We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Airport Hotel Inn and Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Airport Hotel Inn and Suites
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

387 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Airport Hotel Inn and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 358: English reviews
Louisville, Colorado
Reviewed 30 July 2016

Do not stay here! Exposed wiring, holes in the walls, black stains on the rug, no covers on the outlets, no curtains that close. Ever see Leaving Las Vegas? If I wanted to drink myself to death this would be the place. If you are stuck at the airport, stay there instead of spending money at this "hotel". The desk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lg0ldman
SalesManagerResponse, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Hotel Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. Your concerns regarding the level of cleanliness and outdated condition of the facility will be addressed accordingly. Allow me to apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have caused you....

Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

The hotel room was adequate. Parking was very tight. The airport shuttle did not depart or arrive at the times published or declared; we waited 30 minutes past the stated time for departure and waited much longer than the stated 10 minutes for pick up. We will cancel our reservation for this hotel for December and book alternate accommodations.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Berta H
SalesManagerResponse, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Hotel Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am very sorry to hear of the difficulties you experienced with our internet connection, We already informed the management about this already as we see this a serious matter. We promise to be more careful soon as we believe that our customer's convenience are at the peak of our...

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Read the other 1 star reviews to get a good idea about this hotel. Flight was canceled, United directs customers to hotels.com for rooms. Was charged $216.58 (yes, you're reading that right; rooms are usually $65). This is price-gouging. When asked about price and why it was so high, I was told hotels are full and he (mgr?) can charge...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BishopCR
SalesManagerResponse, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Hotel Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey and share your experience! I am so disappointed to hear that you were so dissatisfied with our accommodations and services and that our rating for your experience is so low. It's important for us to impress our guests and your comments will make this goal that much more attainable. It...

Flensburg, Germany
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Last hotel available after huge flight disruptions and I wanted to stay close to the airport rather than a long commute as my new flight was at 5am. This hotel is *just* a little better than sleeping at the airport, although the staff was very friendly despite huge queues at reception. The shuttle bus is fast. Reception smells pretty bad...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank blobby202
SalesManagerResponse, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Hotel Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am so sorry to learn that we failed to meet your expectations of quality service and accommodations. I apologize if you did not feel that our housekeeping met your own standards of cleanliness, though our own standards are very high and include checking up to ensure that rooms are as clean as...

North Andover, Massachusetts
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Honestly, the place is very very dirty. The reception area is 100 degree and extremely humid. The lobby is wet and dirty, no one to clean them up. The rooms are TINY with small bathroom made for a doll house. The area around the hotel looks very tacky. I would suggest that you put some more money in and get...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ashfarooque
SalesManagerResponse, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Hotel Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience, and I apologize if you did not feel that our housekeeping met your own standards of cleanliness, though our own standards are very high and include checking up to ensure that rooms are as clean as can be. We want you to experience the best value for your money, to feel comfortable, and to...

Reviewed 15 July 2016

I ended up booked in here after my flight got cancelled and room availability dried up. Read the other reviews and stay away. I had people trying to get into my room several times during the night and a "lady" knocked on my door at midnight. The door lock was not very convincing - like one you would get on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian S
SalesManagerResponse, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Hotel Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough and detailed review regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. It's our primary goal to ensure that you receive the best lodging experience and we wish to let you know that your voice is extremely important to us. We greatly appreciate your time in bringing a number of...

Dayton, Ohio
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

No other hotel available so they quadrupled rate to $250 nite per room. Stopped up drains, towel rack ripped from walls, filthy carpet, total property should be condemned TA listing incorrect, no brkfst.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank scoobapadi
SalesManagerResponse, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Hotel Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience, and I apologize if you did not feel that our housekeeping met your own standards of cleanliness, though our own standards are very high and include checking up to ensure that rooms are as clean as can be. We want you to experience the best value for your money, to feel comfortable, and to...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 12 July 2016

What a nasty place to end up after losing my flight! Even though I made a reservation and paid online for a night in what was supposed to be a Day's Inn Hotel... I just found there a NIGHTMARE MOTEL, worst class ever. I was told my reservation was not in the system so I wasted about an hour in...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Anita I
SalesManagerResponse, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Hotel Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey and share your experience! I am so disappointed to hear that you were so dissatisfied with our accommodations and services and that our rating for your experience is so low. It's important for us to impress our guests and your comments will make this goal that much more attainable. It...

Russellville, Arkansas
Reviewed 9 July 2016

Parking is a serious nightmare at this motel. I never saw a place where cars were literally double and triple parked! When trying to park to obtain a room at the motel, a rude guy from the events trailer from a nearby nightclub came out, and he almost tried to mug me saying that I was not supposed to double...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Valedc03ls
SalesManagerResponse, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Hotel Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey and share your experience! I do apologize that you were unable to find a parking space during your stay. The front desk can help with parking anytime you have trouble. I hope that you will give us another chance. Please give me a call at the hotel so that we...

New London, Connecticut
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here because my flight from beers got cancelled and it was the cheapest place I could find online. This hotel, more like motel is literally in the ghetto. There were prostitutes all over, the room smelled like crap, everything was dirty, and the dead bolt on the door was so messed up we could barely get out of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pagekylie
SalesManagerResponse, Guest Relations Manager at Airport Hotel Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey and share your experience! We thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we want to assure you that the housekeeping issues which you have brought to our attention are being addressed with renewed efforts to improve upon our policies to ensure that each guest has a...

161 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (160)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
2.9 km away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Newark Airport
1.9 km away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
1.0 km away
Hilton Newark Airport
Hilton Newark Airport
#4 of 13 in Elizabeth
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just off I-95 in Elizabeth, NJ, the Airport Hotel is the premier place for guests to stay on their venture into New York and New Jersey. Guests will find getting to and from Newark International Airport is easy with our 24hr complimentary airport shuttle that runs every 30 minutes. Conveniently located just four miles away from the "city that never sleeps," the hotel offers easy access to famous New York City attractions like the Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Central Park and the Empire State Building. UMDNJ, the Newark Museum and Jersey Gardens Mall. Downtown New York City is 20 minutes from our Newark hotel. Times Square, Central Park and the Met are less than a half-hour away from Elizabeth, NJ. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Airport Hotel Inn and Suites

Address: 853 Spring St. (US 1 & 9), Elizabeth, NJ 07201 (Formerly Days Inn Newark Liberty International Airport)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Price Range: $105 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Airport Hotel Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Budget Places, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Airport Hotel Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Newark International Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Econolodge Hotel Elizabeth
Econo Lodge Newark Airport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Airport Hotel Inn and Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Location: Absolutely nothing to do nearby. TOO worried about safety to even consider going anywhere there.”
 of 5 bubbles Mychie02, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do Not Stay. It looks nothing like the picture on line. It's awful. Management is rude.”
 of 5 bubbles 0arlenej, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“choose only the rooms with wooden carpets”
 of 5 bubbles hessamshafeiam, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not highly recommended for choosey or fussy travellers”
 of 5 bubbles Kibbutz, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles Centrehouse, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay