. Thanks for the feedback -- we are always trying to improve and take criticism very seriously. If there's anything else we can do for you, please reach out and let us know. All the best, Crystal, GM

Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewed 29 July 2014

One thing any motel should have is a good nights sleep. When the A/C is loud due to poor maintenance it seems the staff should switch A/C units or rooms for the guest. This did not happen until after we checked out. Otherwise things were okay, except for the cancellation policy. Oh, please take an extra roll of TP, as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StacyW4
Crystal H, Owner at Buckingham Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, Stay. Next time, please let the front desk know if you're experiencing any problems so we can fix them right away. Take care, Crystal, GM

Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here right after the 4th of July. Compared to all the other hotels on beach ave. they were very reasonably priced. Even though they were a lot cheaper our room was very clean and comfortable. The room had a separate kitchen, stove, sink, microwave etc. Probably standard but it did have all the dishes, pots, and pans which...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jack M
Crystal H, Owner at Buckingham Motel, responded to this review

Glad to hear you and your family had a comfortable stay here. We're all about being both budget-friendly and providing great accommodations, and it means a lot that you enjoyed everything we do here. Hope the rest of your trip was amazing, too! All the best, Crystal, GM

Middletown, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

No frills king bed. Clean. Across street from beach. Couple blocks away from town. Ride bikes. Refrig & microwave in room. Not the Ritz but for $99 a night in June , quiet, clean. Not bad , nice wknd no frills in cape may where other hotels are $200 + in June

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank whitesands226
Crystal H, Owner at Buckingham Motel, responded to this review

Happy to hear you had a nice weekend here. Hope to see you again soon -- maybe before next June? All the best, Crystal, GM

Levittown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night just before Memorial Day weekend. This was just a get away. The motel is a great value and a fantastic location, right across the street from the beach. Parking is behind the motel, easy access. Our room was very clean and well attended. There was a microwave and micro-fridge. Very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David H
Crystal H, Owner at Buckingham Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the fantastic review, David. There's not much better than to hear you and your wife had a great weekend at our place. Can't wait to welcome you two back! All the best, Crystal, Owner

Pennsylvania
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We had a comfortable night in an efficiency room. The decor is basic...not fancy. The wireless internet connection worked well. The room was a reasonable size with a separate kitchen. I accidentally dropped a battery on the floor and it rolled under the stove. I was pleasantly surprised that the area under the stove except for a puff of dust...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 786Richard
Crystal H, Owner at Buckingham Motel, responded to this review

Glad to hear you had a comfortable night with us. We're all about being clean and welcoming and it's nice to know it's appreciated. Can't wait to welcome you back next time you're in the area. All the best, Crystal, Owner

Gibbstown, New Jersey
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I was traveling with my girl friend for a "Girls Only Get-Away" in Cape May from 10/12/13 to 10/15/13. We stayed in the first floor apartment room of the Buckingham. It was clean and spacious with just about all the comforts of home. The kitchen actually had more space than my kitchen at home including a double sink and a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pat H
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed here last August 24-25, 2013. They were nice enough to accept us even for just a night's stay, as usually motels/hotels here needs a 2-3 day minimum stay. Initial impression was that it looks a little rundown, but when we went inside our apartment, we were happy to find it very clean, the comforters are really nice, not...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank HelenNae
Crystal H, Owner at Buckingham Motel, responded to this review

We give this review two thumbs up, Helen! Happy to hear you enjoyed everything from the linens to location. We're here next time you're in Cape May -- and if you forget anything else here :) See you soon for baby's second trip to the beach! Crystal, Owner

Northern New Jersey
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This is my third review of the Buckingham Motel. I was quite happy with it the first tow times I stayed here for all the reasons everyone else has already mentioned - close to beach, no frills, but inexpensive (for Cape May), beautiful sunrises, quiet end of Beach Ave., clean, etc. However, this time I must lower my rating to...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank WeirdNJ

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Macomber
Hotel Macomber
#28 of 37 in Cape May
215 reviews
0.9 km away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
484 reviews
2.1 km away
The South Winds
The South Winds
#20 of 37 in Cape May
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
291 reviews
0.4 km away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
641 reviews
0.1 km away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Buckingham Motel is an oceanfront getaway location that provides affordable rooms with a full range of amenities. Our location allows you to take advantage of Cape May's sparkling white sand beaches, entertaining local seashore activities, quaint historic surroundings, and gourmet eateries. Our commitment to you, our valued customer, and Cape May shines through in all of our services, including our meticulous attention to details and all of our amenities. It is always our top priority to provide you with hospitable service in order to make your stay in beautiful Cape May as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. At The Buckingham Motel, we are here to cater to your every need and look to be a vacation destination for you and your family for years to come! If you, your family and friends are looking for motels in NJ or beach motels with breathtaking views at affordable rates, please get in touch with our friendly staff at The Buckingham Motel today! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Buckingham Motel

Address: 1111 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2628
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Price Range: $130 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buckingham Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Buckingham Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckingham Motel Cape May
Buckingham Hotel Cape May
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Buckingham Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Buckingham Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is also NO elevator but most rooms are ground level, I believe the Ocean View rooms require stair climbing.”
 of 5 bubbles 926RobertH, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Cheapest rooms are in the back and closer to parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles BudBoy, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Bring your own shampoo etc. Very basic room.”
 of 5 bubbles MJS612, 7 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Find a better hotel/motel. If you're looking for a Coast Guard graduation, most places offer a discount if you state why you're staying.”
 of 5 bubbles 574jend, 10 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Ask for an ocean view room.”
 of 5 bubbles appetitetogo, 8 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5