We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
06/08/2017 07/08/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The Chalfonte

    301 Howard St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2430
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    06/08/2017 07/08/2017
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape MaySee available hotels in Cape May
    Traveller (27)
    Room & Suite (17)
    Dining (1)
    The Southern Mansion
    266 reviews
    #16 of 37 hotels in Cape May
     
    Hotel Macomber
    228 reviews
    #28 of 37 hotels in Cape May
     
    Carroll Villa Hotel
    1,185 reviews
    #5 of 37 hotels in Cape May
     
    Congress Hall
    1,153 reviews
    #4 of 37 hotels in Cape May
     
    Overview
    • Excellent33%
    • Very good28%
    • Average13%
    • Poor12%
    • Terrible14%
    Travellers talk about
    “magnolia room” (19 reviews)
    “fried chicken” (15 reviews)
    “king edward” (10 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Breakfast Buffet
    Air Conditioning
    Beachfront
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Suites
    Free Parking
    Pool
    2.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    The Southern Mansion
    266 reviews
    #16 of 37 hotels in Cape May
     
    Hotel Macomber
    228 reviews
    #28 of 37 hotels in Cape May
     
    Carroll Villa Hotel
    1,185 reviews
    #5 of 37 hotels in Cape May
     
    Congress Hall
    1,153 reviews
    #4 of 37 hotels in Cape May
     
    {"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_hsx","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_hsx__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_hsx","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel_hsx__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a Review
    Reviews (191)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 190 reviews

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    unfortunately we couldn't get away this weekend due to family illness. It's a no refund policy when we booked and paid 1 night in advance. Obviously we would get charged the 2nd night also. The receptionist stated we will refund your money if we rebook...More

    Thank Michele J
    Response from Chalfonte, Front Office Manager at The ChalfonteResponded 1 week ago

    Hi Michele, At the time of booking, 50% of the total room stay is due. The cancellation policy states that we must resell the room in order to refund your deposit if it is within the two weeks. Your cancellation request happened the day before...More

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    I stayed at the Chalfonte every summer as a child, and came back to stay for three nights this summer. The hotel is not perfect, but that is part of its charm. We loved our room, #27 in the annex, a couple and two small...More

    Thank onfire444
    Response from Chalfonte, Front Office Manager at The ChalfonteResponded 2 weeks ago

    Hi OnFire, Thank you for your review & we will share your kind words with our staff. We are happy you have fond memories of The Chalfonte and that you could make new memories with your family! We hope to see you again soon!

    Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

    We stayed at the Chalfonte for two nights in mid June. You can't beat the ambiance especially cocktails on the wraparound porch with live fiddle in the background in the evening. It's an incredibly charming hotel and it's a very short walk to the beach....More

    Thank becnyc16
    Response from Chalfonte, Front Office Manager at The ChalfonteResponded 4 weeks ago

    Hi Becnyc16! Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the charm of the hotel. We hope our staff was able to assist you with any noise issues and apologize for the disruption. We hope you will visit The Chalfonte...More

    Reviewed 9 June 2017

    Go back in time and enjoy a quaint time in Cape May at the Chalfonte. The hotel is charming and offers a relaxing environment. Great location near town center and beach. Staff is caring and knowledgeable - although could be a bit more specific/detailed when...More

    Thank inncolor
    Response from Chalfonte, Front Office Manager at The ChalfonteResponded 13 June 2017

    Hi Inncolor! Thank you for your thoughtful review and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay! The majority of our staff are from across the country and the globe so they are also learning about life at The Chalfonte and life in Cape May...More

    Reviewed 9 June 2017

    My favorite hotel in Cape May, the Chalfonte! After a stressful week -- or year -- in the big city, nothing beats sitting on the front porch of the historic Chalfonte, watching the horse-drawn carriages go by, and listening to the birds. At night, you...More

    Thank Catherine B
    Response from Chalfonte, Front Office Manager at The ChalfonteResponded 13 June 2017

    Hi Catherine! Thank you so much for your kind review & we will share your thoughts with our staff. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

    The Southern Mansion
    266 reviews
    #16 of 37 hotels in Cape May
     
    Hotel Macomber
    228 reviews
    #28 of 37 hotels in Cape May
     
    Carroll Villa Hotel
    1,185 reviews
    #5 of 37 hotels in Cape May
     
    Congress Hall
    1,153 reviews
    #4 of 37 hotels in Cape May
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Restaurant
    • Beachfront
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$75 - US$220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Hotel Style
    • #16 Family Hotel in Cape May
    • #18 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Suites
    • Number of rooms
    • 70
    • Location
    • United States >
    • New Jersey >
    • Jersey Shore >
    • Cape May County >
    • Cape May
    • Also Known As
    • The Chalfonte Hotel Cape May ,
    • Chalfonte Cape May ,
    • Chalfonte Hotel Cape May
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (27)
    Room & Suite (17)
    Dining (1)
    Pool & Beach (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (25)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
    Nearby
    The Southern Mansion
    266 reviews
    .23 km away
     
    Hotel Macomber
    228 reviews
    .31 km away
     
    The Stockton Inns
    353 reviews
    .34 km away
     
    Blue Fish Inn
    197 reviews
    .45 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant
    432 reviews
    .27 km away
    Union Park Dining Room
    748 reviews
    .31 km away
    Washington Inn
    911 reviews
    .32 km away
    Cape May Peanut Butter Co.
    335 reviews
    .38 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Cape May City Beaches
    1,672 reviews
    .49 km away
    Cape May Carriage Company
    314 reviews
    .35 km away
    Cape May Fire Department Museum
    43 reviews
    .31 km away
    The Colonial House
    17 reviews
    .25 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from The Chalfonte staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "Ask for the front rooms of the annex. Or ask for #1 in the Howard St. cottage."
    Read review
    "Some rooms have their own bathrooms, some of have community bathroom"
    Read review
    "Rooms each have good views. Backside rooms have ok view of staff quarters and drive."
    Read review
    "As with all hotels in Cape May, guests should call rather than book online to understand the type of room..."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing